We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a boutique hotel, more an upgraded hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not a boutique hotel, more an upgraded hostel”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

It is a bit frustrating as it feels like this place doesn't miss much to be a really nice boutique hotel. The place is quite beautiful and perfectly plays its role as a relaxing base camp during your exploration of Atacama. However, overall, it feels really overpriced for what is offered. Considering how warm days get in San Pedro our room didn't have even a small ventilator and if we would open our window at night we wouldn't be able to sleep because of the dogs barking in the neighborhood. There is no warm water and no shampoo is supplied. Staff is very nice (special mention to Yito who was always very available and helpful). Just a few simple upgrades would make this place a 4+ rating easily.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LudoAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    70
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
80
143
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

These guys are very worthy of five stars, but the pool was filthy! I think there was something wrong with the pump as there were men working on it at the end of my visit. But I specifically emailed to ask if the pool was up and running before I visited and they said yes! It was so dirty I didn't want to go in it. Perhaps the owner will reply here and let future guests know this problem is taken care of.

Casa Solcor is on the edge of town, but I walked to dinner in town each night and felt safe walking home. About a ten minute walk. The rooms were hot--a ceiling fan would be nice. I found it a bit hard to fall asleep.

The grounds were very nice and quite clean. Breakfast was excellent. Eggs, sandwich meat, bread, yogurt, juice coffee and fresh fruit. Staff was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and used this hotel as the base to explore Atacama.

Casa Solcor is more like a family owned B&B, but the rooms are hotel sized. You do almost feel like you are staying in a private home. The owners are very helpful if you need advice, packed breakfast, maps or tour reservations, but are not constantly present and supervising the shared areas (which makes you feel more comfortable). We stayed in the main building, our room was large and had an extra twin bed which we used as a couch. It did not have any view to speak of, but the view from the roof terrace was very nice, and just a few steps away. We were allowed to use the kitchen in the main building, including cooking - but we just stored some drinks in the fridge. The kitchen is fully functional and properly stocked - all you need to do is buy your main ingredients, and the basics (salt/pepper/oil etc) is all there.

There is plenty of parking if you rent a car (which we did - and we felt that a car was a much better way to explore the area than the overpriced tour buses); there are 2 friendly dogs and a cat that likes to sit on the cars on the property, but they don't go inside (I got severe animal allergies, but had no trouble with them).

The small downsides: REALLY hard to find. Streets are not labeled, and it's a bit out of town (3 min drive, 15 min walk). We went around in circles a few times, and eventually I flagged a carabineros car to ask for directions.. the cops could not explain it so they just escorted us to the door - very nice of them! - we'd be probably still going in circles if they did not! It is totally worth it once you find it though.

Also, the rooms don't have A/C so in the middle of the day it does get seriously hot in there. Not a problem at night, but late afternoon, even with the fan, it is a bit too warm to stay there. But chances are, you won't be sleeping in the middle of the day anyways, right?

Side note on trips: virtually all sightseeing daytrips, incl Geysers Del Tatio, are doable in a regular compact car. SUV would be more comfortable, but not essential if you are an attentive driver. The only daytrip that can not be done without a local guide is Salar Del Tara; it is passable in an SUV, but it essentially it is some 30 miles of off-roading to get to the site, so finding it is not trivial.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlyaDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This place is MUCH prettier and more comfortable that it appears on the website, in my opinion. We had two nights here and wished we had stayed longer.

What a great idea - accommodation built like a home with large ensuite bedrooms that feed into spacious and comfortable communal areas. We stayed in the newer of the two houses towards the front of the very large block on which Casa Solcor sits. The owners have lovely taste and the houses are full of high quality, stylish furniture and fittings, with great decorative touches. I wish that I had found the range of lovely woven mats / rugs that adorn the tables and walls of CS. Apparently the owner is well-travelled and the rugs and other furnishings have been collected from countries throughout South America. Maybe the owner's personal travel experience is one reason this place works so well.

As the place becomes more established (construction on the new house finished earlier this year, apparently) the garden is looking more and more established and attractive - they are putting a lot of work into it. It's like a residential compound (common in SPA, with most accommodation sitting behind high walls) and it is a pretty place to stay. The courtyard with the pool that sits between the houses is attractive, and the rear balcony (part of house number one at the rear of the block) with views of the volcanoes is available to all guests.

We had a spacious room with a large queen sized bed that was firm and comfortable. The well presented bathroom had a large walk-in shower and was well equipped. The breakfast was one of the best we had on our month-long trip - and included toasted quinoa, which was lovely with yoghurt and fruit - as well as other cereals, toast, eggs, cheese, breakfast meats, etc. They prepared a bagged breakfast for us because we had an early morning pickup for our flight to Santiago.

Yito was managing things when we were at CS, and he was terrific. He collected us from the bus station even though our bus from Argentina was very late, gave us a detailed introduction to CS and provided thoughtful on what to do in our short time at SPA. Natalia was efficient on the booking side.

CS is a 10/15 min walk from "downtown" SPA, but we liked that, particularly because after eating a big meal we could walk it off. Several guests took advantage of the kitchen facilities and cooked their own meals after long days out on tours. It's great to have this flexibility. I loved the idea of a communal area to chat and have a tea/coffee with other guests, or a spacious bedroom for privacy and quiet if you wanted it.

I am really glad we stayed at CS. We expected something good, and got something great. SPA is pricey generally, and CS was good value given the location.

DO TAKE A TORCH - IT REALLY IS DARK IF YOU WALK OUTSIDE AT NIGHT, AND YOU WANT CARS TO SEE YOU - AND TO MISS THE POTHOLES ETC IN THE ROAD.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaSolcor, Gerente at Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you very much for you comment, we are very glad and happy because that is just what we want for our guests !!
We hope you come back soon and for more days!!
Regards,
Natalia and Yito.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Our Stay was very pleasant, so quiet compare to the busy downtown.
We stayed in the second house, where we could use the kitchen.
The breakfast was very good, an could be prepared if you have to leave early. They forgot ours, but seemed there was a misunderstanding, and the manager was very sorry. Doesn't matter.
You can have a rest outside and use the BBQ as well !
The only thing missing I think, is some parasols around the swimming pool.
Very happy with our stay !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were previously booked in another hotel in san pedro through our travel agent but upon last minute complicaticons we changed our booking to the Casa Solcor. This is a delightful bed and breakfast and you are waited upon by the charming owners,making it a warm atmosphere. The hotel is a 15 minute stroll from the main road in the village, but as we were blessed with lovely weather we found ourselve more than pleased to wander back after an evening meal. The beds were cozy and the rooms decorated with a tasteful style. Thank you natalie and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dh14norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Well if you have never been to San Pedro it is truly a unique experience as you arrive into the town. If you like to keep your things dust free then forget that and experience something so "new".
The Casa Solcor is run by Natalia who made us feel so welcome from the very start. It is about a ten - fifteen minute walk out of the centre Caracoles road. But you know what, it was something so different just walking home after a night out.
The Lodging is perfect with rooms and private bathrooms within the house, a common living area and kitchen. It was actually a lot of fun talking to other travellers and sharing a breakfast table.
The place was very clean and it was a very comfortable stay during our three days in the area. It was very good value for money. Everyone was very welcoming. The ladies ( Iris and Nena ) who prepared the breakfasts were very friendly.
A great time to be had at this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charango_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.7 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#7 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.2 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Don Tomas
La Casa de Don Tomas
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
#2 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: Antonio Leon s/n | Ayllu de Solcor, San Pedro de Atacama 1410000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel Casa Solcor has two independent houses separated by the swimming pool and gardens. Both houses four rooms each with private bathroom. Living room , dining room and fully equipped kitchen are shared by our guests in a very cozy area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing