We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of Hostal El Punto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Punto
Certificate of Excellence
ubud
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very friendly and welcoming reception, five minutes walk from the bus terminal. Had a double room with private bathroom and tv, clean and comfortable with hot shower too. Basic breakfast included and you can pay extra for eggs etc...heaters available for hire for chilly nights. Close to mall,supermarkets and main square, overall a really good choice to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    128
    29
    8
    12
See reviews for
69
206
85
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights in March 2012. We paid 16,000 Chilean Pesos for a twin bunk room (all they had available), with shared bathroom.

Our room was small but comfortable and cosy all the same. It was clean and the bathrooms were clean too. There is no communal kitchen, which is a bit of a shame.

The free wi-fi usually had a strong signal. The breakfast was good, although we are ashamed to say, we don't speak very good Spanish (not for want of trying) so found it hard to understand what the ladies were saying at breakfast, as they spoke quickly... not their fault at all, we should learn more Spanish!

The guys on reception spoke fluent English and were very helpful, although they did inform us incorrectly where our bus departed from....It seemed it was a different terminal than the main one, but it turns out it wasn't.... so we walked for a long time, with all our luggage looking for a bus terminal which didn't exist.

The location of the hostel is great, although we found there wasn't an awful lot to do in La Serena itself. Finding a decent and reasonably priced restaurant was difficult.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed there 3 nights, overall I was satisfied : clean hostal, enough bathrooms, the dorm I was in was big enough to have 4 people sleeping correctly, staff is polite and happy to help.
BUT :
- it's really a family hotel, so there was a lot of kids when I was there (well, not the hostel' fault I guess)
- breakfast is average, I don't get the good reviews about it. You have to pay more if you want real coffee instead of instant nescafé and the service - even though the ladies are doing their best - can be a bit slow when there is a lot of people in the room. That would be way more efficient with a buffet without costing much more.
- one of the bathroom stinks really a lot, I think it's due to the urinal because the other bathroom where there is only a toilet is ok. I don't see the point of having an urinal when there is already a toilet in the room...
- no kitchen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gawelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELPUNTO, Geschäftsführer at Hostal El Punto, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your good comments but I would also like to mention some points:

We are happy to welcome travelers from all over the world as well as Chilean families.

Concerning our breakfast and the service we offer I would like to mention that we offer additional fresh food and drinks to guarantee our guests a great start of the day. I'm sorry if you had to wait a bit longer but everything needs their time to prepare.

Regarding the smell in one of the bathrooms it is always the better choice to inform one of our staff members immediately because they can fix the problem within minutes.

Nevertheless I hope you had a nice stay in La Serena and we are happy to welcome you again someday.

Saludos desde Serena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Good breakfast, super clean, good service and not far from bus station and shopping mall. Overall very good but have to pay extra for heating. Private double rooms and private bathrooms are much better than shared bathroom bedrooms. Shame about the brown stained pillows so bring your own. Fab stay otherwise. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilyabbeysalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sucre, Bolivia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We had a wonderfull stay at this hostal. It's located in walking distance from the busstation and 5 min walking from the centre. We stayed in a double room. Good bed, enough space for bags and luggage. Communal showers and toilets are cleaned daily. We allways had hot water. Free breakfast is plentyfull and good (bread, ham, cheese, butter, jam, tea or coffee). Staff is very helpfull and correct.
There is a shared fridge to put some stuff in, but no other kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

A really nice place to relax and spend a few nights. The communal areas are nicely designed and good for hanging out. It is slightly pricey and some doubles are cramped, but generally good and clean. You have to pay for all extras like towels and some got charged for bag storage. The staff were helpful in sharing travel tips. There is a kitchen where you can buy things, yet no communal kitchen for guests apart from a kettle and mini fridge. Two bathrooms in the hostel, not always clean, but ok. The better option for this town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

A really nice hostel in La Serena and the breakfast was very good too. We stayed in a dorm, 4 beds, only 1 bunkbed and the beds were very comfortable. They have a range of food and drinks on offer there too so you really don´t ever have to leave. The one downfall (for some people) was lack of kitchen facilities, if you want to cook yourself.(menus are in Spannish and German) The area itself is like stepping into heaven off the street, the courtyard, garden is beautiful and it is so serene you could sit there all day. Really colourful too. The internet is also free but wifi connection is a bit slow. They are great to help at reception with tours, be careful of the free map, it is NOT done to scale!! Also the tours could work out cheaper if you get a bus/taxi to the places.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly_Mackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Serena hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotelera Vegasur
Hotelera Vegasur
#1 of 24 in La Serena
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Serena Suite Park Hotel
Serena Suite Park Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Serena
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primera Hacienda Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal El Arbol
Hostal El Arbol
#2 of 78 in La Serena
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Cosmo Elqui Stage
Hostel Cosmo Elqui Stage
#5 of 78 in La Serena
85 reviews
1.9 mi away
MarSerena Hotel y Cabanas
MarSerena Hotel y Cabanas
#3 of 78 in La Serena
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Punto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Punto

Property: Hostal El Punto
Address: Andres Bello 979, La Serena, Chile
Phone Number:
Location: Chile > Coquimbo Region > La Serena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 Specialty Lodging in La Serena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal El Punto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Punto Hotel La Serena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing