We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world”

Valle de la Luna - Valle de la Muerte
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Moon Valley Tour from San Pedro de Atacama
More Info
$250.00*
and up
Hot Air Balloon Flight Over Atacama
More Info
$23.00*
and up
Valley of the Moon Afternoon Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Berchem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I was here in 1996 with my wife and in 2011 with my eldest son. Both times the Valle captivated me. It's avery special place. Everybody comes here at sunset...and I can see why. It's a magic place!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioQM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,149
    1,499
    322
    40
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good driver/guide”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked the tour with San Andino, and were very happy with it. The driver/guide was very knowledgable and spoke pretty English. Group wasn't too big either and we had plenty of time to see everything. We booked other tours in and around Atacama desert with them and I can recommend them as being reliable and professional

Helpful?
Thank Seadworf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

On an open day, wedged between business travelling, 5 of us hopped in our rented trucks and headed for the Moon Valley. I’m glad we had the trucks as we were able to go wherever we wanted in the park and at our own pace. I would not want to experience such a unique part of the world in an organized tour.

The park has countless formations, views, and hikes to exhilarate most anyone from novice adventurer to the more hardcode. We traversed through a small cave system using the flashlight apps from our IPhones. We hiked up & down sand dunes as well as rocky outcroppings. The sun does beat down and our lung capacities were tested a few times during our hikes. It’s an unusual to be in a place virtually void of all vegetation. My favorite part I think was the eerie silence that exists in such a seemingly limitless expanse. This would be an ideal place to have a spiritual moment with a proverbial ‘walk in the desert’. Just bring water and sunscreen!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mojo451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice tour!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Nice walking tour! Great view and very well guided by the Explora guide, Gustavo. One of the best tours we've done there

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RafaelNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you take your time to visit the most arid desert in the world you must come to this corner of it. Of course you will see sand dunes, rodky formations, sand caves and salt formations. No plants or cactus. Skies are clean, air is so fresh your city lungs will notice the difference. But then if wind picks up you might get a dust cloud!. Bring wide brim hat, loose clothing and plenty of sunblock! Is a big place and is best to use an SUV if you are not going in a tour. Do not forget your camera and plenty of water and if you are going to stay to see the sunset and the night sky bring windbreaker or sweater. Also no food service inside the park.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LeonViajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valle de la Luna - Valle de la Muerte also viewed

San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to Valle de la Luna - Valle de la Muerte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing