We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value hostel, impeccable service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Tuyasto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Tuyasto
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value hostel, impeccable service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for around 6 days. After initially struggling to find it - once we had, we realised the location is a gem, a few blocks (5 min walk) out of the main tourist area, which meant it was quiet and much better value than in hostels in centre of town.

The owners were incredibly nice to us, despite the language barrier. They spoke to useach day to ensure we were ok, which was sweet.

The hostel itself was great. Rooms were pretty simple, but clean. As we're the shared bathrooms (all 3 of them). The kitchen had everything needed for cooking in such an expensive town.

This hostel was amazing value compared with most others in San Pedro.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caiti82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    79
    32
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
88
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We visited San Pedro for our first time at the beginning of December and were looking for a reliable low-cost option close to the town center. This hostel provides all of the necessary amenities and is well located (a 5-min walk from Caracoles). The owners were extremely welcoming and their house is attached the hostel allowing for around the clock service (with a smile). Jose and Matilde offered to store our luggage and provide a day room if available. Internet and hot water were not 100% reliable, but good given you are in the middle of the desert. Facilities were clean. Overall, we would definitely return to this hostel and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: If you need to wake up early, I recommend a room that does not have a table and chairs outside of it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sameden21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

This is my 2nd time to San Pedro and although the place is not known for value for money this hostel was a great place to stay.
The owners are super friendly and make sure that your comfortable and having fun.
The Hostal is located just out of the centre, to put it in perspective you can walk round the whole town in 10 minutes.
Hot water and wifi provided and a good kitchen to cook with.
Can truly recommend the place and deserved of its no1 place.

Tip, if coming in by bus once at immigration do not get on the bus again as the Hostal is literally down the first road on the right if you face away from the immigration centre. Just ask the guys if in any doubt. Saves you carrying your luggage from the bus stop and coming back on yourself.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickpresti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in Hostal Tuyasto before heading to Bolivia and found it to be an immaculately clean and pleasant hostel. It's 5 mins walk from the centre and the owners are genuinely welcoming and caring and made us feel very much at home. Highly recommended and very well priced. As a bonus the hostel is 1 minute walk from the border office which was convenient when departing and arriving Chile.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed at this hostel for almost a week and loved it. Matilde and Jose took incredibly good care of us, especially when we were struck with altitude sickness and they really cared about us. We felt like part of the family and absolutely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I can't recommend this hostel enough. The owners, Matilde and Jose, are incredibly kind and generous people.

I got sick during my stay and Jose personally drove me to see a doctor. He waited with me the entire time and afterwards took me to the pharmacy to buy medicine. He even offered to loan me money if I didn't have enough. Fortunately that was not necessary. The next day both he and his wife came to check in on me too.

The hostel itself is lovely. The rooms are very comfortable and the beds have enough blankets to keep you warm as it gets very cold at night. There's also a little market next door and the street leading to the hostel is framed by a spectacular view of the volcano Licanabur.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

An excellent choice of hostel. Very clean and comfortable. The owners Matilde and Jose are extermely kind and helpful for every need. It was the Hostels first anniversary while we were there and they gave evryone hot chocolate and homemade chocolate cake. They have free use of internet and free wifi and 2 mountain bikes to use at your leisure. The dorms are single beds, no bunks. a relatively small hostel for 21 people but there is ample room and the use of the fully equipped kitchen was great. Located 5 minute walk from the town centre and 7 from the bus depot it is ideally located. The views from here of the Andes are magnificent.

We had a very comfortable and welcoming stay and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are just as quiet as others. The hot water showers and toilets are centrally located in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.8 mi away
Rey Lagarto Hostel
Rey Lagarto Hostel
#20 of 121 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Mama Tierra
Hostal Mama Tierra
#1 of 121 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Campestre
Casa Campestre
#4 of 121 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
EcoExplor
EcoExplor
#19 of 121 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Lackuntur
Hostal Lackuntur
#7 of 121 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hostal Rincon de Quitor
Hostal Rincon de Quitor
#12 of 64 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Tuyasto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Tuyasto

Property: Hostal Tuyasto
Address: 28 De Agosto 535, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 121 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Tuyasto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Tuyasto Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing