We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitively a recommendable Place to be when you stay in Battambang”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Definitively a recommendable Place to be when you stay in Battambang”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We Took the advice from lonely plantet And went to this Place to stay which was a good decision. We had been to a AC room first floor And everYthing worked out as expected. Central location And quiet And clean.

If you fancy a tuktuk driver get in contact with Rich, he was really good and great 012 93 92 46.

Apart we can also recommend the 'sunrise caffee' going Out the Royal to the right And just Walk about 100 m then You see it At the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    330
    124
    31
    9
See reviews for
53
323
134
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is a perfect base for a few days in battambang.

The hotel is large, the staff so friendly and helpful and the rooms big and comfortable.

Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace which provides great views over the town.

Tuk-tuk tours can be organised through reception and the service was so good there was even a tuk-tuk waiting for us when we arrived on the bus and the hotel had no idea where we were arriving from.

The little gift on checkout was a real treat, such a classy way to say goodbye, Thank you Royal Hotel, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the hotel (not over reception) are quieter as there is a nightclub opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loulou96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel in the $8 room. The staff were always very friendly and happy to help us, the room was spotless with working television. Strong fan meant for a comfortable nights sleep (no need for a/c). Booked our bus to Phnom Penh with them, and when our pick up hadn't arrived, the staff arranged for a free tuk tuk to take us to the bus to ensure we were on time.
Would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DashDash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in the fan room which was cool enough and the room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful (although do warn them if you need to pay with a note larger than the price as they never have change!) and the hotel is in a great location. We also hired a tuk tuk driver, Mr Tin Tin, through the hotel for a day tour of the bamboo train, villages and local factories and the bat and killing caves. He was absolutely fabulous, not only taking us to these places (and more along the way) but also acting as a guide and also sharing his own experiences. We would thoroughly recommend him.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whist08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is very central and good value. We paid $8 for a twin room with fan and cold water bathroom. The room was relatively clean but there was bad smells of drains which wafted in and out throughout the day.

Breakfast on the rooftop bar (not included in room rate) was a disaster on all three occassions. The first, nobody knew what they were doing and it took forever, the second, the staff were asleep up there, and the third we received the wrong meal and an uncooked pancake. Not to worry however as there are many good bakeries and cafes in the area.

The staff are friendly, however we had some difficulty with our onward journey from Battambang. We were told that the boat that we had asked to be booked on was cancelled the morning it was meant to go. We were then told to come back down in an hour to get the bus, when we did we were told it was fully booked. A bit better communication would have been appreciated was all.

All in all, the stay was great value, the rooms were clean and if you're into that sort of thing you get a tv with excellent channels including HBO. I'm not sure of the standard of other accomodation in Battambang, but for $8 you probably won't be disappointed here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victron23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Clean and comfortable. We paid $15 for the delux room-fan and a/c, fridge in room and balcony if you wanted to use it.

Great location, roof top bar and very friendly and helpful staff. They arranged the bus for us from Battambang to Siem Reap and even offered to call ahead to our next hotel to arrange for them to collect us from the bus station.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and i'd definitely stay again if I revisit Battambang.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Fan room is very hot even if it has big ceiling fan. There is no mosquito screens on the windows so you cannot open them at the evening to let fresh and cold air came inside.

In our room there is no hot water.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbun9l3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.2 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#11 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#8 of 26 in Battambang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
2.5 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Street 115 | 50 meters west of the Central market, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel Battambang is a Real Cambodian Running hotel, offers accommodation in Cambodia. Royal Hotel Battambang is an oasis of calm and peaceful retreat, located in center of town and away from the busy streets. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Battambang and offers a beautiful panoramic green view on the rooftop garden rooftop jacuzzi and a restaurant serving Khmer and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing