We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this! The perfect lodging experience for a sublime destination.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2011

If you are looking for a World class hotel, Alto Atacama Hotel is the place for you. The nicest hotel and best ever experience.
Welcome: since the moment of your arrival at the airport (where they pick you up), until you leave, you always get the best and warmest welcome, assistance, friendliest staff. There are no impossibles for the staff, they help you in anything you might need.
Staff: The best and warmest crew, always willing to go the extra mile! Alvaro, Lucìa, Matilde, Carola, Carolina, Eladio, Javier, Luis, Joao, Alvaro, Pamela, Cristobal, Lucìa, Daniel, and everyone else, Warmes, fiendliest hosts and manager always eager to help and make you feel in heaven. Best expedition guides. Amazing and outstanding chef, nicest waiters.
Rooms and facilities: Beautiful, perfectly clean, outsftandingly comfortable and designed consiously with the sorroundings. From the materials which the Hotel is built with to the smallest details like the lights within all areas (dim lights so you can appreciate the stars). The architect and landscape artist have done a beautiful job! Amazing rooms, warm pools, beautiful terraces, dinning areas and common areas.
Tours: Well informed and always friendly and very well informed guides and drivers. Alto Atacama includes all Atacama tours! It is a delight.
Service: The best service you can get!
Food: Daniel, the Chef, is one of kind, delicious, healthy, beautiful plates. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, always a delight. Amazing cuisine.

In our opinion, it couldnt get any better than this. Best experience ever.
Thanks from the bottom of our grateful hearts!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVillarreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 762 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2011

Alto Atacama has a setting so amazing you almost can't believe they were allowed to build there....yet it is constructed with total respect for the environs. Serene, comfortable, pampering, as relaxing or active as you choose to be. Personable guides, amazing pool areas, and spacious, well appointed rooms. We were asked upon check in about any special dietary issues and they were totally adaptive to our vegetarian preferences. A fabulous horse excursion was cheerfully arranged at my request, even though it was not among the standard offerings. From reservation to check out a flawless experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanGlobalGallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just came back from a 4 night trip and wish I have stayed longer. Altought the hotel is not placed in the village of San Pedro, the location was perfect. There was a free transfer anytime we wanted, and also bikes were provided. The hotel sourrondings were something out of this world. The rooms were well decorated and the bathroom was beautifuly designed. The tour guides were awesome, specially Macarena who was so patient with us - we couldnt stop taking pictures as we were amazed with the Quebrada de Los Cardones Trakking. The food was great, however the service at the restaurants was a little slow sometimes. On the other hand, the waitress was always smiling and polite.

We felt very welcoming since the moment we arrived at the airport, from the moment we left. Everything was just perfect and I would definitely return to this hotel. No wonder Alto Atacama is considered the best of San Pedro. Its worth every penny you spend on it.

Thanks to all the staff, specially to Alvaro, the hotel manager, who always wanted to make sure we were having the best time. Indeed, we were.

Marcelo Alabarce

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malabarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We just spend 7 days at this hotel and came away very happy. The hotel offers a great location, wonderful service, an extremly friendly staff and management, excellent guided excersions and very good food. Given that this part of the Atacama has a lot of sights to see and activities to offer, we would advise to stay at least 3 nights, if you are up to one of the more challenging excursions stay longer to adjust to the altitude. My only suggested improvement would be to install some sort of humidifying equipment in the bed rooms, the air up there is very dry which makes it sometimes diffficult to sleep well (we sorted that out by leaving the bathroom sinks full of water and placing wet towels next to our beds).

We plan to return and also to try out the sister hotel on Easter Island.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikolausfranzjosef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

In one word: Fantastic!
This Hotel is outside San Pedro, wich is a plus because is setting in a beautiful site.
The rooms are simple yet elegant and the bathroom is awsome! with special light and amazing shower !!
The SPA is beautiful. The treatments are just fine. But people is extremelly well educated and try really hard to give you the best.
The excursions were , by far, the best part of everything! You won't be bored in Atacama! There are soooooo many incredible tours to do....We loved the trekkings to Cardones and Kari.
The views are incredible!
The Licancabur Vulcano is always there looking for you... wherever you go you can see it!
The Geysers tour and Altiandinas lagunas are not to be missed!!!
The only down is the restaurant that need to be improved but the staff had a good attitude trying to fix and attend all needs from our group.
Excelent holidays! Highly reccomended!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brazilian2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I was VERY happy with my choice having picked this place. The spa was a pleasant surprise. We had a world class doubles massage and I used the steam room and sauna daily without any other people around. That is what great about this place is that even though it might be full, people are all over the place doing their thing and it seems like you have the hotel to yourself. Tours A+, Food A+, Guides A+. DEFINATELY go here. Oh yeah...dont miss the sandboarding.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
Thank palmer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We spent three days in the Alto and to set things right in the beginning, we really had a great time!

Rooms are wonderfully designed and together with the audio system give you a distinct zen-like feeling which was great to relax. Everything was tidy and one thing to point out - it was so quiet in the hotel! Sitting outside on your veranda sipping on an icecold Coke and enjoying the tranquility of the place was just wonderful.

The rest of the hotel is also designed very nicely and fits perfectly into the surroundings. We enjoyed our "spare-time" between the numerous trips at one of the various nice and relatively private pools. As the hotel is not big, maybe some 20 rooms or so, you always feel you have enough space to disconnect, relax and be alone by yourself.

The Spa are is small, but ok, the massages they give ok, but not spectacular.

Another plus of the hotel are the excursions. Each guest gets a private excursion planner who discusses and designs the various trips according to each guests individual wishes. In our three days in the Alto, we could opt for 2 excursions particularly adapted to our wishes (a lot of hiking rather than sitting long hours in the busses...) which was very nice.
The guides were always very nice, helpful and skilled. We learned a lot about the flora and fauna of the Atacama region. The vans are of very good quality and they bring enough food and drink so you can really enjoy your time without worrying about anything. Having ice-cooled drinks after a 6 hour hike was just the extra bit of service we appreciated very much.

Speaking of the service in the hotel, there are definitely things to be improved. As the hotel is very young and the staff comes from the region, do not expect superbe international service standard.
In general, the service personnel was very friendly. Still, a lot of times, we had to ask twice or three times to get what we wanted (e.g. drinks at the dinner table). Empty plates were not taken from the table, etc..
Service at the pool area was quiet poor. It took them ages (45 mins on average) to bring you a sandwich or alcoholic drinks to the pool. They don't have cocktails at the pool bar which makes them order and bring everything from the main house.

Food in general was ok, but not spectacular. For the money you spend on the all-inclusive package, we expected finer food, more variety and not only one of two available average three-course-menus.

All in all, the hotel and room design is top, excursion were great, but due to the lack of excellent service and food, we rank it only with 4 stars. As usually in Chile, you pay more than what you get in return, but definetly one of the best options available in the region.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steinbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro de Atacama hotels
2.4 mi away
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
Tierra Atacama Hotel & Spa
#3 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
790 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
Hotel Noi Casa Atacama
#6 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
572 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Atacama
Hotel Cumbres San Pedro de Ataca...
#10 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateaux
Awasi Atacama - Relais & Chateau...
#1 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lodge Andino Terrantai
Lodge Andino Terrantai
#5 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
725 reviews
1.3 mi away
Altiplanico Atacama
Altiplanico Atacama
#8 of 28 in San Pedro de Atacama
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa

Address: Camino Pukara s/n | Ayllu de Quitor, San Pedro de Atacama, Chile
Location: Chile > Antofagasta Region > San Pedro de Atacama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#1 Family Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#3 Spa Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro de Atacama
Price Range: $1,159 - $1,529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alto Atacama is located in the fertile Catarpe valley, just 3 kilometers away from the San Pedro plaza. Our total area is 3.5 hectares, with a park area of 2 hectares. The Hotel has 42 spacious rooms and state of the art facilities including an award-winning spa, business center, hot tub, wooden decks with 6 swimming pools and we offer more than 25 excursions to get a closer look at the Atacama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Atacama Hotel
Alto Atacama Desert Lodge & Spa San Pedro De Atacama, Chile

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing