We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at Parina Atacama in November. The rooms were nice and well equipped and we thought it was reasonably priced compared to other similar places. I think this was because it wasn't as central as other places, however it was 10-15 minutes walk to the centre of San Pedro. There was some confusion about the front gate because the sign is outside one gate, but actually you have to press the bell on the other gate. I had to call the hotel and subject the lady at reception to some very bad Spanish, but we eventually figured it out. The lady we dealt with there (Soledad) was so helpful. She was really accommodating and even though the hotel does not do laundry, she was happy to oblige. Our Spanish isn't great and she didn't speak any English, however we managed. I'm not sure whether this is a general problem with San Pedro, but we didn't sleep well on some evenings because dogs were constantly barking - this isn't really the hotel's fault though. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay while exploring the local area. Note that I've rated the pool poor because it's really small and there isn't really a restaurant - we had breakfast brought to our room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tanya_withers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    82
    23
    2
    5
See reviews for
46
112
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We checked in late evening and there was no one at the reception to open the main door for us. We were waiting out and there were lots of stray dogs. the same incident happened the next day also, my husband was waiting out for quite a long time and our tour guide jumped over the main door and opened it for him. Rooms and big and maintained well. Staff was not friendly and they were busy talking over the phone. Stay wise we liked it but they need to improve on their staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Priyadarshini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leme, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The place is very comfortable, the employees are very gentle, breakfeast is served on the room, at arranged hours. The room is quite big; a two storey, with kitchen, bathroom and dining table on the first, and bedroom with tv and furniture for storage on the second. Everyting is clean as all appliances work well. Is is a very nice place to rest after long walks though the desert.
The only downside is that it takes an 8 - 10 min walk to get florm the hotel do the area of the city where the restaurants and travel agencies are.
They will give you a great discount for payments made in dollars, cash (but it is better that you confirm this before going).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elis_Portela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaucresson, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Everything is central in San Pedro ... if you don't consider having to walk a while in the dark in the dust which is everywhere there, normal that a desert. So Parina is not that central in these conditions.
Like most places here, it is all closed around, not an issue if you have enough space but that's not the case at all here. It is very very tiny.
After hours of car, it was not pleasant having to wait at the closed door for more than 15mn for our arrival ... Maybe because Booking.com seems never have sent my booking!

Rooms are cosy even the small one but hot water is a concern, not working very well. Some have a mezzanine, so means stairs.
It is apart hotel, i didn't use the kitchen but it is well equiped like all. I order only the breakfast which is ok and well presented.
As usual, people is very nice, particularly the reception with her so small little voice ;-)
Don't wait for any english word.
Be careful, the pool is a small cold bath behind the hotel door entrance. Wifi available, a beat weak. No parking.

The most bad part was the noise with dogs crying everywhere late in the evening and a so noisy fiesta with shouting TV that i stand up at night to the next room to ask for calm but it was at neighbours ...
If you add the missing outside space, it does not worth the price despite the good equipment.

Room Tip: The upper rooms are probably to prefer to minimize the 'shut up' feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolob2bFr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

They have only 6 apartments but very well kept. The kitchen located downstair has everything you need to prepare a quick meal. The upstair room we were in had a comfortable double bed plus a single bed with a rollaways one underneath. Soledad was aways very helpful and kind, preparing packed breakfast when we needed to leave early for the tours. 15 minutes from the main street but it was a pleasant walk. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Small, but plenty of character. Kitchen was a good size and fully functional. There are a couple of mini-markets/shops near by though their selection is quite limited.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, although they couldn't speak English we got by with our broken Spanish.

It's about 15 minutes from the town center, which isn't too bad unless it 2pm and the sun is out (the sun is always out here). Being slightly out of town is also a good thing, on moonless night you just need to walk another 15 minutes away from town and you can see every star in the sky! (You'll need a torch)

For the independence and the affordability (compared to some hotels in San Pedro) it's a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamescryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in Parina Atacama on feb/2011 for a week. The apartment was cozy and everything worked perfectly. The breakfast was simple but delicious and the staff, helpful.

Mind the stairs when you wake up and are feeling sleepy! ;-)

If we ever come back to the Atacama, we'll stay in Parina again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Don Tomas
La Casa de Don Tomas
#10 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Casa Solcor Boutique Bed & Break...
#6 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#4 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atacama Adventure Wellness & Ecolodge
Atacama Adventure Wellness & Eco...
#17 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#8 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Takha Takha Hotel
Takha Takha Hotel
#18 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parina Atacama Apart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parina Atacama Apart Hotel

Property: Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
Address: Pasaje Lasana 660 | Sector Punta de Diamante, San Pedro de Atacama 1410000, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parina Atacama Apart Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel, first class apart hotel in San Pedro de Atacama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Parina Atacama Apart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing