We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place!!”
Review of Sangker Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sangker Villa
Ranked #3 of 45 Battambang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sihanoukville Province, Cambodia
1 review
“Perfect place!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We went there just fore one night, but stayed longer. Rooms are very clean and modern, like everything else. Marco is the best host you could wish for. The vibe is relax and friendly. The tour Marco suggested was one of the best we have had in cambodia. You wont regret going here!! Marco thanks for a great stay and youre hospitality!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PdWehv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you sincerely, your opinion encourages us to always to do our best for our customers
Marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    51
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
91
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 night at Sangker Villa chosen because of other trip advisor reviews. This relatively new Villa ( completed earlier this year I believe) is very conveniently located within an easy walking district of restaurants and bars and yet in a quieter part of town. Rooms are very clean and spacious, breakfast with it's homemade bread is more than adequate and the hosts very accommodating. We were only there for one fulll day and Marco helped to arrange a wonderful Tuk tuk driver for us. and that is another story in itself!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you sincerely, your opinion encourages us to always to do our best for our customers
Marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I decided last hour to visit Battambang, and it was a great idea, not only by the city but also for the Sangket Villa.
I look for small hotels with personal attention, good location, quiet at night and nice food, and Marco and Nathalie's house is just an excellent example.
They were very helpful with all the transportation, pick up, tours, questions and reservations, they really made me feel like a friend instead of a guest.
First recommendation to all my friends visiting Cambodia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
thank you
We had a lot of fun to have you as a customer and we can say that now we have a friend in Colombia.
Thank you for your encouragement.
marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was very happy to come across this place in Battambang. It's about a 10 min walk from city center, very short tuk tuk. Run by a nice Swiss couple, the hotel is very clean, has a nice pool, a/c, wife/cable. The owners were very welcoming and helped with tours, bus tickets, etc. This place is relatively new (5 months) so not in the guidebooks yet. I have stayed in many "mid range" hotels in SE Asia during my trip and can say that for less than $30/night this is a GREAT value.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you Jim,
Your visit makes us really happy
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and enjoyed Marco's hospitality greatly.

Sangker Villa is located a short walk or a very short tuk tuk ride into the centre of Battambang on a quiet residential street. It is a perfect place to retire to after a hectic day.

The whole place is spotlessly clean and the pool is a very welcome retreat from the heat.

The rooms are well appointed with a large firm bed, fridge, large television, fan and very effective air con.

Breakfast is lovely, freshly baked bread, fruit, jam, juice and eggs should you want them.

We had a few very tasty sandwiches for lunch and the rest of the menu sounded delicious.

Marco arranged a couple of tours for us with David and his brothers, all of whom are utterly charming.

We thoroughly enjoyed Marco's company during our stay and also enjoyed a few ice cold draught beers at the bar.

Don't let Battambang be a one or two night stop of on the way to somewhere else. Take a few days to really enjoy it with Marco and enjoy the best draught beer in town whilst you are there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you your commentaire encourages us as we just opened they are even more precious
Marco et Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We ( mark 45, Brigitte 44, Flora 9 and Sil7) stayed for 5 nights in Sangker Villa. By coincedence we saw the sign on the road, and walked in. From the first moment we feld at home. The great stories from Marco about their travelings from Switserland to Cambodia by campervan made a good introduction for the rest of our stay.
We stayed in the family room wich was hudge....! Western standerd toilet and shower and the first hotel wich was spotless clean. Our kids love the pool, the cat and the home made bread and caramels. Our stay in Sanker Villa where the last 5 days in Cambodia after 1 month of traveling through the country. It was the perfect place to get our rest....
We loved it!!!! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biebmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
thank you is our pleasure to know that you apreciate our place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

First of all... If you wanna visit an authentic area in south east Asia (I mean something else than Phuket, Koh Samui or Siem Reap)... Go to Battambang. This little city is still a nice place not taken over by mass tourism yet... But for how long...? For those who knew it, it looks pretty much like Thailand 25 years ago...
This also means that the standards for hotels are not really what we use to know.
The sangker villa is probably the best place to stay if you wanna be downtown. This new little hotel own by Nathalie and Marco from Switzerland offers the standards you wish to find. Nice big rooms, fantastic bathrooms, a nice bar with swimming pool outside and a cool Cat... You can eat there as well and there's real bred which is also not so easy to find...
Marco will also help you for visits, tours etc... He knows the place really and definitely could be you tour manager there ;-)
Last but not least... The ratio quality - price is more than honest! They speak french, english, spanish, italian, german and swiss-german.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambodgetou, Propriétaire at Sangker Villa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you Patrick,
we are very pleased to have had the visit of a Rockstar.
Your compliment is a pleasure.
See you soon
Marco and Nathalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.5 mi away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
357 reviews
2.3 mi away
Battambang Resort
Battambang Resort
#1 of 26 in Battambang
692 reviews
1.0 mi away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bric-a-Brac
Bric-a-Brac
#2 of 26 in Battambang
115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangker Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangker Villa

Property: Sangker Villa
Address: 4 Street 200, Phum Rumcheck, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sangker Villa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YOUR home away from home, welcome to OUR home! Sangker Villa is a Guest House with 8 rooms (not a hotel) where you can feel absolutely at home! We would be delighted to help you organize your stay here and give you the best advice possible for you to enjoy discovering Battambang and its surroundings. You can relax in our salt water pool, have a drink at our bar and enjoy our lovely breakfast with fresh, home-made bread. Welcome home! Our Guest house offers 8 rooms in a "modern-khmer'' style. Five STANDARD rooms on the ground floor and three rooms upstairs, including one standard room, one DELUXE room and one DELUXE with BALCONY. In our villa you can enjoy the warm and friendly atmosphere at the bar overlooking the pool. We serve iced tea, homemade YAO sorbets made at Sangker Villa homemade lemonade, espresso coffee, draft beers, plenty of cocktails, French and Australian wines, and some other drinks... We also serve snacks on request: tuna sandwiches, gazpacho, pasta salad, vegetarian tabbouleh, omelet ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Sangker Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing