We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, spacious rooms”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Tempe, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value, spacious rooms”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Spent Christmas here. Nice rooftop terrace. Battambang in general wasn't was lovely of a town to stay in as we'd thought it'd be, but this hotel was fine in and of itself. Staff at desk were very easy going, but still attentive and professional. Rented us motor scooters with little to no indoctrination or safety guidelines, which sort of surprised us after having rented scooters in Luang Prabang. Wedding next door on street level apparently was noisy till morning, but as a light sleeper, I still didn't hear it, even though my fellow tourists mentioned it. Rooms are huge and very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 3rd or 4th floor on back of hotel, not on main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAF-Pilot-Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    345
    126
    31
    9
See reviews for
55
338
141
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meiningen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

When I arrived there was only one A/C room free for 15$, so I took that, on the next morning I swapped to a fan room for 8$. Both were really spacious, clean and well maintained. I also saw the upper class rooms which were really nice, so they have quite a big amount of different rooms to choose from. It's perfectly located in the centre, the main market is just around the corner, but it's quiet at night time and I always had a good sleep without ear plugs. One of the best things for me about the Royal Hotel was their roof top restaurant where you can easily hang out, even if you don't eat or drink anything. You have a nice view over the city and can relax in one of the two provided hammocks.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jc_silver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nether Heyford
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My wife and I decided on the Royal Hotel after reading Trip advisor recommendations, we have a room on the 3rd floor, so remember it's 75 steps up. Our room is 307 with a balcony over looking the street below, it's right off the main market area, with local restaurants and bars all easily within walking distance.

Our double room is sizeable, cleaned daily with fresh towels etc, excellent AC & WIFI, has a good shower within the ensuite.

We have only used the in house restaurant for the included breakfast, which has been just okay. Restaurant is on the 4th floor, so be mindful.

Staff are always helpful and we would happily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quiet location, so any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Just next to the central market in Battambang, the hotel is really clean, rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is great. The staf is really helpful, you can trust them to organize your trip around Battambang.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikaket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Traveling has been a part of my life for a while now and the one thing I always look combination of service, ambiance, home like atmosphere and great people. Royal Hotel Battambang gave me just that. From the moment I arrived at the hotel until the time I left the personal service and attention to detail ( my needs) were everybody's priority. I reccommend this hotel too every one who looking to feel the utmost hospitality and experience a home way from home. Thank you so much Royal Hotel Battambang, Oh, a ton of thank to the manager, smart with his natural talent. see you next time

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to check their restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff at the hotel were very helpful, keen for patrons to use there tour providers. The local tuk tuk fellas obviously got kickbacks/networked etc. The room was clean, the rooftop for breakfast was a nice spot. very reasonably priced room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Not complaining for the price but this is one of those ugly tired hotels that is totally soulless but functional. Actually I really am not complaining as it was kind of nice to have a warmish shower (first in a while despite staying in places twice the price in siem reap). Anyway, what really makes this place is the staff- a bunch of extremely sweet boys who are incredibly helpful and attentive. Great no frills value

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.1 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
210 reviews
2.5 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
694 reviews
0.5 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Street 115 | 50 meters west of the Central market, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel Battambang is a Real Cambodian Running hotel, offers accommodation in Cambodia. Royal Hotel Battambang is an oasis of calm and peaceful retreat, located in center of town and away from the busy streets. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Battambang and offers a beautiful panoramic green view on the rooftop garden rooftop jacuzzi and a restaurant serving Khmer and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing