We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostel La Ruca
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Portal Andino Lodge(San Pedro de Atacama)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Hotel La Cochera(San Pedro de Atacama)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux(San Pedro de Atacama)
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Noi Casa Atacama(San Pedro de Atacama)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Lodge Andino Terrantai(San Pedro de Atacama)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Lodge Ancar Atacama(San Pedro de Atacama)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Tulor(San Pedro de Atacama)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Parina Atacama Apart Hotel(San Pedro de Atacama)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Hotel Poblado Kimal(San Pedro de Atacama)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (191)
    Filter reviews
    191 results
    Traveler rating
    47
    83
    40
    15
    6
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    47
    83
    40
    15
    6
    See what travelers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    39 - 44 of 191 reviews
    Reviewed September 11, 2011

    I´d been in La Ruca last year! it was a very good and confortable place to stay...it is so funny, cos you also can enjoy san pedro´s night...I always recomend this place!

    • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank gredazul
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 27, 2011

    The girl of the reception made us a very glacial welcome, and she had a bad mood all along. The bad breakfast is included for some people, but for other people it is 1000 pesos, without no reason. We had cooked a good dish in the kitchen and put the remains in the fridge for the day after, but the girl at the reception threw our remains in the bin. The doors of the showers don't lock, the water is sometimes burning sometimes freezing, the only computer does not recognize USB sticks or cameras, and it is so slow that it is useless anyway, the main entrance door is wide open all day long without anyone to control who enters the hostel, there is no atmosphere at all, the bunk beds in the dorms : there is just enough height between the lower bed and the upper bed so you can hit your head when waking up in the lower one, there is no laundry so you have to pay 1500 pesos / kg in the laundry up in the street.

    • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Grand_Vince
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed July 19, 2011

    Great location hostel. We stayed in the private room with bathroom. Very clean, tidy and safe. We were there for four nights most of the time we were out doing activities and at nights we were out in the town centre (which is a two minute walk) eating dinner or at a bar . Patricio the clerk is really nice and cleaner/maid as well. Laundrymat is about a minute down the road which we found quite handy and cheap.

    Water pressure for shower is lowered during the day by the town council as there are water shortages in the town, which is understandable since town is in a desert. As per previous review.

    • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank JuanKong
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 17, 2011

    We stayed in Hostel La Ruca for two nights before embarking on our Salar de Uyuni tour. In fact, we were only meant to stay one night, but the beds were so, so warm that we slept for an entire morning. Warmest beds in South America thus far!

    The hostel is well-located, although San Pedro is tiny, so it doesn't make a big difference. I think its best feature (after the warm beds) is the sunny courtyard with a few hammocks -- very comfortable. However, the rate does not include breakfast and we had very, very cold showers, which was a little disappointing.

    • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank shaz_jhb
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 1, 2011

    After travelling for over 5 months in South America, we had some experience in living in different doublerooms in hostels. This one was really a pleasant surprise! The room was beautiful and shiny cleen, the shower big and clean, and the bed was really comfy. The kitchen free of use was also very clean, and the area outside very nice.

    • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Lotte2222
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews