We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great show, great causes.”

Phare Ponleu Selpak - Battambang Circus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Phare Ponleu Selpak is a Cambodian NGO that helps children and families from disadvantaged backgrounds through three fields of intervention: education, social support, and artistic trainings. Tours of the campus are provided Monday-Friday at 9:30am, 10:30am, 2:30pm, and 3:30pm. There are 2 to 4 circus shows each week. The doors open at 6, and the show starts at 7. Arrive early and check out the free art exhibition hall, shop in the boutique, or get a cold drink at the Bar. Check the website for the most updated circus schedule.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great show, great causes.”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

This show support the Khmar kids who may have no other opportunities is life. The program is designed to build their self esteem and this was achieved really well as the performance was just fantastic and amazing. Well worth seeing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deaftraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    97
    22
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“More feel-good than brilliance, but fun to visit”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This circus is more about seeing an interesting way to give local Battambang youth to work hard on a passion than about seeing a top-rated professional performance. Sure, it's fabulous what these youngsters are putting up, and it's great fun to watch, but it's not Circque du Soleil Cambodia.
Having said that, I would advise anyone to buy tickets and watch the one-hour show.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joost-and-Claus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Khmer Experience”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Loved the circus, and love how Khmers seem to gather round it. The kids' faces light up when they watch, and the performers enjoy what they do. Definitely worth coming to Battambang for, as seeing them train before the show is a plus :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Brilliant performance”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I really enjoyed this show. There's a great story and the students are talented and dedicated. I was truly entertained through the whole show. Definately worth a visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Libseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply spectacular!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

All proceeds from these circus performances go to supporting youths train to become circus artists, who wouldn't normally have much of a chance in life. I'm a huge fan of the circus and although I wasn't expecting the talent and value of a traditional English circus, I was soon proven wrong - It was even better!

The standard of talent is truly amazing and it is clear that all the artists were very disciplined and truly talented. It was a bit like Cirque du Soleil, where the shows follow a storyline. Although my Khmer is far from amazing, they're extremely talented actors and you still felt like you knew what was happening. As we were in the country for two months, we visited twice and I definitely would have visited more if I could have done so. If you are there for quite some time, they have numerous shows on, each performed by a different band of kids.

When you visit, in with the $10 admission (only $10!), you get to see groups rehearse and visit an art gallery with artwork from the students, which is definitely worth checking out.

An amazing experience, which supports an amazing cause.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dranners1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phare Ponleu Selpak - Battambang Circus also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Phare Ponleu Selpak - Battambang Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing