We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay in San Pedro”
Review of Hostel La Ruca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostel La Ruca
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
204 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very nice stay in San Pedro”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

After arriving in San Pedro de Atacama from a 3 day 4wheel driving excursion leaving Uyuni in Bolivia - we were well and truly ready and hanging out for a nice hot shower, nice bathroom and comfy bed. Hostel La Ruca provided quaint, relaxed, homely surroundings with a rustic feel. Our double room was nicely decorated, clean, fresh and comfortable. The Wi-fi service was great, there are nice common areas, hammocks, internal courtyard and spotless, pristine kitchen.
Easy walk to restaurants, money exchange houses and tour offices.
This place was perfect to kick back, relax, refresh and find some comfort. I can highly recommend Hostel La Ruca.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    83
    40
    14
    6
See reviews for
9
76
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Hostels are grubby and overpriced in San pedro so by those standards this hostel is pretty nice. After a long and delayed bus ride we arrived after 9pm without a bookign so got the double room with private bathroom which was nice but very expensive> We moved the next day to the double with shared bathroom which was quite a bit cheaper (although still pricey for what it is) but the room and the bathroom were very small.

The staff were quite helpful, moving bags between rooms when we were out. Breakfast is not included and the kitchen is too small for more than 4people so dont bother trying to get in there. The communal area and wi-fi are pretty good and the hostel is very central.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traubs23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This place gets mixed reviews but we found it to be a very good place to stay.

San Pedro is pricey so this hostel is average price for the area.

The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. The garden is very nice and you can happily laze in a hammock or socialise in the communal garden.

The staff aren't amazingly friendly but they don't speak English and we don't speak Spanish so I can't say we had much of a chance! They were nice enough to let us hang out in the garden after we checked out and store our luggage.

A good place to stay overall, I would recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank -Eat-Drink-Explore-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed in two places in San Pedro and this one was better priced and had a lovely outdoor area with lots of shade to meet other people and relax! Friendly, no breakfast but lots of places around to eat. Really good value for an expensive place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I´d been in La Ruca last year! it was a very good and confortable place to stay...it is so funny, cos you also can enjoy san pedro´s night...I always recomend this place!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gredazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

The girl of the reception made us a very glacial welcome, and she had a bad mood all along. The bad breakfast is included for some people, but for other people it is 1000 pesos, without no reason. We had cooked a good dish in the kitchen and put the remains in the fridge for the day after, but the girl at the reception threw our remains in the bin. The doors of the showers don't lock, the water is sometimes burning sometimes freezing, the only computer does not recognize USB sticks or cameras, and it is so slow that it is useless anyway, the main entrance door is wide open all day long without anyone to control who enters the hostel, there is no atmosphere at all, the bunk beds in the dorms : there is just enough height between the lower bed and the upper bed so you can hit your head when waking up in the lower one, there is no laundry so you have to pay 1500 pesos / kg in the laundry up in the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grand_Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Great location hostel. We stayed in the private room with bathroom. Very clean, tidy and safe. We were there for four nights most of the time we were out doing activities and at nights we were out in the town centre (which is a two minute walk) eating dinner or at a bar . Patricio the clerk is really nice and cleaner/maid as well. Laundrymat is about a minute down the road which we found quite handy and cheap.

Water pressure for shower is lowered during the day by the town council as there are water shortages in the town, which is understandable since town is in a desert. As per previous review.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.3 mi away
Takha Takha Hotel
Takha Takha Hotel
#18 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Mama Tierra
Hostal Mama Tierra
#1 of 125 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Backpackers San Pedro Hostel
Backpackers San Pedro Hostel
#29 of 125 in San Pedro de Atacama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Matilde
La Casa de Matilde
#8 of 125 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Lackuntur
Hostal Lackuntur
#7 of 125 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel La Ruca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel La Ruca

Property: Hostel La Ruca
Address: Toconao 513, San Pedro de Atacama 1410000, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 125 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel La Ruca 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel La Ruca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel La Ruca Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing