We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ganesha Family Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Au Cabaret Vert(Battambang)
$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Classy Hotel & Spa(Battambang)
$36
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maisons Wat Kor(Battambang)
$90
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delux Villa(Battambang)
$39
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phka Villa(Battambang)
$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Battambang Resort(Battambang)
$53
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Star Hotel(Battambang)(Great Value!)
$7
$6
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Angkor Comfort Hotel(Battambang)(Great Value!)
$14
$13
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bric-a-Brac(Battambang)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
39
66
16
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
66
16
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmosquito netpool tableprivate roommeet other travellerscold showerbed dormwater pressure istop floorfriendly placegreat place to stayowners and staffnice guesthousestayed for two nightsenjoyed my staywould definitely stay here againcentral markettuk tuk driver
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 147 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The place was recommended by a friend - but I was shocked. no answer on the email booking was the first. A very "low profile welcome" was next. No question if I need some support (they have bike for hire and laundry service). After weeks I wanted to talk german again - but the german owner did not talk to me at all! Never had that experience before.
Room under the roof was ok - but nearly no water pressure there.
I had to go one day earlier and told them when arriving - a free cup of coffee would have been nice. Nothing. No comment.
best "part" is the australian restaurant round the corner!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed in a 4-bed-dorm with a huge bed surrounded by a mosquito-net, personal fan, locker and a shelf. Bathroom was very clean and the stuff is always very helpful. I forgot my necklace and a ring there and they sent it to another city right away...was impressed by the effort they put into it.

But even without that, I enjoyed staying there a lot. Bus tickets and similar tours a cheap as well!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whiskylady87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Super cute place except it kept me up all night scratching!!! Then I found some bed bugs. Also the owner, Dirk, was a lil rude, and the water pressure is like non existent. Too bad cause it was otherwise a nice place.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EileenBaker1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Ganesha family guesthouse has some positive qualities -- the location is good (tucked off a quiet side street), the rooms are large (albeit baking hot -- no AC), and it attracts friendly travellers. Huge downside: the owner, Dirk, is extremely unfriendly and seemed consistently annoyed by our questions/concerns. It gave the place an unwelcoming vibe.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileenfoner2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were very glad to find this clean and confortable guesthouse in the center of Battambang, where we could take the whole dormitory for 5 of us - its basic equipement was just enough for us. But the good impression was spoiled when we tried to get information how to continue our trip towards Thai border - the reactions and answers of the german owner were extremely unpleasant and rude. As we wanted to take another route and transportation than what he was proposing, he was giving us false informations about everything - distances, prices, way of transportation, condition of the road ... Proving the complete wrongness of the idea that an European in Cambodgia is more reliable than the Cambodgians. Dealing with him, one can realy wonder, why somebody would move so far east to work with tourists if he considers them as idiots that go arround and ask stupid questions - this is the evident opinion of this german owner of Ganesha guesthouse about his guests. So if you stay in this nice place, better ask information from the other stuff - his wife is much more trustworthy and friendly than him.

(It is very easy if you want to pass the Thai border at Pailin and not in Poipet on the way towards Trat and islands around Koh Chang - the shared taxi to the border costs 25-30 dollars in all, after passing the border you can find mini vans going to the ferry pier close to Trat, with barguaining you can get the price arr. 2000 bahts for the whole van - if you are 4 or 5, this is much cheaper and faster way than going by bus via Poipet, the road is in a great condition and there is nearly no waiting at the border.)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank jana040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews