We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent International Food”
Review of Tololo Beach

Tololo Beach
Ranked #15 of 190 Restaurants in La Serena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Chile
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excelent International Food”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This Restaurant has a lovely location by the beach of La Serena it has an exquisite variate of sea food , and international dishes from all over the world , very good service and decoration, if you are in La Serena do not miss this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kinarasiglo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    178
    74
    28
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A good fish restaurant with a great beachside setting”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I have been many times and have always enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The staff are always friendly and the food consistently good. The mariscos and fish are all good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rossland58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Simply awful and overpriced”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

This used to be one of our favorite restaurants in town. For many years, I was excited to visit it whenever I had business in La Serena. It was a beautiful setting with a lovely view, excellent wine list, and good food. This was all offered at a premium, for sure, but it was worth it.

However, since I've moved here two and a half years ago, the prices have gone up and up and the quality has gone down and down. Last time we were there, I ordered a pastel de jaiba, which is supposed to be a cream based crab dish, not unlike a very creamy crab imperial. I was served 4 stone crab claws on a plate! Clearly they thought that I wouldn't know any better; I was FURIOUS. I then ordered a shrimp dish and was served out-of-a-bag, pre-cooked miniature shrimp that you'd expect to see as a garnish for a salad. On top of that, we ordered another bottle of wine that we were charged for, but which never arrived.

The time before that, we were served a truly embarrassing Jardin de Marascos while visiting with a friend. All for the most expensive prices in town.

If you want a fine dinner out, go to the Oire in the new Enjoy casino or Porotas (near El Faro) and save yourself some grief and money!

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank astro17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“what a glorious dining experience.”
Reviewed February 9, 2011

This is the place I have been searching for.
It all looks wonderful. I would love the sea food ....not to mention those corvin
Congratulations to the super chef

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miketrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The best restaurant I ate at while in La Serena. The waiter had them make a special vegetarin dish for me and it was out of this world. The view of the beach from this restaurant is wonderful. Go have dinner and watch the sun set over the water. It is just wonderful!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail3207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tololo Beach also viewed

La Serena, Coquimbo Region
Coquimbo, Coquimbo Region
 
La Serena, Coquimbo Region
La Serena, Coquimbo Region
 

Been to Tololo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing