We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa de Don Tomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Casa de Don Tomas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights Mar 2013. After dusty day tours it was good to return to a nice hotel each evening and use the pool area when not out sightseeing. Clean room, decent size, no problems with hot water just takes a long time to get hot. Swimming pool clean and usable. Breakfast was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful and speak English. Away from main street noise but only 5 min walk. Checkout is 1pm and then luggage is stored in reception area with identification sticker - I did not find this an issue. If you want to pay a bit more for a nicer place then I thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows onto street can be noisy when people walking home after nights out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAus_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    327
    72
    7
    9
See reviews for
119
322
70
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I felt robbed having to pay UDS 110 per night for single occupancy in a room which does not have a TV, WIFI or air conditioning. One is provided with one small bottle of water per day in an area where tap water is not safe for consumption. In the bathroom there is shampoo only and one bar of soap to suffice for both sink and shower. The towels are hard and scratchy. During my stay the swimming pool was initially filthy and not useable. It is now drained of water. But the staff do happily tell everybody who checks in that they have a swimming pool. Service in the restaurant is painstakingly slow. This place is totally overpriced for what one gets.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janedoexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days with our two kids (11 and 6). The place is very good, nice small swimming pool, very helpful staff, wifi in the lobby, etc. We were also picked up at 4am for one of the tours and it was not a problem. One person was available to facilitate this. This is not clearly your W or Four Seasons hotel, but for San Pedro de Atacama I felt it was a great choice for the price. We could also walk just 4 blocks and be in the middle of town with many choices for restaurants, excursions, shows, and everything. The rooms were very nice inside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmihovilovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort-de-France, Martinique
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hello,

We stayed there 4 nights after a tour in the south of Bolivia. One of us was in bad health and the confort of this hotel was exactly what we need.

The staff is very helpfull. It was very practical to have a restaurant on place because we could not moove for the dinner.

All the day you have free tea, hot water.

Only "negative" point no TV in the room or in the lounge.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesvoyagesdemadikera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merchtem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We liked the hotel, breakfast, food, service.
It's not located in the center of san Pedro but a 10min walk.
The water of the swimming pool is very cold! But it's nice to hang around.
The staff at the reception speak very good English.
Unfortunately you cannot get food after 9.30 pm. We came back late from a trip and they refused to prepare dinner at 9.40.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatMerchtem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Es un hotel sencillo pero encantador, cerca del centro de San Pedro de Atacama (10 minutos caminando)
La gente de recepción es muy amable y preparada.
Te regalan una botellita de agua todos los dias.
Buenas habitaciones. Bueno desayuno (se necesitas salir mas temprano te preparan una "box")
No wifi en la habitacion - wifi solamente en la zona comun (junto a la recepcion), a veces con mucha gente y mucho ruido.

Yo recomendo La Casa de Dom Tomas!


The hotel is very nice and is well-situated, a short walk away from the center.
Rooms are comfortable and clean.
The stuff is very nice and helpful.
You are offered a botlle of water each day.
The breakfast is good and if you need to leave earlier, they give you a breakfast "box" for you to take.
No wifi in the rooms, only in the living - comon area, near the reception (sometimes gets really noisy).

I certainly recommend La Casa de Dom Tomas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Don Tomas is a pretty hotel with desert theme all over. The walls and outside gives a very charming feeling of being a desert hotel. Hotel also serves breakfast which is good enough. They also pack your breakfast if you are leaving for tour very early. Hot water is also good, they can improve their toilets which seems ancient. All hotels in San Pedro are very closely involved with atacama tours agency. Front desk helps in booking tours etc but I recommend booking all the tours before hand. Front desk is very very helpful and most of them speak english.


Since throughout the day tourists are busy with pretty hectic touring activites which involves long hiking etc, coming back to hotel, one generally gets fresh, get early dinner and goes to bed. Dinner options in the hotel is limited and should be avoided, you would have to walk downtown(about 10 mins) walk for dinner. Downtown has great options for food. Be aware of harmless street dogs in San Pedro :).

Room Tip: Choose a room close to lobby as you can get wifi signal since only lobby has wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G1uravS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.4 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#4 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#5 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#7 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#8 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kimal
Hotel Kimal
#12 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Don Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Don Tomas

Property: La Casa de Don Tomas
Address: Calle Tocopilla, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#10 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa de Don Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Casa de Don Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Don Tomas Hotel San Pedro De Atacama
La Casa De Don Tomas Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing