We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So cool!”

Battambang Bat Caves
Ranked #2 of 52 things to do in Battambang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So cool!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

this was the highlight of Battambang. Go at dusk. You can walk to the temple and the killing caves before hand.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessiemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    358
    87
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Daytime visit good as well”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were with a group and so in order to balance every one's wishes, we ended up going to the bat caves in the daytime. I was very disappointed as I wanted to see the evening departure, but it was a pleasant hike up the hill and we saw monkeys in the trees on our way. We headed into the caves with headlamps. The caves were a cool break in the heat of the day and a nice walk through and it was VERY neat to look up and see the glowing eyes of so many bats - but remember to keep your mouth shut when you look up. the loop through the cave is now blocked by rockfall and so we went out the way we came in and hiked back down. So it wasn't perfect, but I was glad I had gotten at least to see that.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank eelgrasslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Incredible & spectacular to watch”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

While Battambang itself is very disappointing in my opinion (French colonial style architecture?? .. where??) watching the bats fly out of their caves is amazing (the bat caves are located on the hill where the killing caves are, but your guide will surely know). There are millions of bats which fly out of the caves around 5:50 pm - 6.10 pm. When you think there just can't be any more it's only just the beginning :). They fly out for about an hour we were told, feed all night long and come back before sunrise the next morning. Make sure you stay long enough to see the bats forming amazing black streaks across the sky, it's simply stunning.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank flauschipoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best thing in Battambang!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

It is amazing to see the stream of bats as they flow out of the cave! Just be warned that you will get peed on.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuperRutyQuail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“where batman stores his love children”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

its pretty insane to see millions of uncountable bats flood out of a hole in the wall just as the sun starts to set. we were eating at the time in a nearby cafe and i actually rushed my food on the idea that i might not get any pictures or videos of these animals flying out the cave, well half an hour later and they were still going. i wouldnt make a trip specifically to see them but if you go t the mountain temple/caves then its a good way to see out the day before going back to town

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank turbominicooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battambang Bat Caves also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Battambang Bat Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing