We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay”
Review of Hostal El Arbol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal El Arbol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hostel is a very pleasant place to stay. The staff is helpfull. The place is clean. You can cook. You can make a barbucue. The hostel is well located. The commom area is very pleasant. Worth staying there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monicafrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Hostal El Arbol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 189 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

Rarely have I stayed in a hostel where every single member of staff is exceptionally polite and friendly, but those in El Árbol were exactly that. Very welcoming and informative. The hostel itself is located less than 5 minutes from the very centre of La Serena, and the building is quaint and clean. Breakfast is the usual, basic cereal, bread, conserve, ham and cheese affair but is very nice. Wifi available. Would highly recommend as the only place to stay in La Serena.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyJamesH92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I loved (LOVED) this hostel. The woman who runs it (I think there are two but I was only there for two nights so I interacted only with Susana) is simply wonderful. So helpful, so kind. She helped me right away book tours the morning I got in, was extremely communicative when a tour had to be canceled or changed, and gave me great advice about how to get to Pisco Elqui (and to skip Vicuna, which was spot on). Also, the woman who cooks breakfast and cleans (I think her name was Juanita but I could be totally wrong) was so lovely. She was almost like a loving aunt. She took such good care of me- I really wanted to stay longer.

Also, the beds are like sleeping on clouds. Seriously. Best sleep of my travels. The kitchen is small but very clean, and really nice to cook in. And there´s a patio area outside that´s actually well maintained and really lovely (unlike most hostels where they´re small and grungy) so other guests and I could eat out there after cooking.

Would highly recommend! I am a solo traveler and I met people at the hostel and had a great time. This is not a party hostel though, so if that´s your thing this isn´t the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank labewo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights, and really enjoyed it. It feels like someone's house, everyone is really friendly. We had a double room with shared bathroom, which was all very clean. The kitchen is small but functional, but the dining area is great with a large table for everyone to sit and eat breakfast and dinner together.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rovingbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while in La Serena and didn't want to leave. It has a very homely, warm feel and, if staying in a double room, its just like staying at your Aunts house. We stayed two night in a double room, then moved to the dorms when a double room wasn't available. Dorms were also fine, clean and quiet, the bathroom upstairs was nicer though. There were mainly couples here, we found it great to meet others as you will all sit together for breakfast (served between 8 and 10, so depending what time you come down at) Breakfast was good, not amazing though, fresh juice, sometimes eggs or ham and cheese with bread, jam and butter. Plus tea and coffee. The staff are lovely, the manager speaks english so if there even a problem with someone else understanding you, they can easily call her, we got by booking extra night etc. on our 'poco' spanish though.

Room Tip: Don't make our mistake and book day by day if you want a double, they are very popular
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat__8353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hostel was fantastic, I highly recommend it to anyone. The staff are amazing and very accommodating. There is a little old lady who is so sweet and cute and she will do anything for you. The people I met were all really friendly and about 90% of them spoke english. The place is very nice and clean, beds are very comfortable and breakfast was really good. It is not far to walk to the attractions, beach and shopping centers or the bus terminal. This is by far the best hostel in Chile that I have stayed in so far.

Room Tip: 4 bed dorms are a good option and not to small
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenWha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This hostel might be the cleanest one is Chile. The staff was nice very helpful. The bathrooms and showers were great. It feels line your staying at someone's house not a hostel.
The breakfast is basic but serves to you in a way that makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UtawWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Serena hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotelera Vegasur
Hotelera Vegasur
#1 of 24 in La Serena
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Cosmo Elqui Stage
Hostel Cosmo Elqui Stage
#4 of 81 in La Serena
85 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal El Punto
Hostal El Punto
#1 of 81 in La Serena
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aji Verde Hostel
Aji Verde Hostel
#17 of 81 in La Serena
96 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cabanas Florencia
Cabanas Florencia
#6 of 81 in La Serena
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Open Hostel
Open Hostel
#16 of 81 in La Serena
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Arbol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Arbol

Address: Edwardo de La Bara 29, La Serena, Chile
Location: Chile > Coquimbo Region > La Serena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 81 Specialty Lodging in La Serena
Price Range: $15 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal El Arbol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing