We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect service, perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal El Punto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Punto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect service, perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Clean room and bathroom, perfect location at a quiet street about 10 minutes from the city centre. Good value, too, for the stay and the cafeteria food. And most of all, it's an absolutely beautiful place and had the kindest service that makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirtyfootsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    128
    28
    7
    12
See reviews for
67
199
84
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We don´t usually write reviews, but in this case feel compelled to do so. After exchanging 4 emails with Hostal el Punto staff (3 different people), and having our reservation confirmed on multiple occasions, we did a 16-hour bus journey from San Pedro de Atacama to La Serena. Arriving at Hostal el Punto at 7am, we were greeted by an obnoxious receptionist who clearly had some kind of mental dysfunction. She eventually realised that the hostel had given our room to someone else and there were no others available. Then she giggled and basically said "oops, sorry!". After a 16-hour bus journey, you could say that we had a sense-of-humour failure, but this was the worst customer service in a hostel we have ever experienced. The staff´s completely flippant and unhelpful attitude was frankly appalling. Despite a pretty good review in Lonely Planet, do yourself a favour and avoid this place and its staff of incompetent fools.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob1979215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELPUNTO, Geschäftsführer at Hostal El Punto, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Bob,

We really regret that you have not responded to our message. Therefore we could not follow your reservation and the circumstances that you have encountered on your day of arrival.

Only in exceptional cases errors in the booking process appear. Even if this is the case we try -concerning to our company policy- our best to offer our guest an adequate alternative. Since several hostals are located on the same street, we immediately contact them in cases like this to ensure that the guest will find another place to sleep.

With regard to the comments about our staff, I feel the comment is clearly unacceptable and inappropriate. Let me please tell you that constructive criticism is always welcome but as I read your comment, I have to ask myself if this criticism is authentic.

I am looking forward to your message and leave you with kind regards

Beatrice Theel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in the suite room at Hostel el Punto. Best room we stayed in during our entire trip. Roomy, clean, private. Better than a room in many area hotels. The suite is located on the second floor with its own covered porch. Didn't want to leave. If you can snag a reservation for this room, grab it. Just terrific. You will not believe you are in a hostel in this room. And the reception staff that we met - Daniel, in particular - were great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dk424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ubud
Level Contributor
156 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very friendly and welcoming reception, five minutes walk from the bus terminal. Had a double room with private bathroom and tv, clean and comfortable with hot shower too. Basic breakfast included and you can pay extra for eggs etc...heaters available for hire for chilly nights. Close to mall,supermarkets and main square, overall a really good choice to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
199 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights in March 2012. We paid 16,000 Chilean Pesos for a twin bunk room (all they had available), with shared bathroom.

Our room was small but comfortable and cosy all the same. It was clean and the bathrooms were clean too. There is no communal kitchen, which is a bit of a shame.

The free wi-fi usually had a strong signal. The breakfast was good, although we are ashamed to say, we don't speak very good Spanish (not for want of trying) so found it hard to understand what the ladies were saying at breakfast, as they spoke quickly... not their fault at all, we should learn more Spanish!

The guys on reception spoke fluent English and were very helpful, although they did inform us incorrectly where our bus departed from....It seemed it was a different terminal than the main one, but it turns out it wasn't.... so we walked for a long time, with all our luggage looking for a bus terminal which didn't exist.

The location of the hostel is great, although we found there wasn't an awful lot to do in La Serena itself. Finding a decent and reasonably priced restaurant was difficult.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed there 3 nights, overall I was satisfied : clean hostal, enough bathrooms, the dorm I was in was big enough to have 4 people sleeping correctly, staff is polite and happy to help.
BUT :
- it's really a family hotel, so there was a lot of kids when I was there (well, not the hostel' fault I guess)
- breakfast is average, I don't get the good reviews about it. You have to pay more if you want real coffee instead of instant nescafé and the service - even though the ladies are doing their best - can be a bit slow when there is a lot of people in the room. That would be way more efficient with a buffet without costing much more.
- one of the bathroom stinks really a lot, I think it's due to the urinal because the other bathroom where there is only a toilet is ok. I don't see the point of having an urinal when there is already a toilet in the room...
- no kitchen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gawelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELPUNTO, Geschäftsführer at Hostal El Punto, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your good comments but I would also like to mention some points:

We are happy to welcome travelers from all over the world as well as Chilean families.

Concerning our breakfast and the service we offer I would like to mention that we offer additional fresh food and drinks to guarantee our guests a great start of the day. I'm sorry if you had to wait a bit longer but everything needs their time to prepare.

Regarding the smell in one of the bathrooms it is always the better choice to inform one of our staff members immediately because they can fix the problem within minutes.

Nevertheless I hope you had a nice stay in La Serena and we are happy to welcome you again someday.

Saludos desde Serena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Good breakfast, super clean, good service and not far from bus station and shopping mall. Overall very good but have to pay extra for heating. Private double rooms and private bathrooms are much better than shared bathroom bedrooms. Shame about the brown stained pillows so bring your own. Fab stay otherwise. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilyabbeysalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Serena hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotelera Vegasur
Hotelera Vegasur
#1 of 24 in La Serena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal El Arbol
Hostal El Arbol
#2 of 75 in La Serena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Open Hostel
Open Hostel
#13 of 75 in La Serena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aji Verde Hostel
Aji Verde Hostel
#18 of 75 in La Serena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Cosmo Elqui Stage
Hostel Cosmo Elqui Stage
#4 of 75 in La Serena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hostal El Arbol Beach
Hostal El Arbol Beach
#12 of 75 in La Serena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Punto

Property: Hostal El Punto
Address: Andres Bello 979, La Serena, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Coquimbo Region > La Serena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Specialty Lodging in La Serena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Punto Hotel La Serena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing