We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelente food, full relax and good hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mapuyampay Hostal Gastronomico
Ranked #1 of 6 Curico B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excelente food, full relax and good hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

I went to Mapuyampay Hostel 2 weeks ago, to celebrate my anniversary and I must admit that it was the best way to celebrate it.... The place is incredible... imagine that there is no signal, just you and the mountains, the clean sky and an incredible ambiente.
Ruth and Vicente are responsible for giving you a "foodie" experiencie and the do it very well. The cooking lesson teaches you a lot of basic things you must know if you want to cook properly and Ruth gives you many tips as well. Also you learn a lot about chilean cousine and different ways of cooking it. But the best is the end of the lesson, when you taste all that nice food you prepare with the rest of the team. Delicious!!!
Nice experiencie. Nice people . Fair price.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clau_Chile2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
72
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

I wanted to spend one of my last weekends in the country in a wonderful, relaxing place that would offer me the best of Chile. Mapuyampay did the trick: amazing food, great wines, gorgeous countryside all around, wonderful warm hosts. I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzaSantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

I found this "Hostel"..more like Luxury B&B on Trip Advisor Forum when researching itineraries for a trip to the Santiao area of Chile. I was meeting up with a friend for a girlfriend getaway as she had been traveling in an around Chile for a couple of months, I thought this would make a nice relaxing couple of days for us. After emailing Ruth and securing our dates, I just knew it would be the highlight of the trip and I was right!

We arrived in the mid-afternoon heat and immediately hit the pool area. Ruth joined us and discussed our plans for our stay. She is incredibly accommodating and has terrific advice for where and when and how. Pre-dinner drinks of the national drink Pisco Sour at sunset created by her husband, Vincent, are a specialty of his. All of our meals were created beautifully to fit our dietary requests were served with flavor and style. The cooking class is a must!

The rooms and cabins are spacious, clean, comfortable beds, well decorated and you will sleep well in the peaceful surroundings of the Andes mountains. Before you go to bed, be sure to look up at the stars. If you live in the northern hemisphere, this is your chance to see the Milkyway and other constellations at their finest, without interference from city lights. You will wake to the sounds of the roosters and birds.

I can't say enough about how terrific it was, except that if our rental car wasn't costing so much, we may have stayed another day..or two..

Mapuyampay is a go - to place and you can get there by bus all the way to Morza without the expense of the rental car, gas, tolls, etc. If you want to explore the wineries or do other types of excursions, it's probably just as easy to hire private tour. I'm hoping to bring my husband next time and just plant our happy selves in the fully equipped cabin and simply enjoy the property, Ruth and Vincent, and their dogs, Diva and Nahual.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyH38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

Ruth gave a special vegetarian cooking class (Entree: Risotto of quinoa with mixed mushrooms, Carmenère wine and mature goat cheese; Main dish: "Porotos Granados" or fresh bean and corn stew (my personal favorite Chilean dish); Desert: Brownies "Black&White" ... the only thing I can say:
DELICIOUS and wonderful - amazing people: Ruth and her husband Vicente

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wubetcollection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We spent the middle part of our Chilean holiday at this hidden gem tucked away in the wine region between San Fernando and Curico. Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Ruth and Vincent go out of their way to make you feel a part of the family. The rooms are very cozy and very clean and the garden is a treat to explore. Finally, Ruth is a star chef and each meal was fantastic. Ruth also went out of her way to meet our dietary requirements which was much appreciated.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HANDRUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

We planned our entire trip to Chile around a visit to Mapuyampay and we were not disappointed. Everything was perfection -- the lush grounds, the quiet countryside, the relaxing pool, the luxurious rooms, the exceptional food and, most of all, the friendly hosts. Highlights included our South American food and wine class, a bike ride through the countryside and a thrilling rafting trip, which Ruth arranged for us. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

We met Ruth in Chicago at a Chicago Gourmet cooking demonstration where she paired food to Chilean wines. The food was delicious and Ruth was charming. We had an opportunity to attend her cooking school before boarding a cruise around South America. Ruth and her husband Vincente picked us up at the Santiago air port and drove us to Mapuyampay where we indulged ourselves in their land of resplendence. We stayed with them for four days, shopped the local markets for good and participated in their cooking school. We now have many recipes that will continue to add enjoyment to our lives. It was a fun and rewarding adventure. They were wonderful hosts and accommodated our every need. If future plans allow you to travel through Santiago, we would recommend that you consider adding some time in the land of resplendence called Mapuyampay.

Tom and Barbie Burke

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJSitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Curico hotels
16.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Raices
16.7 mi away
No photo provided
17.4 mi away
Hotel Villa El Descanso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Punto Real
Punto Real
#1 of 10 in Curico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
16.5 mi away
Casona el Sauce
Casona el Sauce
#2 of 6 in Curico
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Cerrillo Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mapuyampay Hostal Gastronomico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mapuyampay Hostal Gastronomico

Property: Mapuyampay Hostal Gastronomico
Address: Parcela 2 Huemul | Central Valley, Curico 192, Chile
Location: Chile > Maule Region > Curico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Curico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Chile's wine country in the company of Vicente, a wine lover and poet, and Ruth van Waerebeek, an international acclaimed chef. Join us for an unforgettable culinary adventure in Mapuyampay, an intimate valley in the Andean foothills, at only 200 km south of Santiago, 60 km from Santa Cruz and 40 km from Curico. Cooking programs recommended by gourmet magazine may/08 and local flavors show of delta airlines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mapuyampay Hostal Gastronomico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing