We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, comfortable rooms, wonderful place to stay”
Review of Refugio Lo Valdes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Jose de Maipo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Refugio Lo Valdes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

During a three week trip through Chile and Argentina, this was our favorite place to stay. We stayed two nights in a bedroom with an amazing view of the mountains. The refugio is spectacularly located near wonderful hikes and not far from the rustic and unique thermal springs in Banos Colina. Andrew, the host, offered great advice on where to hike or go exploring. We understand that they get very busy in the high season, but they had plenty of room when we were there in October. The restaurant has delicious dinners - hearty meat and lots of fresh vegetables. They also have a great wine list. The lodge is built of stone and wood with a friendly fireplace in the main room. This is not a luxury hotel experience, but if you like rustic, cozy, beautiful mountain accomodations, the refugio is an amazing find. I can't think of a more pleasant way to spend an evening after a good hike than sitting under the flowering trees in the refugio's yard, reading a book and watching the sun go down over the Andes.

The refugio is located near Banos Morales, on the Cajon del Maipo road. You'll need a rental car to get there - we did not have 4 wheel drive, but it would have been helpful. It's a beautiful drive from Santiago (about 2.5 hours).

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wall-king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Refugio Lo Valdes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 35 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: buscar otra opción de alojamiento
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GonzaloZeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Magdalena d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank claussixt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Frédéric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
2  Thank Pablo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Jose de Maipo
3.1 mi away
Hotel Qamaqi
Hotel Qamaqi
#1 of 2 in San Jose de Maipo
190 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hostal Chikiyan
Hostal Chikiyan
#1 of 23 in San Jose de Maipo
50 reviews
20.7 mi away
Lodge El Morado
Lodge El Morado
#4 of 23 in San Jose de Maipo
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Refugio El Morado
Refugio El Morado
#15 of 23 in San Jose de Maipo
3 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cascada de las Animas
Cascada de las Animas
#1 of 1 in San Alfonso
649 reviews
3.6 mi away
Haiku Cabanas Panoramicas
Haiku Cabanas Panoramicas
#2 of 23 in San Jose de Maipo
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Lo Valdes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Lo Valdes

Address: off the Cajon Del Maipo Road just past Banos Morales, San Jose de Maipo, Chile
Location: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > San Jose de Maipo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Specialty Lodging in San Jose de Maipo
Price Range: $22 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Refugio Lo Valdes Chile/San Jose De Maipo, O'Higgins Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing