We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food”

Jaan Bai Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 112 Restaurants in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cambodian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Jaan Bai is a home for folks who share our love of gatherings around the table, our passion for food and our interest in supporting Cambodian youth. We are focused on the training and professional development of Cambodian youth, with all profits going towards the overall sustainability of CCT. Our cuisine is all about the simplicity of well crafted, nourishing and wholesome recipes. We use seasonal organic produce sourced from our kitchen garden, local farmers and neighbouring markets. This project has been made possible by Vittoria Coffee, Australia. Open 11:00 - 10:00 (kitchen closes at 9:00) Tuesday - Sunday.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding food”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

One of the best meals I ever had in Cambodia... no, make that the best meal...
Incredible taste, good service, great value.
Only negative: the restaurant is a bit noisy when full.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nyroca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    177
    46
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

It may just have been the night we were there, (raining) but I was expecting a more lively vibe. The menu was small, but the food was absolutely delicious, and like elsewhere in Cambodia, the prices were unbelievable. It is definitely an arty cafe, however the buzz and social scene is better at Lotus, I think.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sands1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fantastic! ”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

A fantastic place. Welcoming staff, delicious food. Couldn't fault it at all - the best meal we've had in Cambodia.

Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Insane Flavours, Wonderful Service, Great Value”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Knowing David Thompson was attached to this restaurant, we had high expectations and were not disappointed.

The service was excellent and swift. Our starters (corn fritters and pork belly) arrived within an easy 10 minutes, much to our delight as we were rather famished. The fritters were piping hot, crunchy and full of flavour. The pork belly, although delicious, could have had more meat in them. When I think pork belly I envisage a couple of layers of meat, fat and some crispiness. But what they lacked in meat quantity they made up for in flavour. The dipping sauce has a fantastic kick.

Our starter dishes were removed and within two minutes our mains were served. Kampot pepper crab. A finger licking, crab meat sucking bowl of deliciousness. It is a must!

Although we were the last to leave, we were never put under any pressure by the very friendly and professional staff.

We will most certainly be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cambinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, great food”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Neat upmarket restaurant with blasting aircon. Modern takes on Khmer food, with good coffee and great service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LloydChops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaan Bai Restaurant also viewed

 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Jaan Bai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing