We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Concentration Camp”

Angkor Express Boat
Ranked #15 of 51 things to do in Battambang
Attraction details
Beijing
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Concentration Camp”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Ok - - Everything started innocently enough.

I arrived at 7AM as planned and saw a crowd of people waiting on the pier.

Unfortunately, the boat proved a little too popular. The entire bottom section (which does not have seats but rather two hard benches placed opposite each other) filled up before I even got on the boat. This might have been for the better as standing and any free movement was all but impossible in the seating area.

Rather than getting another boat to accommodate excess people, everyone was jammed onto this one. They did not have enough life jackets and the boat gyrated wildly the entire time and all in all appeared horribly unsafe in every way. I for one took a seat on the bow for most of the trip. Not a bad location if Cambodia was not perpetually 98 degrees (37 C)

Basically, the entire affair was a cattle car. The windows were comically small and from the formal seating it was impossible to see much of the scenery (which is beautiful as I saw it on the bow)

Because of so many extra people, the boat went extra slow and was further weighed down by our masses. It periodically became stuck in the shallow water and needed to be plied out.

As a result of this, our arrival time of around 2PM - - - was past 7PM (total traveling time of 12 hours). When we finally arrived in Siem Reap, I departed a fetid, sweltering death hole that I would not wish on my worst enemy. This boat should be avoided like the plague.

GO AT OWN RISK!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    128
    48
    25
    55
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A old crowded old boat”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

DON'T TAKE "CHANN NA" SPEED BOAT unless you want to ruin your trip
35 people when it is supposed to have 20 seats max...
Very noisy especially at the back... do not forget your ear plugs. It's not an option !!.
No life jackets for everyone of course.... We've got some water inside the boat...
and 11 hours of trip !!!


But the landscape was very nice... Too bad !

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A unique experience.”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We loved every minute of it! Yes it was really long and the sun was literally blistering but for us the experience was bliss. It's an early start so we slept and read books and basked inthe sun atop the boat. It really is amazing seeing how the people on the banks of the river live. In shanty homes comprised of twigs and leaves. Literally. Further the morning we saw the families bathing in the filthy water,for this river is their life and their livelihood. We watched as they transported goods, fished, swam and lives by the river. Further up we passed through many floating villages, one even had a floating vegetable patch and a floating petrol station. Where else in the world can you experience this? We stopped for lunch in one of these homes, $2 for a large portion of rice with veg and tofu and meat (!) huge array of other snacks were available to purchase and of course drinks too. There is a toilet on board the boat!

We really adored our time on the boat. Bring mozzie spray, sunscreen and a good book and you'll be fine. Inside the boat the noise of the engine ine far greater, from the roof it hardly bothers us at all. A truly unique travel experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank misspickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balestrand, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The highlight of my trip to Cambodia for sure”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Maybe for some this boat trip might be a little long, but stretch out on the roof with a high factor sunscreen of course) and watch as the small fishing villages move out of a jungle setting into the Tonle sap lake, the children all run alongside the boat and wave and there is plenty of bird life around. The boat does stop for refreshments half way,and there is a loo on board

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoMaginty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“It just wears you out in the end”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just came off the back of a 9 1/2 hour stint on the boat. It starts out nice & you are enjoying the scenery & the people but after a few hours,& especially after the floating town stop, you're just totally fed up with the overcrowding, the sun, the heat from all angles. After 6 hours were were just wondering where the river would end. We were totally shattered by the end &, in hindsight, would have way preferred to do the 4 hour bus journey from Siem Reap. As if the journey itself didn't wear you out enough, the touts in Battambang are relentless. Bring supplies & money as cold drinks are a dollar each. Oh and don't worry if your hotel collection is late, ours was an hour late but the boat didn't leave till 1/2 8 so don't be scared you'll miss it (like we were!).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sober_Colm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angkor Express Boat also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Angkor Express Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing