We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“huge rooms”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
sinaloa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“huge rooms”
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Theres not much tosee in Battambag, thats why we only stayed there for one night.
The hotel was just for that, it has 4 computers at the lobby which you can use for a cheap fee.
Rooms are very big and the shower has amazing pressure.
A/C worked fine during all day, which is something good for cambodian high temperatures.
Staff was helpful and they also offered us tuk tuk tour.
It has a terrace in the roof which we didnt used, but the man at the lobby said you could have drinks up there.

At the end of our stay they even gave us some scarfs as presents.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crisarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    333
    125
    31
    9
See reviews for
53
329
137
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Was met off the bus by a tuk tuk driver working for this hotel and were brought straight to it. It seems the longer you stay there the better deal you get on the room. We got a big double room with fan, TV and hot water for $8.00. Its not bad value at all. The staff though are not the best (at reception). Didn't leave a good impression. This hotel always seems full of backpackers and was sorry not to give a more local person the business. The Lonely Planet is not always so good to rely on I suppose. The rooftop restaurant is to be avoided. No where does more expensive, bad value, western food. Dreadful! The best restaurant in Battambang is Smokin Pot - which also does a cooking course for $8.00 - best value in South East Asia. Highly recommend this restaurant. Overall its an ok place to stay, good value but there is better out there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Specialk-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

The Hotel Royal in Battambang is well-equipped with spacious, if dark, rooms, hot and cold running water, A/C or fan, and very rude and unhelpful staff members. The staff member who we assumed was the manager was even a little creepy, and I was not at all sorry to leave the hotel and go on to our next destination. Overall, it's a decent value, but watch out for the staff...not a good vibe coming from them at all. I would especially recommend that single women or groups of female travelers stay away because of the particular staff member mentioned above.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fly_me_to_the_moon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I tried to stay at the royal hotel as my guide book said it is great.
I wanted to enjoy the place but there was too many issues.
My hot water never worked. They said they would fix it but they never did. I complained every day about it and nothing happened.
Still it was very hot so having only cold water was not the end of the world although i was paying for hot.
The biggest problem I had was the management not only allowing touts inside the lobby but also letting them know my room number and come to my room to hassle me to go on a tour.
When I did go on tour I was out the whole day yet my room was never cleaned making me come back to a dirty smelly room when I too was dirty and smelly and needing cleaning.
I have never been treated like a money machine so much
Seriously, woken up by a moto taxi driver at 7am after I had been on a 10 hour boat ride the day before is not nice.
Also, the computers with internet in the lobby never had internet. This place advertisers so much but delivers so little.
The restaurant on the roof is a joke and much better food can be had at the white rose restaurant which is also cheaper.
The Royal hotel gave me a headache.
The Royal hotel gave me a headache.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macdaddyessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang , cambodia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Good and clean hotel , It's a stone throw from the central market , friendly staff , Very helpful manager, and i went on the tour with a excellent english driver name Mr. Rich , i had a wonderful time here , the most recommended hotel in Battambang .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank se7enhipstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights in Jan 10 and payed $15 for a large clean odourless room equiped with AC,fridge,tv,hot shower and balcony.The furnishings are on the girly side but never the less it's a bargain.
The roof top restaurant is average at best but functional.
The lobby staff are cheeky but harmless,sense of humour required.
I did 1•5 days touring on the back of my guides motorcycle.My guide mr Buffallo was top drawer.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glahamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Clean, cheap, friendly, Internet on site. Rent a moto ("Coco" is excellent) and get out of the city. I had my best times in Battambang, despite the city. Try Seeing Hands massage by the blind next door.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peoplevuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.1 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#11 of 26 in Battambang
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#8 of 26 in Battambang
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Street 115 | 50 meters west of the Central market, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel Battambang is a Real Cambodian Running hotel, offers accommodation in Cambodia. Royal Hotel Battambang is an oasis of calm and peaceful retreat, located in center of town and away from the busy streets. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Battambang and offers a beautiful panoramic green view on the rooftop garden rooftop jacuzzi and a restaurant serving Khmer and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing