We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place needing better management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
macclesfield, UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great place needing better management”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed five nights in this delightful guest house and relaxed into our holiday in Chile. It is rather out of town, meaning a 15 minute walk down a dusty pothold mud road and very dark at night to return (but we knew that before we booked); but the advantage is that it is quiet. Very few rooms split between two buildings of stylish design, separated by a gravel 'garden' with trees for shade and a new small swimming pool that is lit at night. We spent a couple of afternoons after tours just reading in complete tranquility. other good points are the sizeable room, good bathroom with sizeable shower, the communal kitchen (we bought quiches to warm up from a shop in town a couple of evenings, made ourselves a tea and kept our water bottles in the fridge).

Downsides are the rather cheap materials the house is built of (front of drawer came off when opened); the lack of attention to maintenance (dust on bottom of swiming pool, sticky strips on windows there since the place was built, very weedy gravel in the 'garden') and the rather basic breakfast: in particular, it is NOT acceptable anywhere outside hostels, in particular for a place styling itself as 'boutique', to serve powderd instant Nescafe with a thermos of hot water. The two ladies serving breakfast are pleasant but slow.

The problems are simple to cure, and stem from poor management. The place is managed by Natalie,the young daughter of the absent owner, who is very friendly but lazy and unprofessional. Questions I asked when booking by e-mail were n ot answered until I asked again; a promised photo of the pool was not sent; 100% payment was demanded 6 weeks in advance (on appeal reduced to 50%); there was no attmpt to engage with clients and when we reported a water fountain out of water, we were told to wait until the breakfast staff changed it. Natalie also recommended a transfer from Calama Airpot via Licancabur Tours, which we booked by e-mail: when we arrived it had no bus available, lied to us for an hour before we got another operator to take us to San Pedro. We later discovered that this is a common experience, so why does Casa Solcor recommend them??!

Nicolas, the seasonal help, is much more geared up to European expectations and was an honourable exception to the criticisms above.

All in all, a really nice place marred that would be perfect with mopre attention to management and customer service standards.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    70
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
83
147
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you looking for a place of mystic beauty this is the place, the accomodation is very quiet and the pool is so refreshing. Above all the staff is very friendly and real.
There is a fire pit to relax and watch the stars in the evening, maybe the staff could have the fire every night to encourage social contact.
I liked the place very much ¡¡ i would stay there again
Mike

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This place was very relaxing and we had a lovely room with a nice bathroom. This part of the building was brand new, and everything was very clean and nice decorated with colored furniture, the new kitchen can be used for own cooking. Also the fantastic pool was the perfect pastime to cool down during the heat.
The house is approx. 10 minutes away from the centre, but it's always nice to get away from the loud touristic spots.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new part of the house are fantastic. (I haven't been in the older part - I'm su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

After the usual rains that falls in February in San Pedro and after watching alarmed the news on the television and knowing that I was about to arrive in San Pedro I asked via email if all services were well at Casa Solcor. Natalia, the owner, said that there were no problem at all but it was far from the reality we lived. After the check in and after having paid the full stay, the last week rainfall was the excuse for everything because there was not hot water in the shower, the flush was broken and there was no wifi in the room..and also some cockroaches in the bathroom!! All excuses, she had internet in her home next to the rest of the rooms, the toilets and flushes in the town worked properly... a huge disappointment.

Meanwhile, Casa Solcor is far from the center of San Pedro (Calle Caracoles), about 10 minutes walk, that with the desert heat can be really exhausting and also the street lighting is quite poor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cerdoiberico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Casa Solcor over the 2012 Christmas Holiday. The place was super cute, safe, extremely spotless and Natalia and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The Adobe style house was serene and very quiet at night. The grounds are well kept with a beautiful field of alfalfa growing out back. It was a 10 minutes walk from the main street, which we loved. We were there during a full moon so no flashlights were needed but at darker times of the month they are. The place currently has 4 rooms but there is an addition being built with more rooms. There is also a small swimming pool to cool down in during the sweltering afternoon heat. I would highly recommend these accommodations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

What a paradaise in San Pedro , this house is great , 4 rooms , all of them have their own bathroom , clean , cozy , very comfortable house and still warm in night time ! since the minute my friend and I walk in the door , Nicolas welcome us with a big smile and a lot of great tours and recommendations for our first time in San Pedro , he gave us a map of San Pedro and wrote down some recommended activities to do , you really want to see everything , we were very exited . Thank to Nico we were able to do most of the beautiful tour in the area ( Grado 10 is the agency !!! ) Natalia is the manager and she is a pleasure to talk .
The house is very clean ! Nice kitchen and living room , in the second floor you can found a TV .
They just finish the pool ! I can not wait to come back , this is simple the best stay . Probably the only thing is the walk distance between the house and Caracoles the main street , is around 15 minutes and in night time is very dark so I recommend you to have a flash light with you , if you do not have one in the kitchen of the house you will found one !
Love love love this place . Thank you Natalia and Nico , see you soon , Andrea & Karen .

Room Tip: Ask everything to Nico , he knows a lot !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottitomiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viña del Mar, Valparaiso, Chile
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here two nights but we wish we could have stayed more! They offered transport from the agency we arrived at after traveling to Bolivia. Excellent staff, friendly and ready to help with anything and everything you need. The price seemed fair, the breakfast was good, the rooms were big but still warm and cozy at night. Great view from the balcony. Very clean, very well run. I just hope Natalia's cute little pup gets better (he was sick when we stayed there).

The only slightly negative is that it is a bit far from center (around 15 minute walk) and they could offer bikes to rent to help speed the process, but I feel like these are pretty nit-picky and there really isn't anything they can do about it. All in all, a definite recommend.

Room Tip: There was just one other group of 4 staying there when we stayed but it seemed like they put us on e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheChrisMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#9 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
783 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
706 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Don Tomas
La Casa de Don Tomas
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
736 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
#13 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: Antonio Leon s/n | Ayllu de Solcor, San Pedro de Atacama 1410000, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#8 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel Casa Solcor has two independent houses separated by the swimming pool and gardens. Both houses four rooms each with private bathroom. Living room , dining room and fully equipped kitchen are shared by our guests in a very cozy area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing