We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our best experience in our 2 weeks in Chile!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mundo Caballo

Mundo Caballo
Ranked #9 of 60 things to do in La Serena
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: By four generations we have lived and worked together with our horses. Come to live an experience riding or participate in traditional activities and enjoy the countryside in the Valle del Elqui, in day and night. Join us as we visited those from countries around the world and cities of Chile.WELCOME!
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our best experience in our 2 weeks in Chile!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Dear everyone.

If you are coming to La Serena or Elqui Valley....please do yourself a favor and take on a horseback riding tour with Mundo Caballo. I can't image that you will be anything else than satisfied, happy, smiling and one true memory richer.

The communication with Marcelo before our trip has been flawless and we created our own day with 2 hour riding tour, dinner and a 2 hour riding tour at night. It is seldom I smile, when I hurt....but after 5 hours of riding, we got quite busted....but it just reminded us of a perfect tour.

Marcelo, his father, and his sister are very friendly. All horses looked taken good care off.

Thank you Marcelo for giving us the best experience in our two weeks in Chile.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndersTheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    7
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Pure Magic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

It is difficult to put into words how beautiful this journey truly was. Healthy, well mannered horses carried us through darkness and quiet, in warm Andean air, through fields of cactus, up hills and over rocky terrain to witness the breathtaking views. With stars and moonlight to navigate by, our expert guide, Marcelo, created a safe and professional environment in which to fully relax and appreciate this magical valley. A must-experience-it-for-yourself journey, not to miss.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank kLou_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We did the "through the valleys" horse ride with Marcelo. It was lovely scenery through the Elqui Valley, among the grape vines and cactuses, and it finished after dark so he pointed out loads of constellations. The best part was that this wasn't one of those rides where your horse just plods along behind the one in front and you have no control - we got to gallop, and actually be in charge of the horse and go where we wanted. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ToniH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Once in a life time experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was an incredible experience and one I'd highly recommend to anyone! Horse riding through the mountains in the complete darkness is amazing enough, but on top of that you have the most spectacular view of the milky way above... and its just you, your sturdy horse, Marcelo and his horse, and the wonderful enormous universe about you! You will never get to do anything like this again in your life, the combination of the landscape, the sparkling night sky, your adrenaline at being on horse back in the dark climbing up and up, and a wonderful guide, make this an opportunity not to be missed! Just DO IT!! :-) Marcelo will also pick you up from La Serena if you need it, as well as take photos for you! A wonderful natural unique experience. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I spent two days at Mundo Caballo in late December and had a wonderful experience. As described by the other reviews it really is a great place and I highly recommend it. Marcelo is an expert and could not have been nicer. The horses are beautiful and well cared for and Marcelo makes sure you are learning about riding while you are there. This does not feel like a touristy operation but somewhere where the horses and the farm are the priority. I went on the moon light ride on the first day which was incredible and the next day I took a ride through the vineyards and learnt to gallop (a little).

It is also possible to stay at the house of Marcelo's sister Mariangela who runs a B&B on the farm. She is very kind and her house is beautiful and comfortable. It would be great for a couple to go and have a really chilled out few days. I was a lone and also very happy. You can easily jump on the bus to the Elqui Valley and back to La Serena to visit some of the other sights using Mariangela's place as a base. http://valledeelquibedandbreaksfast.blogspot.com/2012/12/valle-de-elqui-bed-and-breakfast.html#!/2012/12/valle-de-elqui-bed-and-breakfast.html

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaroWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mundo Caballo also viewed

La Serena, Coquimbo Region
La Serena, Coquimbo Region
 
La Serena, Coquimbo Region
La Serena, Coquimbo Region
 

Been to Mundo Caballo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing