We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite must in Battambang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ganesha Family Guesthouse
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A definite must in Battambang”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at Ganesha for 3 nights, two of them were spent in one of the private rooms upstairs and the other in the mixed dorm room. While we preferred the privacy of the private room and individual washroom for only $8/night ($4 each person), the mixed dorm room was clean, comfortable and each bed had it's own fan, locker, and reading lamp (for the same individual price of $4/night). The hosts are wonderful, helpful people with a young family that keeps the place lively. The attached restaurant has great, cheap food and the billiards table was an awesome touch. Try and arrange a driver to pick you up from the bus station as the hoards of Tuk Tuk drivers can be overwhelming. Don't believe them for a second if they try and tell you Ganesha is far from the city centre - it's only a mere 2-5 mins away. It's also quite the social setting and seems to attract many young travellers. Ganesha is a must if you're looking for a clean, comfortable, fun and well rounded place to spend your time in Battambang!

Room Tip: If you're 2 people willing to share a double bed, do the private room option for the same price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pr0_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    63
    14
    12
    8
See reviews for
6
45
32
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for five days recently at Ganesha Guesthouse in the "Lady Dorm" which is a room that has four double beds, each with its own bookcase and shelf and mosquito net. The room also has a couple of tables and four chairs to sit around in and look out from the room's own balcony. It also has its own bathroom.

Travelling as a family of four, with a 4yo and an 8yo, space to play and write, to have your own bed and chill out is hard to find on a budget. Ganesha provided all of these things, with great food, beer on tap, the ability to put the kids to bed upstairs and sit downstairs and read and play pool or talk. Bliss.

Ganesha's owners are lovely, helpful and have two children of their own who engaged with our children and incorporated them into their street soccer games and other activities. When you have been travelling for 100 days with kids this kind of welcome and space is truly wonderful.

We were linked with a gentle tuk-tuk driver, Wit, who took us on some rambles through the countryside and out in the evenings. The guesthouse is also on the same street as Soksabike and around the corner from Battambang Bike (street 2.5) both of which do kid's bikes and tag-a-longs.

The only downside is that the rooms are hot. There are fans which work really well but don't penetrate the very effective mosquito nets. We ended up taking the mosquito nets off our bed and putting in our mozzie zappers as we needed the air flow. It's a hot country!

We have been travelling for four months now and finding family accommodation that meets almost everything you want, on a budget, is almost impossible. Ganesha has done the best so far. For twenty dollars a night for the four of us we couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

To start with: Thank god for the free pick-up at the bus station! There were literally 20 tuktuk drivers running next to and behind the bus, trying to get you to go with them, though you are still sitting inside. I was so glad when I saw the nice smiling driver, the ganesha guesthouse sent to pick us up with my name on his sign.

Because of the low season, the guesthouse runs a 20% discount promotion, so we just paid 8$/night for our double room with fan and cold shower.

The room was clean and cozy, the whole place seems newly renovated. We had a desk, chair,  shelf and a mosquitonet in our room. Also a map of battambang and broschures about the city and the things to do here.

Unfortunately the walls are really thin and do not go all the way to the ceiling, so at times it feels like your next door neighbour is in the same room with you, especially when they start talking in the middle of the night :D

The owner Pheara is really nice and arranges reliable tuktuk drivers for you (15$/day) to take you to the Bambootrain, the killing-cave, temples etc. Laundry is 1,50$/kg. They sell bus tickets and tickets for the circus, too.

The ganeshe restaurant downstairs is sweet. Good and large selection of vegan/vegetarian food, too, and a sunday barbecue (saturday is pool table competition night). Nice place to relax in addition to the comfi chairs at some kind of lounge on each story of the guesthouse. Great to read a book or have a chat.

All in all it's a nice, clean and cozy place with friendly staff but after 3 nights I am really glad to take a hot shower.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our party of three have stopped in this small restaurant initially just for a drink before dinner. We liked its pleasant atmosphere and setup so we decided to stay also for the meal. There was a BBQ on offer. Onee of us chose grilled fish, the other grilled chicken legs, both tasted great. Gradually all tables got occupied and the staff of three was visibly not enough especially as one of them spent most of the time by the BBQ. One of the girls had troubles with English. The result was that you got something else than ordered, didn't get the order at all, long waiting times, you got hte meal but not the cutlery, ...
To conclude, everything else (food, drinks, prices) was good except for the service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there five nights. It was an absolutely great stay! For only 10$ we (2 people) had a double room with attached bathroom. The room was clean, had wooden walls, a comfortable bed with mosquito net, a small desk and a shelf. So we had enough space to unpack our backpacks and put everything at a place. The hostel is very lovely, has various tables inside and outside to relax, meet other people and enjoy the delicious food they serve. The people (Dirk, his wife and all the others) were very friendly and nice. There's also a pool table to use for free. It is a real oasis in the laidback city! It is the place to stay and I recommend it to everybody!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This little guesthouse is well worth the $4 they charge a night. A friend and I stayed in the girls dorm and a few male friends stayed in the larger dorm. Super clean. Staff friendly. Really cool chilled vibe. Has good bar/pool/seating area where you can sit&chat. Rooms can get odd as only a fan however it was the warmest time of the year and we still managed to sleep. A definite must stay if I battambang.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoraMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lobito, Angola
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We arrived in Battambang late at night after a full day riding a bike on dirt tracks.
Looking for a guest house, we found light in the street 1.5.
A clear spot was welcoming us : Ganesha Guest House.

The guest house offers rooms, with inside bathroom, or dorms.

We took a room for 8 USD/night (without breakfast)
The rooms are quite small, but very clean and with HUGE windows.
So we felt very well there.
Equiped with a mosquito net, a fan, a small table, shelves and a chair.

There are common areas to share your traveller's tips at every floor. (table+chairs)
There is a pool at the ground floor.

The bad point for rooms : the top part of the wall isn't closed to the corridor.
We think that noise of room next door will be heard from your bed...
We didn't experienced it : there weren't other guests.

We also liked the service :
Dirk and the team are very helpful and can sort out things with you (like finding your broken clutch lever in Battambang...)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catleyeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.1 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
352 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#12 of 26 in Battambang
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ganesha Family Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ganesha Family Guesthouse

Property: Ganesha Family Guesthouse
Address: 1. 5 Street, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ganesha Family Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing