We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok accommodation, not much more, but friendly!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Candelaria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Candelaria
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok accommodation, not much more, but friendly!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Do not expect anything, and then like us you will be happy enough. All accommodation in San Pedro is over priced by 10x and if we where in the UK we would never ever have stayed here, however needs must and we found ourselves in a no choice scenario. Do not go to SP with out a booking, we had booked this 3 weeks ahead. There are too many cats, dogs and general dirt to make this comfortable. The rooms are clean the rest is not. Hey it could have been worse, we have stayed in worse. The owner is very sweet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandANixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I visited San Pedro with 4 other friends over a long weekend in July 2012. Despite visiting during the off season, the town was backed due to the Chilean holiday and school vacations. Our first two nights were spent in Hostal Rural, and the second 2 nights we stayed in Hostal Candelaria.

Hostal Candelaria was a great choice. There were 3 bathrooms in total, and we also had access to a shared kitchen. There are hammocks and plenty of space to relax outside. My friends all agreed that the beds were the most comfortable hostal beds that we had ever slept in. Especially in comparison to Hostal Rural, Hostal Candelaria felt warmer (really important given that the temperatures hovered around freezing every night we were there), cozier, cleaner and more relaxed.

Also, the owner Mario was wonderful. The phone lines in the area were down for pretty much the entire week leading up to our trip (we didn't know that until we got there). We would have been able to contact the owner via email, but we didn't figure that out until after we got there. Because he hadn't heard from us, but knew what day we were arriving - the owner took his van and waiting at the bus station for us to arrive (not knowing we were already in the city). We felt terrible about this extra work for him, but he wasn't at all upset - just glad when we finally did arrive. By the time we got to the hostel midway through our trip, we had already booked our tours. But having talked to Mario after we arrived, I wished we could have used him as a resource earlier. It's impossible to get an unbiased recommendation for a tour agency, but Mario seemed more honest and straightforward than other hostel owners we'd spoken to prior.

The most glaring negative is that it's a bit of a walk from the city center - about 15 from the town's main street. This distance actually proved to be sort of nice on such a busy weekend because you could get away from the crowds. But it also means that you have to walk along a route that could definitely use a little more light. For that reason, I wouldn't recommend this place for anyone travelling solo. I made the walk solo once, and the rest of the time with at least a couple other members of my group. I never felt unsafe, even walking alone at night. But that's definitely something to be aware of when you're booking. Another potential negative is that the owner has pets: 4 cats and 2 dogs (that wear cute FBI dog jackets). There are also chickens and birds in two coups on the side of the hostal. This didn't bother me at all - the animals always stayed out of our room and kept their distance unless encouraged to do so otherwise. But if you have allergies, or just don't like animals - this probably shouldn't be your first option.

The wifi was reliable and we had access to the bathrooms (and water for the showers 24 hours a day) - this was huge. Because Candelaria is a bit outside of town, the hostel has its own water tanks, so you don't face the water shortages that happen with the hostels that are on the water grid in the center of the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraLinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braganca, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed there with a friend early june.
It was only for one night, but we really liked it.
Very relax and chill out place. The owner picked up us for free at the bus station (when we arrive from Calama), and it was very nice. It explained us everythign we could do and suggested us differente places to go and to eat.
It has free wifi with a good connection.
It is not in the center, but you can walk easily to the center. I think it is worth of it!
I recommend it if you want to go to San Pedro de Atacama.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ineswr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Thanks to Mario, the owner, me and my cousin felt like home in this nice hostel. It is a bit away from the touristy part of town, which I think gives a bit more "tranquilidad". There was a patio with sufficient hammocks, chairs and tables. But again, the most important thing was, that Mario was always very very helpful! thanks again for the time we had with you guys! Hannes

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hannes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

I arrived to the hostel after an overnight bus to San Pedro and was greeted by the owners who showed me straight to a bed which was great. The hostel itself is spread out over a couple of buildings with a lot of places to side (in the sun and shade!) outside. The kitchen has everything you need and the water is fantastic in the showers. The owners know a lot about San Pedro and the hostel is just a short walk to the town.

If you let them know in advance they will pick you up and drop you off at the bus station for free- definitely an added bonus!

The only problem was the wifi is a little unreliable, but more often than not it was working fine.

All in all, excellent value for money!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionna88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

The walk to the hostal was only about 10 min and gave us an opportunity to appreciate the beautiful landscape every morning on our way into town. The owner picked us up and dropped us off at the bus station. He was helpful without being pushy. We sat and talked for about 15 min about all the tour options as well as places to visit and eat. There is a lot in a small space so his advice was very welcomed. Everything we did based on his suggestions was wonderful, so I would say he is quite knowledgeable of the area. Highly recommend this hostel.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I had a 6 bed dorm to myself when I stayed here on my trip across South America. Very friendly host who picked me up at the bus station, great garden, lots of dogs and cats around. Very quiet location (unfortunately a bit of a walk from the centre and walking in San Pedro's heat is tough). Also there was no swimming pool despite advertised on the travel guide I was using. But nevertheless, a great place and warmly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanaBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.8 mi away
Hostal Mama Tierra
Hostal Mama Tierra
#1 of 116 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers San Pedro Hostel
Backpackers San Pedro Hostel
#29 of 116 in San Pedro de Atacama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Atacama Tatais
Hostal Atacama Tatais
#91 of 116 in San Pedro de Atacama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
EcoExplor
EcoExplor
#25 of 116 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Casa de Matilde
La Casa de Matilde
#6 of 116 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hostal Desert
Hostal Desert
#2 of 62 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Candelaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Candelaria

Property: Hostal Candelaria
Address: Calle Candelaria 170 | Poblacion El Carmen, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 116 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostal Candelaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Candelaria Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing