We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful, Romantic Little Spot in the Desert”
Review of Hotel Kimal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kimal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We spent four nights at this lovely inn in the middle of San Pedro de Atacama. Unlike other hotels based on the edge of the city or even deep on the outskirts, Kimal is literally around the corner from the main street (Caracaoles). The rooms are a little small and cozy, but romantic to the extreme with exposed wood, soft lighting, and other standards of the local architectural style. The architecture is simply stunning (from the rooms to public spaces), the beds comfortable, the bathroom gorgeous and the public areas are very inviting. Breakfast is included and is the basic European-style continental. The restaurant on the premises is a little expensive, but right around the corner the hotel owns another restaurant that is reasonable priced and offers and outstanding daily menu.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolaGatitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 344 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2011

Really hadn't know what to expect but this hotel with a small pool was a great base. The rooms are adequate in a rustic style. Dinner in the semi-outside restaurant with the wood burner going was enchanting and the food very good!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimSY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

When my mother and I decided to go to San Pedro de Atacama, we didn't want to stay in a hostel or a B&B, but still, we prepared ourselves to the possibility of a poorly structured hotel with eventual electricity problems and perhaps a short supply of water.
Well, the Kimal Hotel (not Poblado Kimal, they're across the street from each other and administered by the same people, but I didn't stay in Poblado) definitely exceeded our expectations. The staff was lovelly, and always willing to help.
The hotel is built in adobe (as most the constructions in this city), a local material that keeps the rooms fresh (almost cold, if you also live in Rio) during the day and very warm at night, and also gives them a rustic look, in a nice way.
If you have to get up too early to have breakfast at the hotel, they'll leave a snack bag prepared with lots of food that will last all day.
The only inconvenient is that the water in the city isn't fresh, but a little bit salty - something that really bothered many tourists.
The hotel restaurant was excellent. We had dinner and lunch there once (too tired to choose a place outside).
I'd definitely stay in Kimal again.

Room Tip: Room 19 is very noisy. Close to the pool pump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariKohnert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

The hotel rooms are huge and the service is excellent (there was a picnic bag for us when we left the hotel before breakfest). The welcome drink is delicious. The rooms are lovely and confortable. However, the room is poorly illuminated and it was difficult read at night.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Hotel Kimal is a true escape, a wonderfully designed hotel in tune with its surroundings and the beauty of the Atacama landscape. I considered staying at what seemed its only competitor in town, the Explora, and while the Explora looked good, Kimal was the hotel that I felt had true soul. I could not have been looked after better, magical from start to finish.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Because after you leave, the staff can charge you using your credit card's data (without you signature, of course).
Me and my wife were there for 3 days, US$420.00 at check out and after 2 days a new amount of US$63.09 suddenly appeared on our credit card bill.
Calling to the hotel, they said that It was refered to a dinner they "forgot" to charge on our check out.
Solution: We canceled all the credit cards used there, because we don't have sure about what else they "might" remember"...

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnneLouise_Marcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2010

The Hotel Kimal is not the plushest place in town but, to be honest, who travels all the way to the middle of nowhere to sit by the hotel pool? This is a great base for exploring San Pedro and the surrounding area. The hotel is bang in the middle of town, but quiet at night, has the best restaurant in town too (we tried others on the main street which weren't as good) and has off-street secure parking for your hire car. We thought the staff were friendly and efficient, our room was cozy and clean and the breakfast buffet was fine. I think it's worth bearing in mind how difficult it must be to source all the things fussy travellers want when you are hundreds of miles from anywhere! We found the Hotel Kimal to be just perfect for our 6 night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Shopper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
738 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
761 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
376 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Poblado Kimal
Hotel Poblado Kimal
#14 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kimal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kimal

Address: Domingo Atienza 452 esquina Caracoles | Centro Histórico, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: $201 - $594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kimal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the centre of town on the corner of the main street of San Pedro de Atacama, four blocks from the square, the church and archeological museum.Hotel Kimal stands out for its design that recreates the traditional architecture of the Atacama with finely finished adobe, wood and volcanic stone in an old orchard. 19 rooms provide the comfort and elegance of harmonious simplicity.The hotel offers rooms with ensuite bathroom, telephone, minibar, room service and laundry service as well as full restaurant, bar and cafeteria service, outdoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi.Within the hotel, Restaurant Paacha, famous for its fine cuisine, offers inside and outside eating areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kimal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kimal Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing