We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel!”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Battambang B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2009

This is a very nice hotel in the lovely - not so touristic!- city of Battambang. Great service and big rooms. Don't forget to go for one or two days with the motoguides who hang out in this hotel. They show you really interesting and beautiful places. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyraHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 862 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2009

Battambang can seem a little intimidating. It is a less travelled city, and that is one of it's charms although it can seem almost spooky off season at night.

The Royal is a straight forward, clean, safe, good value for money hotel. The rooms are a very good size, and there is accomodation to suit all needs. We were travelling with my partners sister at the time and had a spacious room with a fridge that ran at arctic, a tv and a fan for $15. For a couple more bucks you could have air con and hot water, but the windows have insect screens and they don't suffer from being cramped or stuffy.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful downstairs, warning of scams and helping you to plan your stay. The roof terrace bar is a lovely place to watch the sun set and see the locals scrry off to their homes like reverse vampires. The upstairs staff are a little grumpy, but there's no lift and you're not high enough to be giddy on altitude, so probably fair enough if you have to make the climb several times a day.

We had some good food up there too, and we saw a few families eating most nights who looked very relaxed. It's just off the main market and within easy walk of several places to eat, get cash and buy essentials.

All in all I enjoyed our stay, and talking to other tavellers, I really believe it to be the best option in Battambang.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrBeluga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2009

We got a room in the back, no light at the back of the bed, so no bedtime stories.

poor in everyway

got a present from the owner when leaving but why was not sure

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank progressdll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

A bit old but very-well maintained. Room was big and very clean. Maid service every day. Friendly staff. An excellent value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank expat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

The Royal Hotel is a good place to stay if in Battambang. The place is huge with a range of different quality rooms, so you will be able to find something to fit your budget. We stayed in a mid-price room, but some of the cheaper (and perfectly good) rooms that we were shown were only around $3/4. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, and ours had TV and air-con. There are also some reasonably priced internet terminals in the lobby and a roof top cafe area (although it's not that cheap).

The owner of the hotel also arranged a share taxi for us to get from Battambang to the Thai border crossing (from which we made our way to Koh Chang). The taxi (a normal car) was crammed with 4 people in the front and 2 of us and a lot of luggage in the back, but the recommended driver was really nice, spoke English, and gave us further advice on how we were to get to Koh Chang and how much all the transport we had to take would cost.

So, the Royal Hotel comes pretty highly recommended. Can't say that we thought much of Battambang though. We made a special detour from Siem Reap to go there, but it really wasn't worth all the extra effort. It would have been much easier for us to get to Koh Chang straight from Siem Reap. So that's what we'd recommend to anyone else planning to get to Koh Chang from Cambodia.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

Hotel Royal is also known as Royal Hotel when you're searching, also there are several variations on the spelling of the town.

We found the hotel to be great value - older but well maintained, well furnished and very clean. Laundry wasn't the usual type in hotels - they charged by the kilo and were amazingly quick. Nice rooftop area to chill. Internet in lobby and good helpful staff. Quite possibly the best place to stay in town

Full review at http://www.littlewhiteswan.com/Accom/az08/0818.html

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Swanygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2008

We only stayed here for one night but from the minute we arrived the owners were really accommodating, friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location just a few meters from the market and the town center. The room price was very reasonable and very spacious. We booked our onward journey to siem Reap with the hotel owner who quoted 20USD for the boat ride. The next morning we got a nice surprise when he dropped the price down to 15USD because he'd managed to charter a whole boat just for the hotel guests. this was great as we had plenty of space to walk around and hang out which was not the case on the boats we saw where people were packed in like sardines. If I went to Battambang again I'd definately stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank alpbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.6 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jasmine Battambang Hotel
Jasmine Battambang Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#11 of 26 in Battambang
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hotel
Holiday Hotel
#17 of 26 in Battambang
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 115 Street | 50 meters west of the Central market, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range: $11 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel Battambang is a Real Cambodian Running hotel, offers accommodation in Cambodia. Royal Hotel Battambang is an oasis of calm and peaceful retreat, located in center of town and away from the busy streets. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Battambang and offers a beautiful panoramic green view on the rooftop garden rooftop jacuzzi and a restaurant serving Khmer and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing