We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jam throw away from the Central Market”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jam throw away from the Central Market”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

First of all, I would like to say BEST of Best hotel I've stayed in Cambodia based on 3 main reasons: first Quality, second Price, third Service. From the moment I arrived at the entrance until the moment I left I was in a good mood, the manager help told me about the sightseeing in Cambodia and sharing his own travelling experience with me, he is absolutely good young man and has a natural talent, Mr. LAY is the high level English Speaker and French fluently too. I was given a beautiful scarf on my check out date and I've been told that is a symbol of luck and happiness. 25$ room include breakfast for me and my wife is value for money, of course, I have gotten more than what I have paid for, I think that the previous review from Maisie C was not the real traveler, I guess it was written by the hotel's competitor. Trust me , book this hotel. I will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alain r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    336
    126
    31
    9
See reviews for
53
332
140
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a pretty rubbish experience at this hotel and in fact left after one night and went elsewhere. It was very overpriced for what it was. We paid $25 for a double room for one night and considering we were in Cambodia you'd expect pretty good quality. There were stains on the sheets and pillows, the shower leaked from the bathroom into the bedroom and the tap wouldn't turn off properly. When we left the manager was very nice and they did offer us the best room they had for the next night and a refund of $5 but we just wanted to leave. We were on a budget and allowed ourselves one night in a nice place which turned out to be horrible. We went down the road to the Chaya where we paid $5 for a room.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maisie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in this place, everything good you will read is real, the staff very kind and always helping guests but i have a few advises....
There was a little mess with the excursion (is not because of the staff) and i finally moved on my own. Thank you guys anyway, you have been very helpful, I strongly recommend this hotel in town.

Room Tip: checked in without a reservation and they gave me a very nice huge deluxe room with 2 queen beds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelepiselli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

we stayed two nights at the royal and got a huge room on the top floor with a nice balcony which was inviting for having a wine outside and watching the sunset. staff was helpful and friendly. especially stey lenh! she was informing us about everything and you can have a good talk with her about the city.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillemor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Located near central market. Big, superclean rooms and shower. Superfriendly, english speaking staff (helped finding a guesthouse after cancellation from another hotel).

Restaurant at rooftop (nice food, great coffee).

TIP: if you want a tuktukdriver for the day, ask for scorpio (speaks good english and gives a lot of explanation at the temples etc.
TIP: visit the local circus

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silasrydant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Royal Hotel Battambang is the best choice you can make coming to Battambang.Starting from booking and questions we have sent email to the hotel and they always answered and tried to accommodate our needs. Tuk Tuk driver picked us up at the bus station. Mr. Soon, he was fantastic and knowledgeable and we were greeted in the beautiful hotel lobby. Stuff is amazing so friendly and helpful. They make you feef special. They helped us to organize tour and gave us tips on what to do in town. They always smile and joke. Rooms are spacious full of light with nice decoration. Food is great with big balcony. We liked it so much that we decided to stay 2 more days. I was reading reviews before booking this place and I was a bit sceptic-it was too good to be true but the reality is even better. This place is awesome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed here for two nights but would of happily stayed longer.
The room was massive with a balcony, fridge, wardrobe, kings size bed and a clean bathroom.

The staff are friendly, always greeting you with a smile. They helped us book a bus to sihanockville too.

We were on the 3rd floor so there were a few steps but that was no problem for us! The staff even carried my bag for me anyway!

Would recommend

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.1 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#11 of 26 in Battambang
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
338 reviews
2.5 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Street 115 | 50 meters west of the Central market, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel Battambang is a Real Cambodian Running hotel, offers accommodation in Cambodia. Royal Hotel Battambang is an oasis of calm and peaceful retreat, located in center of town and away from the busy streets. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Battambang and offers a beautiful panoramic green view on the rooftop garden rooftop jacuzzi and a restaurant serving Khmer and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing