We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice, but getting a bit old” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Costa Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Costa Real
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in La Serena
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice, but getting a bit old”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is one of the best in La Serena... but since it's opening in the early 90's, I do not think it has been remodeled and it is starting to show. Now with that said, my room was very specious and the bed was very comfortable.

I was disappointed that the room's radiators did not work and it was a bit cold in the room at night.

The restaurant downstairs serves a free breakfast, which was great. I also had dinner there, and although a bit pricey at $16.000 pesos ($33) for my meal, it was very good... it did not include a salad.... just the entre (Tilapia) and a dessert.

The downtown area is very close and very clean.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside of the hotel are much quieter than the ones near the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    76
    43
    10
    3
See reviews for
24
38
7
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

La Serena is a beach city, but if you are brazilian certainly it won't be a beach you would you like to spend your vacations. But is a good city to stay one night if you are going to Atacama's desert comming from Santiago. You should consider make your pit stop here at Hotel Costa Real, because most part of the hotels in front of the sea is full all over the year. So Costa Real is a good choice, clean, good looking, good room service, is a executive hotel but have a fair price. A very good option to travelers.

Room Tip: If possible, choose bedrooms which windows are located to the other street beside the hotel, they sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneLouise_Marcelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I come to La Serena about 2 or 3 times per year. This is my first time at Costa Real, I was pleasantly surprised. Nice pool area outside, secure underground parking, 10 minute walk to both malls and many restaurants. Rooms are spaceous and clean. The WiFi worked great 2 of 3 days but always worked from the lobby. Good LCD tv. I'll definately stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gadzuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here in November 2011. It took the staff a while to get us into our room, which was average by all acounts - medium-sized, not particularly enticing as far as furniture etc. go, but clean and decently comfortable still.

The hotel is well located to explore La Serena - the city's central square is within walking distance, as are some restaurants and bars. Going to the beach is roughly a 20 minute walk along a busy road, which however has a pedestrian strip in the middle (which is quite heaviliy used by the locals), so not all too much of a hassle.

Overall, nothing special but might be worth a look if you have a night to spend in La Serena before heading on elsewhere (as we did).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kloddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at the Costa Real. The staff were very helpful in all areas. Our room was facing the street but we didn't find this a problem - mainly because we are accustom to traffic noise!! The restaurant was lovely and breakfast was ok. For us Aussies we do like better cereals than are on offer in Chilean hotels but the fruit, juices etc were fine. We intend to return to La Serena, in the future, and will definitely stay at the Costa Real as it is excellent value for money. Of course, like many travellers, we would like tea and coffee making facilities in our hotel rooms, but there was always free fresh coffee available downstairs outside the bar area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asmalltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2011

The hotel was immaculate. Rooms may be a little tired by US standards but still acceptable. We had a king bed, and all rooms have a modern flat-panel TV. No in-room coffee, no clock radio. They did have a mini fridge (mini bar). I needed to have a shirt ironed. Although they do not have irons/ironing boards, I was able to give my shirt to the maid and got it returned ironed within an hour!

Complementary breakfast buffet includes scrambled eggs & cheese, breads, fruit, coffee/tea, juice, ham, cheeses, yogurt, cereals, and cakes. Lunch and dinner is more formal, with tables impeccably set. Lunch and dinner food was carefully prepared and served, and was delicious. This was especially appreciated since there was not any fine dining within a short walking distance.

The pool area was nice, although we did not use it. The hotel also has a full bar. You get a complementary Pisco Sour upon arrival (or I guess you can have it later).

February is supposed to be the high season in La Serena, with rooms difficult to book. We booked this several months in advance and expected the hotel to be fully booked when we arrived. Instead we saw lots of vacant rooms (you can tell the vacant rooms because they leave the doors open). Rates were quoted in dollars ($160/night) and surprisingly, they charged us in dollars on our credit card. This eliminates the up-charge you would have to pay if charged in a foreign currency. Not everyone on staff speaks English but they were always able to find someone on staff who spoke enough English (some of the staff spoke excellent English) to fully communicate with.

The city gets noisy at night - not the hotel's fault. Although I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted to be in that location, I was not crazy about the location. You can take a moderately long walk to the downtown shopping district but that's about it. I think the next time I will stay on or near the beach.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advisor256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Engand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

I was not impressed by my latest stay at the Costa Real (last time was 6 years ago). Despite asking for a quiet room I was put in a very noisy one overlooking the main road junction at the front of the hotel. Closing the window reduced the noise slightly but makes for a very stuffy atmosphere in the height of summer. No A/C available.

Room was tired - looks dated with cracked washbasin in the (small) bathroom.

Breakfast buffet was poor . No fresh fruit juices; bread was just about stale and they provide a miniature bowl and plate to reduce your portion size. I was invited to add a tip to the bill when no service whatsoever had been provided (buffet self-service).

Could only get a connection to the advertised WiFi service by sitting in the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brightontraveller-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Serena hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Serena hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Diego de Almagro
Hotel Diego de Almagro
#6 of 24 in La Serena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Serena Suite Park Hotel
Serena Suite Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in La Serena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotelera Vegasur
Hotelera Vegasur
#1 of 24 in La Serena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel y Cabanas Mar De Ensueno
0.2 mi away
Francisco de Aguirre Hotel
Francisco de Aguirre Hotel
#23 of 24 in La Serena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Club La Serena
Hotel Club La Serena
#4 of 24 in La Serena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Real

Property: Costa Real
Address: Avda. Franciso de Aguirre 170, La Serena, Chile
Location: Chile > Coquimbo Region > La Serena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in La Serena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Real 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Costa Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Real La Serena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing