We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent San Pedro budget choice!”
Review of Hostal Sonchek

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Pedro de Atacama
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Sonchek
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
126 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Excellent San Pedro budget choice!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I'm surprised by some of the less than glowing reviews about this hostal -- for San Pedro this place represents exceptional value. Beds are comfortable and have clean linens and cosy blankets. Rooms are thoughtfully arranged with shelves and power strips so that more than one device can be charged. (It would be great, though, if the rooms had, at least, small lockers for passports, laptops and other personal belongings, although the reception will store your belongings if you ask.) Affordable and reliable laundry service. For the driest desert on Earth, solar showers are amazing -- plenty of hot water and pressure. Great location just a few minutes from the TurBus terminal and the center. I found staff friendly enough, but not super helpful with information about tours. Calm environment that attracts people more 25-35 and older. Also quite nice that they don't require a deposit to make a reservation via email (although it is important to confirm your reservation with a second email 24 hours before arrival.) Bottom line: if you're on a budget and looking for good value in San Pedro, Soncheck should probably be your first choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwiz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    125
    34
    6
    15
See reviews for
17
111
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

In case you haven't figured this out already, San Pedro is extremely expensive. Finding a decent room under $30 is practically impossible but Sonchek fit the bill. It was a calm environment. Guests are talking lowly in all areas and management is understandable that a majority of their guests will wake up at 6am or earlier for their full day tours. The restaurant next door blasts music during the day though... The room was very cramped but we both fit fine, however, curtains are too thin- they do not block out the sun. The cats add a welcoming presence. Staff does not speak English and are as helpful as they feel they need to be. The shared bathrooms were an experience. They are cleaned almost constantly and each have a character to them. Took a bit to find which one was my favorite. Wifi was an issue. Had to keep restarting the router every time we wanted to get online and could only access from the courtyard- adobe walls are too thick. Also, keep your bags securely closed at all times. Because the room open to a garden, we found a couple of spiders hiding under our stuff- they were scary, not gonna lie.
Bottom line- comfortable, peaceful, secure environment just a 5 min walk to town on safe roads. If you feel like having a good time, we found the many establishments on the main street to be quite accommodating. You'll be able to live it up at the (overpriced) restaurants with the money you saved from staying in this hostel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in a double room with shared bath. Clean, comfy with good beds and because of the layout of the hostal very little street noise. Friendly helpful staff that was present and interacting with guests.
We took advantage of the shared kitchen which was a big hit. We also spent time in the hammocks, also a big hit. We really enjoyed the calm atmosphere, a break from hectic San Pedro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TellurideRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I booked my room well in advance since I heard good reviews about this place. However, on my first night, I felt bed bugs crawling over me and I could not sleep because the bites were so insanely itchy!!! When I complained about the bed bugs, at first they told me that it was mosquitos. I showed them the multiple rows of bites on my body and said that they were not bites of a mosquito. The bed bug bite has greater intensity in itchiness and are in a row. I asked them to replace the bedding and they said they would get the pestman in that day. I assumed they meant in the morning to allow for the room to be aired properly. However, when I returned from my excursion at 3.30pm, I found my room unlocked and my belongings strewn on the outside furniture for all to see and take. The room had only been sprayed that afternoon. Consequently, that night the room had a distinct smell of chemicals. I had a bleeding nose that night, and continued to have bleeding noses regularly for 2 weeks. My nose was incredibly itchy and still is itchy now some months on. To add insult to injury, the French lady accused me of bringing in the bed bugs from Argentina. When I replied that that doesn't explain why she was spraying the other rooms for bed bugs since I had not slept in those rooms, she did not reply. Avoid this place if you don't like bed bugs

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soncheksp, Propietario at Hostal Sonchek, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Bed bugs and other insect are not common in Atacama desert/because of the high altitude- but once in a while they get here with the passangers, who bring them from other places. When this happens we spray the bed and if it doesn´t help we replace the bed. Apologies to the customers who had a bed experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
169 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I am all bu positive about this place and I'll tell you why:

I booked a single room for 12000 pesos per day ( fixed price, cheap for this expensive town). In return i got a nice place with great atmosphere and tranquility close to the center of activity. The room is clean. I receive wifi very well, bed is great, room prety cosy and temperature great day and night. The bathroom is large, clean and with a good shower with hot water. The staff is very helpful, helps where they can (they also can wash your stuff) and it was very nice that they knew my name, offered to help me out while waiting for a bus and give lots on info on bus hours, attractions etc. I even found a little self made map in my room with info, really nice. I got clean towels, the place is ecological, the door is locked, your backpack safely stored etc. No seriously, for this price, you cannot find much better. Great job guys.

Room Tip: It is minor, but the room in the front gets a bit more street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_vid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The woman who runs this hostel is very hard working, multilingual and ensures your stay is comfortable.
Cheap single rooms are available but you must book in advance (about $20).
Dorm room near main road is loud so try get one away from the road/reception.
They scrub the hostel clean every day.
They have mixed dorms with 4 beds.
The hostel is in an excellent location. Only a couple of blocks to the bus station and is on the edge of the centre of town.
Hot water is excellent.
The kitchen is small but seems to make do for the guests.
I recommend this place if you're going to Atacama but don't forget to book or you'll miss out.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binvinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva_ch
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Centrally located, we were very well suprised by this hostel, first because it is quite cheap for SPA, and the cleanliness of the place. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. Room was clean. All rooms are distributed around a central patio, with 4-5 bathrooms which are regularly cleaned by the ladies, so it was very convenient and always very clean. Functional kitchen with many amenities to cook. Mainly french speaking travellers. Good choice in SPA and cheap at the same time! And the restaurant beside is very good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wise_lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.1 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Takha Takha Hotel
Takha Takha Hotel
#18 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kimal
Hotel Kimal
#12 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Tambillo
Hotel Tambillo
#25 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Mama Tierra
Hostal Mama Tierra
#1 of 125 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Sonchek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Sonchek

Property: Hostal Sonchek
Address: Calle Gustavo le Paige 198, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 125 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pleasant place in town center, clean, safe, quiet;family atmosphere.English and french spoken by the owner. Moderate prices,solar energy, ecological awarness. Stuff support 24 hrs. Green garden, Wi-Fi, restaurant, bike-rental.Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Sonchek Hotel San Pedro De Atacama
Hostal Sonchek Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing