We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in San Pedro!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Raul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Don Raul Hotel
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel in San Pedro!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

A characterful hotel, in a good location near the bottom of the main street in San Pedro. We had a nice, clean and spacious room. The plentiful outdoor seating is excellent and breakfast had a very good variety. We stayed as part of a wider tour with Tucan Travel, so can't really comment on how good value it was in isolation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    118
    77
    30
    23
See reviews for
52
102
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of an Exodus Tour, hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were basic but ok for a short visit.

Breakfast was great and hotel was in a great location for getting in and out of San Pedro.

Wifi was really patchy and on some days didn't work at all but all in all a decent hotel for a base to explore the Atacama.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank HMKerrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

This is the only hotel that I stayed in in San Pedro so I cannot say where it ranks locally. What I can tell you is that after being in some pretty rubbish accommodation in Bolivia, it was a welcome place to relax for a few nights.
The good bits:
1) friendly staff
2) pretty good outside area with wicker sofas and chairs and hammocks
3) room was clean and comfortable (maybe I was lucky, but I found the bed to be very comfortable)
4) pretty good breakfast
5) very good wifi (I had room 26 and the router was right outside)
6) the location. Stone's throw from the main drag but far enough away not to be disturbed by it

The not so good
1) room 26 had good wifi but was right opposite the cleaners' room. The cleaners start their work early and are not very quiet!
2) the room is small. Ok if you're not spending much time in it but a bit of a cell if you are planning on hanging around
3) the car park is right next to a bunch of rooms and bus loads of people can arrive in the middle of the night.
4) I heard some people complaining that they felt the security to be poor to their bedrooms
5) the shower performance is intermittent. Sometimes hot, sometimes cold and sometimes warm and quite often all three in quick succession.
I'm pretty sure that there will better places to stay in San Pedro but equally, you could do a lot worse.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Perhaps my standards had been beaten down by too many marginal hotels in Bolivia and Peru, but I liked the Don Raul, where our 'adventure tour' group lodged for two nights. Comfy bed, OK (but very tight) bathroom, strong and reliable wi-fi signal, nice breakfast buffet. Rooms are arranged motel style around a dusty courtyard. Better lighting and a table in the rooms suitable for e-mail would be nice. Location's good, at one end of the San Pedro de Atacama main drag. $80/nite for double, a decent price for this resort town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nworbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place was a big, big disappointment. We stayed at Don Raul over New Years for a week. The photos on the Internet look nice but the real place is not very nice. The rooms are old and in poor condition. The paint is peeling off the walls and the single lightbulb in the room was dangling from the ceiling by a wire. There is no ventilation or air conditioning in the rooms, thus it was so hot at night that we could not sleep. During the day, it is so hot in the room that you have to go outside. The hot water worked sometimes and other times there was no hot water. Unfortunately, these rooms are expensive, not worth it. Overall, we were very unhappy with our stay at Don Raul.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Pedro de Atacama hotels

Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel is in a great location. Close to shops, bars, restaurants and tour operators. The bus station is about 5 mins by taxi. 10-15 walking with bags.

The rooms are small and basic, but perfect if you're out most of the day.

Comfortable single bed, TV, bed side light and table.

The bathroom had a good shower, constant hot water and plenty of towels.

Buffet breakfast was very good.

There are hammocks and chairs in the courtyard for guests to use. Wi Fi was available but only in the reception area.

The hotel made a good base to explore from and de Atacama is a great town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location and breakfast are excellent, the rooms are small, basic and clean. We stayed at a double room and the shower was tiny, the beds were not very comfortable. With that said, the staff was friendly and we truly enjoyed our stay.

If you are looking for location + relatively good prices + food, this is a good bet. If you are looking for a little comfort, I would go elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjc_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tambillo
Hotel Tambillo
#24 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#4 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
7.8 mi away
Takha Takha Hotel
Takha Takha Hotel
#18 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Atacama Adventure Wellness & Ecolodge
Atacama Adventure Wellness & Eco...
#17 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
Parina Atacama Apart Hotel
#13 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Corvatsch
Hostal Corvatsch
#23 of 27 in San Pedro de Atacama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Raul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Raul Hotel

Property: Don Raul Hotel
Address: Calle caracoles # 130 | Casilla # 14, San Pedro de Atacama 14400000, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Raul Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel located on Main Street in a special environment for relaxing excursions in the Atacama Desert. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Don Raul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Raul Hotel Atacama/San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing