We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooo relaxing”
Review of Hostal Las Luces

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Serena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Las Luces
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sooooo relaxing”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this charming hostel in late November, everything is great, cleanest hostel in sth America, breakfast was small but delicious and there was a choice of what cooked breakfast you would like which is crazy for a hostel in a good way! Wifi was strongest in sth America, beds were comfiest in sth America to. The family was very friendly and made us feel at home at all times. Kitchen use too! Only downside if we could find one was that the bedroom was a bit far from the toilet, but it's not a serious critiscm.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    30
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
34
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed in this hostel for 4 nights and it was absolutely brilliant. Fantastic location, really relaxed atmosphere and the breakfast was AMAZING. Fantastic value for the price and the women who work there are lovely. Really safe as well. I would definitely go back to this hostel. One of the best in all my travels!

Room Tip: The cabins at the back are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, mostly resting, and visiting the Elqui valley.

The hostel is close to the bus terminal, at 10 minutes' walking.

The breakfast is good, as you can choose from a selection of things. Sometimes we felt it could be a little more, but when asked, they didn't mind giving some more bread.

It's also possible to use the kitchen, but it's not really ideal as it's shared with the family. So if you like to spend hours in the kitchen cooking, you might consider booking elsewhere.

The rooms are very spacious and have TV - the shared bathrooms are spotlessly clean.

We took a night bus on our last day and it was no problem at all to leave our things until we left for the bus terminal.

Good hostel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip8705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calama, Chile
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

After a bad stay in Calama, Las Luces was what we needed. It´s close to the bus terminal (about 10 minutes to walk) and next to Hostal El Punto which you can find in almost every guide book.
It is family run and very friendly. In the backyard you can find a patio and breakfast is included! We had a matrimonial with private bathroom for 10000 pesos each (about 13 Euros) but there are also dorms and the shared bathrooms are very clean.
You can find laundry service right around the corner and the family can organize trips to the Humboldt Reserve and an observatory.
The place is save and just a few walking minutes from the center.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staeffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

This family-run hostel has a great location in La Serena, only minutes away from the bus terminal, mall shopping area, and downtown. It is secure, only being able to enter with a doorbell.

For 9,000 Chilean Pesos (about $18) per person, we got a large private room with a huge matrimonial bed, fresh towels and cable television. The bathrooms are shared, but extremely clean and nice hot showers.

Breakfast is included in the price, and it is delicious. Eggs how you like them with bread, jam, tea and coffee. A fully-equipped and clean kitchen. Excellent fast wifi, and a lovely common area to use it in. Also a computer for those that don't have their own device.

Hostels in Chile are more expensive than most, but this one felt worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DriftingDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Hostel rooms are clean, spacious and have a TV. All of the rooms are centred aroudn a nice garden area and opposite the well-maintained and clean bathrooms (of which there are at least 4). This hostel was a great price and great value for money. It was the perfect place to stay in La Serena. I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: all seemed good to me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca and Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Lovely hostal with rooms which surround a lovely patio with loads of space for chilling out. The hostal is about a (pleasant) 10 minute walk to the centre and (very helpfully) a short walk from the bus station (easily done while carrying rucksacks).

Staff were friendly and smiley with English spoken by one of them. Breakfasts were a bonus and included eggs - would have been nice to have some cereal or fruit offered but that's pretty standard for Chile.

Rooms were basic but practical and the shared bathrooms were kept really clean.

The guys were really helpful when we had to check out but needed somewhere to leave our bags and they were more than happy to let us use the shower after we'd checked out and before we had to catch a late bus. Much appreciated!! Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leerotbart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Serena hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotelera Vegasur
Hotelera Vegasur
#1 of 24 in La Serena
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal El Arbol
Hostal El Arbol
#2 of 76 in La Serena
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel Cosmo Elqui Stage
Hostel Cosmo Elqui Stage
#4 of 76 in La Serena
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Punto
Hostal El Punto
#1 of 76 in La Serena
460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aji Verde Hostel
Aji Verde Hostel
#17 of 76 in La Serena
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Open Hostel
Open Hostel
#14 of 76 in La Serena
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Luces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Luces

Property: Hostal Las Luces
Address: Andres Bello | 995, La Serena 1700000, Chile
Location: Chile > Coquimbo Region > La Serena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Serena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good and cheap lodging, with a very friendly atmosphere and good service. Located in the heart of La Serena, near bus terminalIt has single, double and multiple. All rooms include Mucama service, satellite TV and Wi-Fi. Available computer with internet connection (free). The Inn has spacious common areas: Gardens, BBQ, lounge, dining room, terrace.Tourist information is available (free), connection with tours and rental bikes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing