We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic rooms”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Clare
Level Contributor
356 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Very basic rooms”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Mix up when we got to the hotel, we booked room in 1 hotel but they have 2 other sister hotels in the area and the 1 we booked was full so they accepted our booking but when we arrived tried to bring us to the sister hotel which was less central. We eventually got a room in the hotel we had booked but had to pay extra. TV was broken for the whole time we were there. WIFI worked some of the time. We couldn’t turn off the shower. Location good but room very basic.

Room Tip: We couldn't get showers to swithc off and the TV or WiFi didn't work properly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    333
    125
    31
    9
See reviews for
53
328
137
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayted for 1 night on our way to Thailand and it was ok for 1 night. Rooms are clean, bed is ok and if you are lucky the A/C is working. That roof bar/restaurant has a nice overview but nothing special to see there and the service was terrible. (They tried to let us pay for the breakfast that was included).
No elevator and you have to bring your luggage to your room by yourself.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Bed bugs in one room, poor service in the restaurant and failed to actually book the bus tickets meaning a delay to our journey. Enough said!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakeyboygetslost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in Battambang and had the good fortune to meet a moto driver outside the hotel by the name of Mr Bat. I rented my own bike from the hotel for 8 dollars and my friend rode pillion with mr Bat. He took us all round the countryside for the day to the wats and wherever we wanted to go. Including the bike hire, he charged 12 us dollars. He was an excellent guide, super warm and friendly and chatty and spoke excellent english. Thoroughly recommend moto as the way to see a good expanse of Battambang and definitely try get him as your guide. Give him a good tip, he is worth it !!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burgerlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed in a $6 fan room, for the price it was great! Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable the restaurant with roof top view to watch the sunset, chilling out and have a beer in a hammock. And the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thaoface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

This is a great basic hotel. For $8 we got a bog comfortable bed, television and large bathroom, there weren't any cheaper room available when we arrived but they do normally have them so great value.
Only issue is that we had two ipods and a camera stolen from our room. They were in our bag in a box in the locked room and we gave the keys to the reception. On the bus to Phnom Penh we realised they were gone. Obviously the cleaning staff as they were only out of our sight when locked in the room.
I'm not blaming the management, there's not always anything they can do but please be careful - keep the key with you and anything of value at all times.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bartop4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

The Hotel Royal have a good location near the market and the room are really clean and well furnished (table, TV, big bed).

It is an hotel so for backpackers it stays a little bit expensive (7 dollars for a room without hot water and a barely working fan) but i guess if you can take a room more expensive it is probably better. It is also not the best place to meet other backpackers (no common room except the rooftop more expensive than other restaurant in the city)

Howhever, days and nights, tuk tuk drivers are waiting in the lobby and clearly jump on you as soon as you leave your room. Even if they are nice (i took on of them for the tour because I was to lazy to fight with them and find another one) it's really ennoying !

It feels like the manager really want to have his commissions because he was really pushy about me taking a tour the next day even when i said that i wanted to visit the city by myself first.

I also asked for cooking lessons and they tell me they could arrange it for a "cheap" price (10 dollars). The cooking lessons at Nary Kitchen was great but I've met other travellers here and they paid 8 dollars for the same lesson : The Royal Hotel take 2 dollars commission just to book the lesson !!! So I recommand Nary Kitchen but book your lesson yourself (the restaurant is not far from the hotel) if you don't want to overpay it !

And, finally, when i checked out, I realised that the bill was totally wrong : they wanted to charge me for pancakes and other stuff and I never ate in the rooftop restaurant + they charged me for a 10 dollars bus to kampot (i asked for a 4 dollars bus to siem reap...)
I guess it is "just" a mistake but it's the kind of mistake which can make you pays at least 15 dollars more if you are not carefull and prove that the staff is not really professionnal..

The bus was also completly badly organised with a unknow compagny (ticket are from phnom penh sorya but the bus was another compagny) which was 1 hour late.. not the Hotel fault but still if you sell tickets to a compagny your also a little bit responsible of what happend..

To put it in a nutshell : The hotel is good but don't ask them anything else than a room, do the rest by yourself it will be cheaper and probably better

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.1 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#11 of 26 in Battambang
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
350 reviews
2.5 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#8 of 26 in Battambang
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Street 115 | 50 meters west of the Central market, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel Battambang is a Real Cambodian Running hotel, offers accommodation in Cambodia. Royal Hotel Battambang is an oasis of calm and peaceful retreat, located in center of town and away from the busy streets. The hotel is one of the finest hotels in Battambang and offers a beautiful panoramic green view on the rooftop garden rooftop jacuzzi and a restaurant serving Khmer and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing