We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with cabin style rooms.”
Review of Hotel Serena Dream

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Serena Dream
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Serena
Zuid Holland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with cabin style rooms.”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It is situated at a 10 min walk from the beach so it has no sea view. It's a 2 story building with 24 apartments, located around the 3 swimming pools. The surroundings are not quite completely developed yet (the hotel lies on a dirt road), but once inside the hotel it looks very nice. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Apartments are spacious and have a full kitchen. There is no restaurant so they bring breakfast to your apartment. While we were there in autumn, the water of the swimming pools was too cold to swim in, on the other hand there were relatively few guests so it was really nice and quiet. We imagine this to be an excellent place for families with children in the summer time.

Room Tip: One row of apartments (closest to the sea side) have sunshine in the morning and in the evening; the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MontrealCanada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel. The hotel is very clean they bring your breakfast at your door in the morning. Owners and staff are very nice. Nice pool and very quiet. The only down side it is far from the city a good 30 minutes by walking. But only a 10 minutes walk from the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MmeRobillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Stayed at this apartment hotel for one night only. Situated two blocks from the seafront and a 5 minute taxi ride from the city centre, its location can only be described as being in an area of wasteland. That said, the hotel itself is very pleasant: consisting of 24 self-catering apartments around a lovely pool and spa complex with plenty of sunbeds. The accommodation is beautifully furnished, comfortable, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Breakfast is delivered to your apartment and is included in the room price.
During our short stay, the hotel management and staff (not much English spoken) were welcoming and helpful.
A couple of good restaurants and a mini-market are located on the seafront about 5 to 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
Overall a nice place to stay despite the surrounding wasteland...but once inside the hotel grounds it is delightful.

Room Tip: All apartments on two floors surrounding pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandc2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We arrived for an overnight stay. The hotel was empty as it is off season so the restaurant was closed. Its a lovely hotel with lovely rooms and 3 pools and a jacuzzi but it wasnt warm enough to use. I imagine in peak season this would be an ideal location,although I also suspect it might be quite noisy as all the rooms face the pool and we could even hear the cleaners moving about. Its about a 5 minute walk to the beach, which I must say is spectacular, however at the moment its only access is by rough dirt roads. There is a lot of construction going on but I'm sure in a year or two this will all look much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharlsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here in January, 2011 -- the original booking we had made at another hotel in La Serena was not honored and the owners of La Serena went well out of their way to accomodate our very last minute need for accommodation on one of their busiest weekends. We will never forget their amazing hospitality and generosity -- such a lovely couple. Wonderful units, 2 bedrooms, spacious, all with a kitchen. Immaculate housekeeping and grounds keepers. The owners and staff go out of there way to keep up their facility. A lot of pride of ownership here. Would be perfect for a family, with a fantastic (clean) outdoor pool and hot tub, outdoor barbeque area that can be used by the guests. The only downside was the breakfast -- limited fare and not included in the price. Beware: there are many sub-standard hotels and hostels in La Serena.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonRona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Serena hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotelera Vegasur
Hotelera Vegasur
#1 of 24 in La Serena
245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Serena Suite Park Hotel
Serena Suite Park Hotel
#9 of 24 in La Serena
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Club La Serena
Hotel Club La Serena
#4 of 24 in La Serena
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Primera Hacienda Hotel Boutique
1.6 mi away
Campanario del Mar Hotel
Campanario del Mar Hotel
#10 of 24 in La Serena
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel y Cabanas Mar De Ensueno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serena Dream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serena Dream

Property: Hotel Serena Dream
Address: Finlandia 881, La Serena, Chile
Location: Chile > Coquimbo Region > La Serena
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in La Serena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Serena Dream 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Serena Dream reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing