We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANTASTIC Hostel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal El Arbol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal El Arbol
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“FANTASTIC Hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Definitely one of the best hostels I've stayed in. Incredibly clean and well kept. Lovely little housekeeping lady who makes breakfast (which was great) and runs around cleaning all day. She even made my bed for me each morning! The 2 ladies who run it are sooooo helpful and genuinely lovely people. Also, it's in a great location, close to the centre and also close to possibly the worlds largest supermarket.

I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. But... If you are looking for a party hostel it's probably not for you.

Highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARossNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    51
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
55
54
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I just got back from a weekend in La Serena and couldn't imagine a better hostel to stay in. Dormitories were basically $20 a night and were very clean. Even the bathroom! Breakfast was included and was incredible. Each person had toast, cereal, coffee, tea, fresh juices (we had melon, strawberry, and pineapple) ham & cheese or eggs. The staff were so warm and friendly and made the whole experience wonderful. One helpful lady even got us a discount on our Elqui Valley tour. Highly highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phgs_1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We loved this hostel - it's in a really good location about five minutes walk to the centre. The rooms are very clean and the management is very helpful and friendly. The kitchen is quite small so only really room for one cook at a time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hostal El Arbol is a lovely, friendly hostel close to La Serena city centre. I spend two nights there and really enjoyed the warm and friendly stay. The best was yet to come though... If you stay there in summer, there's the opportunity to stay at a second hostal they have close to the beach. I spend a week there, was made so welcome I felt if I was part of the family. Located perfectly between La Serena Mall Plaza (including the most amazing Jumbo supermarket) and the beach (both just a 5 min walk) not too far away from town (15min), even shorter if you take the bus! I had an amazing stay at the end of summer, enjoying it with the whole family. They really made me feel like I was one of them. If you have the chance, this is a MUST!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a bed in the cabana!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely little hostel, would def recommend staying here. we stayed in the main house in a private double room. the room was really clean, and looked like a hotel room. the shared bathroom was also really clean. the atmosphere of the hostel was really friendly and it was easy to meet people as u all have breakfast together. the breakfast was delicious - fresh juice, tea, coffee, cheese, ham, bread and cereal.
Location was also good- really pleased we stayed here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peggaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is one of the nicest hostels we have stayed in. it is in a lovely quiet area of La Serena, yet close to everything. When we arrived, tired and hungry after a long bus journey, we were made feel very welcome and they directed us to a lovely restaurant nearby - Ayawasi, which was fantastic just what we needed. We had a double room upstairs with shared bathroom, you share with the other 2 double rooms, which is fine. What really impressed me was the hostel was spotless, very well maintained, beautiful garden and there is a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We were able to sit and chat with fellow travellers. The staff were so helpful and booked a trip for us to Isla Damas, which was a great day. Would not hestitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have been lucky to experience different hostels around the world. I have stayed at different hostels in Europe, Asia and South America....but nothing feels like Hostal el Arbol.

We arrived to la Serena from Pisco a late afternoon without any reservation. We were tired and dirty after sleeping on a tent for days. Isabel (the owner) took care of us immediately. Such a sweet lady.

The place is cozy and clean...VERY CLEAN! Sheets smell like lavender. Bathrooms are shinny. Perfect!

Isabel and her daughter (alejandra) are originally from la serena...so they can give you great advice for restaurants, bars and nightlife.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Serena hotels
1.1 mi away
Serena Suite Park Hotel
Serena Suite Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in La Serena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotelera Vegasur
Hotelera Vegasur
#1 of 24 in La Serena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aji Verde Hostel
Aji Verde Hostel
#20 of 74 in La Serena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Open Hostel
Open Hostel
#14 of 74 in La Serena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bleu Blanc - Hotel Boutique
Bleu Blanc - Hotel Boutique
#9 of 37 in La Serena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Cosmo Elqui Stage
Hostel Cosmo Elqui Stage
#4 of 74 in La Serena
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal El Arbol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Arbol

Property: Hostal El Arbol
Address: Edwardo de La Bara 29, La Serena, Chile
Location: Chile > Coquimbo Region > La Serena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 Specialty Lodging in La Serena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal El Arbol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing