We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as anything International”

Phare Ponleu Selpak - Battambang Circus
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Phare Ponleu Selpak is a Cambodian NGO that helps children and families from disadvantaged backgrounds through three fields of intervention: education, social support, and artistic trainings. Tours of the campus are provided Monday-Friday at 9:30am, 10:30am, 2:30pm, and 3:30pm. There are 2 to 4 circus shows each week. The doors open at 6, and the show starts at 7. Arrive early and check out the free art exhibition hall, shop in the boutique, or get a cold drink at the Bar. Check the website for the most updated circus schedule.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“As good as anything International”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was one of the best nights of my one month travels. in Indo China. Some of these young people are definitely Cirque Du Soleil material.
So much enthusiasm, expertise and sheer joi de vivre. Don't miss it if you are iucky enough to be in Battambang when the are scheduled to perform

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SylviaScaglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    97
    22
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A fair way out of town so worth getting a taxi/phut-phut. We saw the first performance of a new production and were blown away by the skills displayed by the young performers. Seen them now in London and not nearly so exciting (health and safety rules perhaps?). Acrobatic rather than circus I'd say - with live music to enhance experience. You can also eat there after the perfomance which would have been nice if we'd known. Has a small bar.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank brigid m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“at least, that's my guess”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We arrived on a local holiday, and were disappointed to find no practice, and no show. However, the kids did not disappoint. We rolled and tumbled in the yard with them anyway.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Portlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“The Top Activity In Battambang!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was the only real reason we decided to make our way to Battambang. We had read that the city is up and coming in tourisim and of course is one of the larger cities in Cambodia. We spent five days here (a bit to long) and did the circus on the last day. I have to say I was a little dissapointed with our trip out to Battambang until we went to the circus.

The show they put together is top notch. Not just the actual 'acts' themselves, but the school has really put forward some stars in the lead roles.

It is only ten bucks and an hour long. A short round trip tuk tuk ride out will cost you $4 (the tuk tuk waits until after the show to take you back)

The show is easily worth every penny.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing and uplifting”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Battambang was only on my itinerary because of the reviews of the circus. I was anticipating something fun but amateur. It exceeded my expectations in every respect - no the performance was not 100% perfect, and the costumes were not flamboyant but the show was 100% amazing, absolutely fabulous. Not only that, seeing the passion and enjoyment these youngsters put into their performances was amazingly uplifting. It just shows what brilliant work this NGO is doing. Other reviewers are right, get there early for decent seats, although given the nature of the show you should be able to see from any point, but it was full to capacity last night. One last point - I can't believe the reviewer who criticised the organisation for asking for donations at the end. $8 seemed a complete bargain to me and you were not forced to donate.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BridgeQueen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phare Ponleu Selpak - Battambang Circus also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Phare Ponleu Selpak - Battambang Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing