We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peter & Julia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Poblado Kimal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2012

San Pedro de Atacama although hot dry and dusty is definitely worth the visit and the Kimal is the perfect place to stay, certainly one of the few best. Staff were most welcoming, the rooms are not the largest but they are beautifully prepared, clean and well kept. The style is adobe charm with lots of polished wood, stone and 'mud'. Each chalet has an outside area to sit and the hotel facilities include a most welcome pool, albeit small. The breakfasts were included and excellent: lunches/dinners were not cheap but the best around and could be taken by the pool if wished. This was probably the best and most enjoyable place of our trip throughout the entire length of Chile. There is so much to see but we would definitely recommend a 4x4 rather than the saloon car we hired.

Room Tip: An inside room probably the quietest although noise was not a problem. Beds were somewhat bouncy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OverseasVisitor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 364 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2012

San Pedro de Atacama is expensive and this hotel is no exception, but we spent 4 very enjoyable nights in Poblado Kimal. The staff were helpful, friendly and tolerated my appalling Spanish (most spoke enough English for us to communicate). The rooms (chalets) were clean, and the food in the restaurant some of the best we had in our 5 weeks in Chile. My one criticism would be that there were not enough sun loungers at the pool. Would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chairdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Having read some of the other reviews I had to go back to check we were talking about the same place !
On arrival we were meet with a very grumpy chap on reception .He always seems miserable whenever we saw him .The only time he laughed was when we told him that one of the light fittings in our cabin had burst into flames [quite scary when you have a straw roof overhead ] the others staff were more friendly though .The cabins were clean but very basic .The bathroom very basic. It was the only hotel during our trip of Chile and Argentina where we had to pay for bottled water -all the other hotels gave complimentary bottles.It was quite noise at night with the packs of dogs howling nearby .Meals were available across the street in the sister hotel .The breakfast was adequate but lunch and an evening meal were very nice and in a different league .The pools looked a bit grubby and not that inviting .One good thing about this hotel was it's centeral location in the town .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dizzyfizzy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in the Poblado Kimal for four nights and not one of them was peaceful! Directly behind the cabins is one of the busiest restaurants in San Pedro which had live music or karaoke every night we were there. Also, the cabins are quite close to each other so there is a considerable amount of noise from people coming and going. It was not nearly as private and relaxing as we had hoped, especially for the price. We would not stay there again, however if your insist on trying it, if you pay with cash make sure to ask for a discount!
Also, when we went it July the beautiful outdoor Jacuzzi shown on the website was full of nothing but dried grass and leaves!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomshinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The Hotel is really good and has a very good location; a nice restaurant, and helpfull staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the entrance or the main building or else you won't have wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalsaBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

So Atacama is a very dry and dusty place and this hotel at the end of a long day of tourism is perfect. Also, if you are just arriving into the Atacama region from a big city, this place is pricey but worth it, as you'll have enough to adjust to that you will want a good place to rest your head. We got the Cabins which were fantastic and the service was spot on. My girlfriend liked the shower and cute room, and I liked the high speed internet and no TV. It allows you to stay connected but away at the same time. The breakfast was exactly what you'd expect and they even held our bags in the front office after check out due to a late tour we were on. We did not eat dinner there as we like to explore more local spots for dinner, and there are plenty. We ate at Blanco (very nice). If we ever go back, we will stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pej924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

This is an excellent hotel that I would recommend to anyone traveling to San Pedro and the surrounding area. We stayed in the cabins as opposed to the rooms and they were great. Very clean, comfortable beds, bar fridge with drinks and snacks and the adobe construction keeps them cool in the daytime and warm at night. Our package included a buffet breakfast which was delicious and included cold meats, cheeses, freshly baked bread, cereals, fresh fruits and juices, desserts, coffee, tea and made to order eggs with bacon or ham. The hotel provided parking for our two cars at no extra charge and the service in general was very good. Check in and check out takes a little longer than you would expect in North America, but this isn't North America so generally, you should expect cultural differences.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clamtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kimal
Hotel Kimal
#12 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
572 reviews
0.5 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
725 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
842 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Don Tomas
La Casa de Don Tomas
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poblado Kimal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poblado Kimal

Address: Domingo Atienza esquina Caracoles | Centro Histórico, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: $191 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Poblado Kimal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the main street, the 21 charming wood and adobe cabin-like rooms with terrace, distributed amongst the fruit trees and shady paths reminiscent in its arrangement and calm, of an ancient settlement – is Hotel Poblado Kimal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Poblado Kimal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poblado Kimal Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing