We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sangker Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sangker Villa
Ranked #3 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This place is super cute! The couple that owns it is very nice and helpful. The staff is nice and the tuk tuk drivers that they use are great. Through the hotel we got tickets for the circus which is a must see and we did a tour of south Battambang which was very enjoyable. The hotel is cute and very clean. In the mornings they serve a tasty breakfast poolside. If you are going to Battambang this is the place you need to stay!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank meli s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    50
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
88
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed at the Sangker Villa for 3 nights. Marco is a great host and was really helpful in advising me about how I could spend my days. The rooms are clean and comfortable and I liked the location. It is walking distance to the town restaurants. Breakfast was more than I could eat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and all i can think of this place is positivity.
Owners are great, very friendly, very helpful, and make some delicious food (that breakfast rösti is memorable).
Room was very clean, very comfortable.
Hotel is in a good location, includes an outdoor pool, quiet and close to downtown at the same time (10 min walk).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidF4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here for several days in January towards the end of a long trip through SE Asia. We hoped to see "real" Cambodia and think we did in Battambang: hot,dusty, unfamiliar,fascinating. The Villa was a calm cool place to come home to. Our hosts really helped us navigate the experience,found us a great young tuktuk guide,( Makara or Mr January),advised where to eat, booked our tickets for the wonderful kids' Circus and organised our onward trip by boat to Siem Reap, with Marco delivering us to the dock for the early start with our breakfast packed in a beautiful fabric bag made by Nathalie. Thank you both of you - and M. Janvier- for a really good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the balcony suite, which consists of two rooms (one of them quite large)and a front facing balcony. Rooms were clean and comfy. The size of the B&B never made it feel crowded. Breakfast was served along the pool in the backyard and evenings, we could chill out with other guests at a small bar in the same location. Staff was very friendly and so were the hosts Marco and Nathalie. They really helped us make this trip unforgettable. Try to see the circus and take a day trip with a tuk-tuk around Battambang. Ask for the driver "January" who lives with the monks and is full of good spirit. We can highly recommend this B&B and wish Marco & Nathalie all the best in the years to come.

Room Tip: go for the balcony suite, which consists of 2 rooms (one of them quite sizeable) plus a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2keentotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello (Franck)
thank you for your encouragement.
We also spent three wonderful day with you.
We wish you all the best for your trip.
Marco & Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed for two nights - wish we could have stayed longer! Found Marco and Nathalie to be incredibly friendly and they went out of their way to help us make the best of an already beautiful place (Battambang). Marco helped us by organising a whole day tuk tuk tour of Battambang that has been the highlight of my SE Asia trip and I would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone visiting. The driver is knowledgeable, super friendly and helpful and we had the most fun and interesting day. Highly recommended.

Location is superb. A very short, enjoyable and leisurely stroll into the town centre. Some honest and useful recommendations re dining from Marco made our food experience exquisite.

Breakfast was great - especially loved the home made bread - and the few staff provide excellent service.

Marco organised our VERY last minute boat trip to Siem Reap and Nathalie packed us a YUMMY lunch, including tabbouleh for this fussy vegetarian.

Truly a wonderful guest house - the only tiny thing I would say is that if you're a bit of a princess like me when it comes to really hot showers, the water was very warm but not quite hot enough for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your encouragement.
We also have a good time with you.
Thank you also for my computer works great now
Marco et Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at Sangker Villa for 2 nights in January and really enjoyed it. Marco and Nathalie are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome. The hotel is a 5 or 10 minute walk to the center of Battambang and is fairly quiet at night.

Our deluxe room on the second floor was surprisingly large. It had a comfortable bed, electric tea kettle, mini bar, and a very nice modern bathroom. The wifi is fast and reliable, and the ac and fan worked very well.

We loved the small salt water pool. Breakfast is good and is served in the attractive area around the pool. We also enjoyed just relaxing at the bar area and chatting with Marco and Nathalie.

Marco arranged a day tour for us which we enjoyed. He also arranged our transport to Phnom Penh.

This very nice small hotel is well-run, comfortable, and attractive--a good option if you are staying in Battambang.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BopperX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you to apreciate our efforts to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
Your comment touches us very much.
Thank you and good luck
Marco & Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.5 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
420 reviews
2.3 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#4 of 26 in Battambang
423 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
88 reviews
1.0 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangker Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangker Villa

Property: Sangker Villa
Address: 4 Street 200, Phum Rumcheck, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sangker Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YOUR home away from home, welcome to OUR home! Sangker Villa is a Guest House with 8 rooms (not a hotel) where you can feel absolutely at home! We would be delighted to help you organize your stay here and give you the best advice possible for you to enjoy discovering Battambang and its surroundings. You can relax in our salt water pool, have a drink at our bar and enjoy our lovely breakfast with fresh, home-made bread. Welcome home! Our Guest house offers 8 rooms in a "modern-khmer'' style. Five STANDARD rooms on the ground floor and three rooms upstairs, including one standard room, one DELUXE room and one DELUXE with BALCONY. In our villa you can enjoy the warm and friendly atmosphere at the bar overlooking the pool. We serve iced tea, homemade YAO sorbets made at Sangker Villa homemade lemonade, espresso coffee, draft beers, plenty of cocktails, French and Australian wines, and some other drinks... We also serve snacks on request: tuna sandwiches, gazpacho, pasta salad, vegetarian tabbouleh, omelet ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sangker Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing