We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Home sweet home"”
Review of Sangker Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sangker Villa
Ranked #3 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“"Home sweet home"”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I spent three nights in the Sangker Villa in November. Marco and Nathalie very good hosts and they ensured that I could feel in my home. I arrived by bus from Phnom Pehn . Unfortunately, my bus was delayed two hours, but Marco has sent tuk- tuk driver, who patiently waited for me at the station. The pickup was free. There were some problems with the room, because the junior suite was with balcony on the booking.com, but in fact there wasn't balcony. This has since been amended. The room is not very big, but comfortable. The bathroom is enough large, the towels changed daily.
The air conditioning works silently and gently cools. Always fresh and cold draft beer available. Marco quickly organized my tours for reasonable price. I would like to point out Mr. Makara, who patiently waited me at the bus station, he was my tuk-tuk driver 2 days. Mr Makara working as a temple boy too. He's happy to show you how the monks live. If you would like to see a monk's room, he can help. Mr. Makara more than a tuk- tuk driver, speaks English well and tells a lot of interesting information about everything you ask of him. I highly recommend him, just ask Marco. Marco finally recommended a door-to-door minibus service back to Phnom Pehn, which was $ 12. Marco also arranged me the most comfortable seat on the bus. The return trip was only 4 hours compared to 7 hours there. Overall, highly recommend the place next time I go to Battambang , I will stay here again. Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taki59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you sincerely, your opinion encourages us to always to do our best for our customers
Marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    51
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
91
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here only one night. After reading the reviews here we arrived with high expectations and left a bit disappointed. Marco was a very nice host and greeted us with a welcome drink, snack and conversation. The place was clean and the breakfast was simple and good. However the room and bathroom were very basic and the bed was very hard with massively high pillows. We were on the ground floor close to the kitchen and pool. There were only two high windows that we couldn't see out of and there were no blinds on them. In the morning we were woken very early by the sounds of breakfast preparation and a really loud beeping that went on for over half an hour (the bread maker??) It seemed to us that for the price ($39) there are other options in the city that are of a higher standard (we moved down the road to a much nicer, if slightly lacking in character, hotel for $23/night). Alternatively, it sounds like the two similar rated guest houses at $19/night may represent better value.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Tom,
Nous somme désolés, mais tenons a préciser deux ou trois choses sur votre commentaire.
Concernant les fenêtre des chambre au parterre, c'est pour la fraîcheur de la maison et pour la sécurité de nos clients que nous avons choisit ce genre de fenêtre.
Bien que nous ayons un gardien de nuit, ces chambres donnent sur un jardin qui appartient au voisin donc très difficile a contrôler pour notre gardien,
Concernant le bruit du four a pain, c'est bien cette petite sonnerie que vous avez entendu.
Pour mieux vous servir,nous avons effectivement cuit du pain pour vous car nous ne voulions pas vous laisser partir en vélo a 7 heure du matin sans petit déjeuner.
Concernant le prix, je souhaite simplement pour vous que les chambres que vous avez trouvées offrent les mêmes services que notre établissement.
Piscine,petit déjeuner,au choix compris dans la chambre et surtout des gens a votre écoute qui parlent votre langue (français, anglais, allemand, espagnol, italien) et qui vous organisent des tours en vélo par exemple.
Nous sommes désolés de ne pas avoir répondu a vos attentes, mais nous pouvons vous garantir que nous faisons tout notre possible pour améliorer tous les jours nos services.
Nous vous souhaitons une bonne continuation de voyage.
Salutations
Marco et Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Everything about Sangker Villa shows the love and care that went into it. Marco and Natalie, the swiss couple who own and operate it, came here to live simply and happily, and they share this with all of their guests. They are relaxed, attentive and considerate. It's all in the details. Homemade bread, homemade fruit jam and juice, good conversations, many projects supporting the local community. They do it with love and that's the most important thing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmollrocek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you sincerely, your opinion encourages us to always to do our best for our customers
Marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We initially booked for 3 nights (end of October) at Sangker because there are not much to do in Battambong. How we are wrong... It's a not a place to 'do' but more like a place to 'feel'. We extended our stay to 1 week (my friends asked 'one week in Battambong? Doing what?') and we've stayed in many hotels/hostels afterwards but nothing feels like this place! Everytime we talk about the town, it always reminds us of Marco & Natalie who made us feel so welcome and are cool people to talk to.

When we arrived at the bus station, Marco arranged a tuk2 driver to pick us up (David) who then took us around town 2 days after (knowledgeable and has loads of jokes for you!). We especially enjoy the bamboo train, fun fun fun!!

The place has 7 rooms only (so not too crowded at the busiest time). Our room was upstairs which is spacious, clean with nice comfortable queen size bed (not too hard and not too soft), spacious bathroom too (shower area and toilet are separated by sliding glass door). When we feel like a lazy day, we can watch the TV upstairs, or read our books, or enjoy the swimming pool (with jacuzzi). What you see in the photos here is exactly like what it is in reality.

The town centre is only 5mins walk for lunch and dinner... Marco can recommend nice places too! We also like the fact that it isnt too close to the busy area (well, Battambong isnt that busy).

Every morning, we look forward to the nice healthy breakfast: starts with fruit salad and orange juice, then home made bread (tastes great!) with freshly cook egg, then hot tea... While having a nice chat with either Marco or Natalie. They really look after us well.

They booked a minivan transfer to Phnom Penh with recommended seats for extra leg room which is comfy & includes free hotel transfer from bus station.
Will definitely come back again for a nice relaxing retreat... And a dip in the pool!! :-D

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank l4y_low
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Google Translation
Nous avons eu beaucoup de plaisir a vous recevoir comme client.
Nous gardons aussi de bons souvenirs de votre passage a Battambang.
Merci pour vos commentaires qui nous encourage.
Sincères salutations
Marco & Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville Province, Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We went there just fore one night, but stayed longer. Rooms are very clean and modern, like everything else. Marco is the best host you could wish for. The vibe is relax and friendly. The tour Marco suggested was one of the best we have had in cambodia. You wont regret going here!! Marco thanks for a great stay and youre hospitality!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PdWehv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you sincerely, your opinion encourages us to always to do our best for our customers
Marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 night at Sangker Villa chosen because of other trip advisor reviews. This relatively new Villa ( completed earlier this year I believe) is very conveniently located within an easy walking district of restaurants and bars and yet in a quieter part of town. Rooms are very clean and spacious, breakfast with it's homemade bread is more than adequate and the hosts very accommodating. We were only there for one fulll day and Marco helped to arrange a wonderful Tuk tuk driver for us. and that is another story in itself!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you sincerely, your opinion encourages us to always to do our best for our customers
Marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I decided last hour to visit Battambang, and it was a great idea, not only by the city but also for the Sangket Villa.
I look for small hotels with personal attention, good location, quiet at night and nice food, and Marco and Nathalie's house is just an excellent example.
They were very helpful with all the transportation, pick up, tours, questions and reservations, they really made me feel like a friend instead of a guest.
First recommendation to all my friends visiting Cambodia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
thank you
We had a lot of fun to have you as a customer and we can say that now we have a friend in Colombia.
Thank you for your encouragement.
marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.5 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
357 reviews
2.3 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
693 reviews
1.0 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangker Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangker Villa

Property: Sangker Villa
Address: 4 Street 200, Phum Rumcheck, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sangker Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YOUR home away from home, welcome to OUR home! Sangker Villa is a Guest House with 8 rooms (not a hotel) where you can feel absolutely at home! We would be delighted to help you organize your stay here and give you the best advice possible for you to enjoy discovering Battambang and its surroundings. You can relax in our salt water pool, have a drink at our bar and enjoy our lovely breakfast with fresh, home-made bread. Welcome home! Our Guest house offers 8 rooms in a "modern-khmer'' style. Five STANDARD rooms on the ground floor and three rooms upstairs, including one standard room, one DELUXE room and one DELUXE with BALCONY. In our villa you can enjoy the warm and friendly atmosphere at the bar overlooking the pool. We serve iced tea, homemade YAO sorbets made at Sangker Villa homemade lemonade, espresso coffee, draft beers, plenty of cocktails, French and Australian wines, and some other drinks... We also serve snacks on request: tuna sandwiches, gazpacho, pasta salad, vegetarian tabbouleh, omelet ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Sangker Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing