We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Choco L'Art Cafe

Choco L'Art Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Dessert in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A friendly place opened by a French-khmer couple. Come and enjoy quality Homemade Breads and cakes in an arty place. This place will feed your body... and your mind!
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Choco lárt as it's name hints at is a place where you will appreciate your chocolate (mousse - cakes) and your art, but also a beautifully relaxed atmosphere.
It is a lovely fresh space with relaxed cushions to seat on while you enjoy your hot drinks and gorgeous cakes in the afternoon but also great place to have a nice meal and party in the evening. Just try the cocktails. It is a beautiful place to meet people. The couple owning it, Khmer and French have a great way of making you feel welcome and at ease.
The art on the wall is produced by upcoming local artists and show an originality and vibrancy that echoes the Battambang artist vibe.
I am very picky about my favourite places and this one won the title straight away, none in the rest of Cambodia has even gone anywhere near..
I am going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ripple1774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    65
    17
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“mousse au choc!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Warm place with really nice artists owner and her French girlfriend! We had a nice time to chill out and chatting with the artist drawer and circus artist.

Really good dessert with a good French style! good chef

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lookslikeasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a GREAT Cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We came to this place and immediately fell in love with it! When we walked in I was overwhelmed by the beautiful artwork that adorned the walls. Come to find out, ALL of the artwork is done by local Cambodian artists and they are pretty awesome! I'm an American-born Cambodian and to see the arts being so well represented in this cafe brought an overwhelming sense of pride for my fellow Cambodians. We, as human beings, don't put enough emphasis on the arts as a way of freeing our minds and building our future. I have been coming here ever since that first night and will continue to do so as long as I'm here. If you're in Battambang, you HAVE to come see the artwork and enjoy a nice, strong, Cambodian press coffee. Cheers!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunnalim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favourite place in Btb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

A truly unique place in Battambang. Tucked away in a quiet street very close to Psar Naht (the big market), just round the corner from the Smart shop, in the road parallel to Royal Guesthouse and Sunrise Coffee House.

Run by a lovely French-Khmer couple who welcomed us so warmly every time we went. She is a cook and makes the most delicious crepes, bread, sandwiches, and desserts! Perfect place to go when rice and noodles get a bit boring - the bread is easily the best in Battambang, and the most bread-like bread I have found in all of Cambodia. Tarte Tatin, chocolate cake, chocolate mousse, key lime pie... and so many more, just what you need when you've been away from the West for a while! Good stuff for vegetarians too, a rare find this side of the world! Coffee is excellent and at just $1.25 for a pot it's far cheaper than other local cafes.

I recommend the breakfast - a pot of Khmer coffee, more fresh, warm bread than you can eat, jam, yoghurt and a huge plate of fresh tropical fruit. Well worth $4 especially as you won't need lunch!

He's an artist and you can buy postcards of his drawings, as well as enjoying your drink or meal lounging on really comfy sofas in the gallery, surrounded by artwork by local Khmer artists (some of it is for sale too).

Really nice atmosphere, extremely clean, free wifi, great place to sit and read - I often worked there during the day - also a great place to meet people as the owners introduce their customers to one another and you can chat away with tourists and locals alike over a beer, glass of rouge or a cocktail in the evening, or sit alone and just relax and enjoy the atmosphere if you prefer.

Really can't recommend this place enough!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonnybonnycoombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very welcoming place in Battambang ! Loved it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

A very welcoming café hidden in a small street really close to the central market (2 minutes by foot). Terrace outside.

I kept coming to Choco L'Art as soon as I discovered it, for the warm atmosphere, the comfortable sofas and cushions, but also because of the charming franco-khmer couple who owns it ! The walls are decorated with paintings of Khmer artists, which only add to the attraction.

Perfect café to have a nice and copious breakfast: homemade bread which has just gone out of the oven (the best I could find in Battambang actually), a lot of fresh seasonal fruits, yoghurt, Khmer and Vietnamese coffee. A lot of homemade pastries to be eaten at all time too !

Really nice place to have a drink at night too. Food at all times (sandwiches, pancakes, etc.). I give a special mention to the Cointropolitan cocktail !

Free wifi.

I love it !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laetitia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choco L'Art Cafe also viewed

 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Choco L'Art Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing