We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Cabaña”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Poblado Kimal
Certificate of Excellence
Mobile, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy Cabaña”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the cabañas of Hotel Poblado Kimal for 4 nights. The cabañas are spacious, clean, with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms.
Breakfast was quite good and filling, with plenty of options. The hotel is right off the main road and is within walking distance to everything in the small town. The front desk staff od the hotel were also friendly and helpful with all of our many questions.
A few things should be noted if you stay here. I am a night-shower person, however if you are the same I would recommend you change your ways during your stay here. At night there is little to no hot water; however in the mornings you will be perfectly happy with the temperature. A minor thing, but one I wish I had known before (as I tried for 3 nights to get a hot shower).
Also, there tends to be a great deal of noise from the main street and bar/restaurant area. We were there during Fiesta Patrias, so some of it could have been attributed to this; however I've noticed many of the other postings here mention this. We were both so tired from each day's excursions that it was not very bothersome. However, if you are a light sleeper, be aware.
Lastly, the wifi is terribly slow. We were able to pick up a signal in our cabaña; however it was almost the equivalent of dial-up connection. Once again, a minor problem considering you probably did not travel to Chile to be on the web all the time, but good to know if you think you are going to spend a large amount of time blogging about your trip.
Overall, we had a very good experience at this hotel and would recommend it to others. Mind the few suggestions and notes I've made and you should be happy here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pobkim, Director Comercial at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for such an objective critique that notes both the good and the less good aspects of you stay.
Regarding the problems you had with the hot water in the evening, I´m afraid it was due to problems we were having at the time with the electric installations which kept overloading and causing the solar water heating system to deprogram constantly. This problem is now solved but I apologise for how it effected your stay.
The other thing that has been an on-going problem at the hotel is the bad wifi connecton in the rooms. Having finally got a proposed solution for this from the computer technician, the date for for its installation is the end of October at which point I very much hope we will be able to offer a good connection from all the rooms. For now we only offer "wifi zone in public areas".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    186
    49
    11
    10
See reviews for
50
176
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went for 2 nights and stayed for 5! For $173 usd per night its not cheap, but nor is any accommodation in san pedro. Even a basic private hostal room was looking at around 100. I went into several alternatives, about 6 in all, and decided to pay the premium to remain at poblado. rooms are individual huts, all with gas heaters to keep them cosy on the cold nights. Breakfast buffet was one of the best i have had on two months of travels, lovely freshly made to order scrambled eggs! 5 stars for breakfast. Wifi only really works in reception and not in rooms, so i give it 2 stars. High quality wifi is available in some bars and restaurants on the main street. Bit disappointing that both pools were out of action, strange decision to do maintenance on both at the same time. No one seemed to have a clear idea of when they would be fixed so they should stop advertising them for the moment. Rooms were very clean and showers are good. Nice staff, very helpful. Good location for town centre but can be noisy at night....i wore earplugs at night. If i went back to SPDA I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel Poblado Kimal. Initially we were a little worried when we first got there. There had been heavy rains on the 2 days before and the streets were filled with sticky mud to the max. The rooms are all individual bungalows and look rather rustic at first glance.

Our fears were unfounded as our stay turned out to be most pleasant! Gas-fired heater kept the room very warm and nice hot showers too! Each room has it's own small veranda and there's a small common swimming pool too. Maintenance was really prompt whenever asked to help fire up the heater and also a small problem we had with the hot water.

The frontdesk staff were very helpful and though not everyone spoke fully fluent english, we managed to get by more or less. The backroom staff barely spoke any english so we had to wait for the reception staff for assistance most of the time. This was especially important as the company we had booked all our tours and transport with, stuffed up everything from our room booking, to day trips... even our airport transfer! If not for the resourcefulness of the hotel staff, we'd have been in some real difficulties... Full credit to all the front desk staff, they really eased our anxieties, especially when it came to the final troubles with our flights and transfers...

Location is very convenient as well. Just 50m off the main street. Far enough to escape the noise and near enough to hop over for any action. The sister Hotel Kimal is across the street but we didn't like the look of that one as much. The rooms are far closer together and definitely have less of that rustic feel. Breakfast is over in the Hotel Kimal restaurant and is fairly decent. Average spread but with good coffee. The main restaurant is supposed to have a famous chef and serve a good (if pricey) dinner but we didn't get the chance to try it ourselves.

Would certainly recommend the Hotel Poblado Kimal. It's not as expensive as some of the other hotels, and it may not be 5 star... but it's certainly worth a try!

ps. the only downside is that a good WiFi connection is only available closer to reception. Maybe management might think of adding in some signal boosters so WiFi can reach all the rooms in future? :)

Room Tip: Go for rooms closer to reception if you need easy WiFi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

In general, the hotel is nice and clean. The furnishing and bathroom amenities are basic. Some front-desk staff are friendly and helpful and some are not. If I cannot get what I am looking for, I would go to the other Kimal Hotel across the street or wait until a new person shows up.

There is not much privacy in the room if you leave the windows open. All rooms are at ground level with wooden walkways all around.

My friend (who stayed at the Kimal Hotel across the street) and I both came home with a skin rash on our body. We do not know how we got it. We suspects two sources, our bed/bedding and local plants. But, bed/bedding is more probable because the rash also occurred on part of our body that should not be touching plants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T492001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pobkim, Gerente at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I´m sorry you didn´t always find the receptionists helpful. We will be taking care of customer service on the front desk of Poblado to improve attention to our guests´ needs.

Regarding your skin rashes, first I hope they have passed. I would suggest thtat it´s possible they were due to the very dry climate of the Atacama which tends to have a dramatic drying effect on the skin which can be uncomfortable. In case there was any connection to the sheets, which of course are always clean and of optimum quality, we will be looking out for any comments from other guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calama, Chile
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This seemed like such a nice place to stay when we arrived. The casitas are charming and had basic amenities, but after our second dinner there half of our group ( 5 people) were ill. The staff did little to offer help or apologies in the way of the poor food, and instead suggested that we may have had altitude sickness, as well as other theories regarding our illness. Nothing was offered in compensation for our inconvenience, and we had to cut our trip short because of it. I will also mention the poor parking situation - one is required to leave vehicle keys so that the can move cars around after double and triple parking them. There are other options which we will be seeking out next time we visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desertrats_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pobkim, Gerente at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Hello Desertrats_4,

This is a very serious accusation, to be carefully weighed up by readers and I feel it would be important to consider the following facts and contrast them with the comments you make in your post:

1. On request of your group leader, on your second day, you were provided with a take-away lunch box which included - as requested specifically - bean salad, other salads, sandwiches. We prepared this food under the strictest of hygiene standards (sterilisation of fresh vegetables, all fresh ingredients, sanitised kitchen environment). However we had no control over the conditions under which the food was then transported during the morning on your tour (not operated by us) before you ate it at lunch time on the day of your "second dinner". However, as a result of your complaint we will nolonger be providing this take-away service for elaborated foods as a precaution for other guests.

2. On your first night, your group was dissatisfied with the recipe used to prepare the lasagna. Our restaurant manager took this seriously, listened, offered apologies and in compensation provided your whole group with free pisco sours and wine. Your group retired to bed that night quite content with the service and in high spirits. This I mention as a response to the accusation that our staff taking little interest in your complaints.

3. Regarding the response of our staff on the second evening, I would suggest it was not intended to be an insult when they pointed at the possibility of altitude sickness, since San Pedro is at considerable altitude and some guests can suffer from this with precisely these symptoms.

4. Since some of your group were complaining of malaise at the time of check-out (no doubt due to the effects of the bad state of the picnic explained in my point 1) we authorised a 50% discount in the price of this service in compensation. This was not an aknowledgment of responsibility for your illness but a gesture of good will towards you. Your group showed at the time satisfaction with this measure.

5. You say that you had to cut your trip short, however the booking we register was only until the Sunday you checked out.

6.. As regards the carpark arrangements I can only apologise if you didn´t find this system satisfactory. However I would add that there is a well organised system behind the way cars are parked and guests leave their keys in reception with number plate details. There is also a public carpark a few blocks from the hotel for any guest who prefers not to leave their keys at the hotel desk and have their car moved by our personnel.

I would add that I hope you and your friends had a speedy recovery whatever the cause, and a safe return home.

Kind regards,

The Management
Kimal SA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

There are some very high-end hotels in San Pedro. If you're looking for something a bit less expensive, this is a fine choice. The bungalows are very private. Breakfast is very good. Contrary to other reviews, we found service to be excellent. I had trouble every night lighting the heater, and they always came very promptly. We also had a light bulb burned out, and they came and replaced it immediately. We wound up with some free time, and the person at the front desk gave me contact information for several people who would come to the hotel and give a massage. Hot water is a minor issue. The key is to shower early. If you're a morning shower person, you will have no problem. If you shower at night, however, you should plan to do so before dinner; if you wait until you are ready for bed, it may be gone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turneraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A different kind of hotel, with nice bungalows with a small terrace, and everything in natural materials. Really a cozy place to stay, near the centre but also very quiet. Good breakfast, really helpful staff and a nice small garden with a swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kimal
Hotel Kimal
#12 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Don Tomas
La Casa de Don Tomas
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poblado Kimal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poblado Kimal

Property: Hotel Poblado Kimal
Address: Domingo Atienza esquina Caracoles | Centro Histórico, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poblado Kimal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the main street, the 21 charming wood and adobe cabin-like rooms with terrace, distributed amongst the fruit trees and shady paths reminiscent in its arrangement and calm, of an ancient settlement – is Hotel Poblado Kimal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Poblado Kimal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poblado Kimal Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing