We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really clean rooms, good kitchen, great location”
Review of Hostel La Ruca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel La Ruca
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Having read lots of really rubbish reviews we were reluctant to stay here, but it was close to friends of ours. We had a double bed with ensuite. The room was amazingly clean & cleaned everyday. The water was hot (for about 3 mins when you had to turn it off & on again!), the location was really safe & central to town, but not too noisy.
Admittedly we didn't use the hostel for booking any tours (we used our friends at Hostel Campo Base, who's host was much better at english & generally friendlier) but we feel the bad press for this place is not deserved.
It has a lovely central courtyard which has sunshine all day, a well equipped kitchen if you want to avoid the expensive restaurants in San Pedro & the host was lovely when we tried to speak Spanish to her.
Consider this place, don't write it off from the previous negative reviews

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniemc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 191 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2011

We stayed in San Pedro de Atacama for five nights. Because it was almost completely booked out, we already knew from the beginning, that we would have to change our hostel after three nights. We walked around looking for a place to stay when Silvia, the owner of La Ruca, caught us to stay at her place. She forced us to make a reservation and pay a certain amount in advance to be sure to have the room we wanted (a nice matrimonial which she showed us to persuade). When we arrived two days later for check-in, an unfriendly woman on the desk told us, that our room wasn't available anymore and that we had to stay in another one, and even had to change the room for the second night. We felt cheated, because if we knew that before, we would not have made a reservation and have had a better chance to find something else.
The main problem was not the wrong room for itself, but the treatment at La Ruca: There was no sorry to excuse their mistake – they even lied to us and gave us a stupid reason why things went wrong. Their suggestion was: try to find something else – could be hard because San Pedro is booked out...
We found something else, though just a little bit more expensive, but with the right client-friendly attitude.
San Pedro is a very touristy place – but La Ruca beats it all in making you feel like "walking money" and not like guests. The surrounding nature is just terrific, but take your time to find the right place to stay for not feeling cheated – so it won't spoil the outstanding experience of the Atacama desert and its highlights as itself.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hermana-CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

this location is easy walking to main street while remaining fairly quiet at night. good bathrooms and showers are hot, which is something worth asking before booking anywhere in san pedro. but the vibe is lack-lustre, the staff are unhelpful and not bilingual as they claim.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zephie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

This is an expensive place, like all other hotels/hostels in San Pedro. Especially when you are used to the low prices in Bolivia and Peru (and other cheap countries). Chili is more expensive, but San Pedro is very expensive. The hotel was ok, with clean rooms and a good shower. They also have hammocks, but they are in the full sun.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runderkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Elisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaBeatrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.7 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
749 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atacama Adventure Wellness & Ecolodge
Atacama Adventure Wellness & Eco...
#17 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Takha Takha Hotel
Takha Takha Hotel
#18 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Corvatsch
Hostal Corvatsch
#21 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Incahuasi B&B
Incahuasi B&B
#18 of 73 in San Pedro de Atacama
142 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hostal Rincon de Quitor
Hostal Rincon de Quitor
#14 of 73 in San Pedro de Atacama
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel La Ruca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel La Ruca

Address: Toconao 513, San Pedro de Atacama 1410000, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 147 Specialty Lodging in San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel La Ruca 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hostel La Ruca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel La Ruca Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing