We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of La Casona

La Casona
Cuisines: South American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our experience at La Casona on the first night we arrived in San Pedro was so good that we made it a point to go back again on our last night there. The first night we sat outside by the outdoor fire and the last night we opted for indoor seating by the indoor fireplace. The service was quick both times, and, the waitresses were friendly. We had the cerviche, as one dish, both nights because it was so delicious. We also had a dish with lengua and some type of potato. It was wonderful. The drinks were good and the atmosphere was fun. A local band played for tips for awhile and all the patrons seemed (us included) enjoyed the music.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jiffydog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    459
    182
    53
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Drank, didn't eat.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

While not experiencing the food at this place, the drinks were great. The bartender makes a great terremotto and the perbre is delicious. Chilean restaurant laws are strange so you have to order food in order to be served alcohol, so we got a cheese and olive plate. Obviously extremely basic, but still delicious. Atmosphere is very cool and eclectic while staying casual.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Celizcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good meat and wine”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Went for dinner with my wife and we had a seat on the outside area right beside the fireplace. Service was quick, there was an extensive wine list, but, for me, there was lack of options of meat, fish and parrilla. Side dishes were in general made of potato, which is not very creative, but extremely usual in San pedro and Chile. Me and my wife's meat were very tasty and soft, and the wine was excelent. Like everything else in San Pedro, prices are high. Overall, It was a good night out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very nice food but the service was too slow”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went in a saturday night (oct 20th). There were 6 of us and they waited 20 min in taking our order. Then it took another 30 minutes to get our dishes, that were VERY good btw. Our waitress was slow but nice. Is a nice place but not that "cool"...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Franchusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommend for good Chilean food!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Excellent Chilean authentic food! Very nice and attentive staff. Beautiful restaurant, decorated with a great taste and warmth. You can sit outside or inside - in both cases with a fireplace at night. Very romantic.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DomTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casona also viewed

San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
San Pedro de Atacama, Antofagasta Region
 

Been to La Casona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing