We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place to stay in San Pedro de atacama”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Poblado Kimal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

A nice hotel, whose bungalows with veranda are clean and cosy. Excellent breakfast but, most important, the staff is incredibly kind and helpful. Also the restaurant is quite good. We spent wonderful days here!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iwillsurvive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pobkim, Director of Sales at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you so much for such a shining review. It´s so good to hear you had an all round positive experience in San Pedro and enjoyed the characteristics of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 368 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

Really liked this hotel which has individual part daube huts as rooms but don't be put off as they are really nice. It is virtually on the main street unlike many of the hotels and that is extremely useful. We found the staff really helpful, especially as our tour company was extremely unreliable and required several telephone calls which the staff were happy to make. Breakfast is a cold buffet. Wifi is available in the rooms. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room which was towards the right hand side of the complex and it was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkB186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pobkim, Director of Sales at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thanks so much for pointing out to other travellers the convenience of our location. Good to hear you appreciated our efforts to optimise personalised service on the front desk and above all a helpful attitude to make our guests´ stay as enjoyable as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room is very comfortable, clean and nice. The hotel is very well located, closed to main streed Caracoles.

But I was very disapointed with flexibility of the front desk in solving the guest issues. The hotel is zero customer oriented and the front desk people are not able to take any decision to meet the guests requirements. If try to talk with the manager or the owner, the answer is: they are not able to contact! (it is weird a turistic place with no access to some responsible during the weekend)

We also had some problems with the roon and nor an apology we had.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luruzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pobkim, Director of Sales at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

I would like to thank you for your comments regarding the poor service you received during your stay with us last November. We took your experience very seriously and have sought to iron out the wrinkles that were behind the standard of customer service you received.

I write now because there is now evidence in more recent critics that the quality of service has once again come up to the standards that have always characterised our hotel.

On behalf of the hotel management, I offer our sincere apologies for the problems you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was a really lovely stay in an overly touristy town. The service was outstanding - helpful, friendly and a couple of people really went out of their way to accommodate an unusual need. We had a friend pass away back home and wanted to attend the online service so they went to trouble to set up a computer for us at 1.00 a.m. and the night receptionist was so respectful and accommodating.

Sadly though we did lose a toiletry bag and medicine kit - both stocked with expensive organic products and homeopathic treatments. We left it behind in the bathroom cupboard and realized this a couple of hours later when we arrived at our next venue. We called the hotel immediately and were going to pay for a taxi to deliver them, but they had already vanished. We had thought a couple of days previously that we might have had some money removed from a wallet but as we couldn't be absolutely certain we didn't say anything. However, I would now advise caution.

Room Tip: Ask for the 'deluxe' - only a few more dollars (maybe $10 or 18) and it was bigger and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pobkim, Director of Sales at Hotel Poblado Kimal, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

It´s very good to hear that on the whole your stay in San Pedro was enjoyable and you clearly have a positive memory despite the most regrettable loss of your cosmetics and homeopathic remedies. However we were most concerned about this loss, because lack of security has not usually been a characteristic of our hotel before or since your stay. (We have security cameras and there is a safe deposit available in reception for valuables). We can only offer our sincere apologies and the guarantee that measures were taken to avoid the recurrance of such a situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very central in this busy town. Individual chalets in wood and straw, reached by boardwalk. Comfortable. Cool in the eening, but there is a gas fire. Be aware of the altitude - drink lots of water, and eat light meals at night. Didn't try the restaurant as the choice in the main street was large.

Room Tip: Sit near the fire at breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peterscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Freestanding cabins seemingly built with mud render with a straw roof....quite attractive. Conveniently located adjacent to San Pedro's main pedestrian street. Rooms were spacious, very clean and featured a minibar , a safe, and a small verandah. Breakfast was excellent, and most (not all) staff were friendly and helpful. Swimming pool is NOT heated in winter.
A tip for this town is to bring cash...either US$ or Pesos.
Their are plenty of money changers offering reasonable rates. We say this becauuse the queues for ATM's were ridiculously long, and we heard that the ATM's often run out of cash.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davlynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The hotel is in the centre of town. A very small basic double room with tiny bathroom. No water in our room on the first morning and staff seemed indifferent to the fact. On the second morning we left our room at 0400 for an excursion and returned at 1230 to find that they'd only just started to clean it so we had to wait a further 30 minutes to get into our room. Our packed breakfast
consisted of 2 slices of stale unbuttered bread with a slice of ham and cheese, a few biscuits, pot of yoghurt (no spoon) and an apple. We asked for clean shower towels and were given pool towels. This hotel charges a rack rate of USD 200 per night but is run like an inefficient hostel.
It is worth exploring the many other options available in the town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank footlooseski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
586 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Kimal
Hotel Kimal
#12 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
883 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
763 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poblado Kimal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poblado Kimal

Address: Domingo Atienza esquina Caracoles | Centro Histórico, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: $191 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poblado Kimal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the main street, the 21 charming wood and adobe cabin-like rooms with terrace, distributed amongst the fruit trees and shady paths reminiscent in its arrangement and calm, of an ancient settlement – is Hotel Poblado Kimal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Poblado Kimal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poblado Kimal Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing