We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffee”
Review of Kinyei Cafe

Kinyei Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Kinyei cafe serve a new Western style menu for breakfast, lunch and some Khmer foods.We are dedicated to sustainable fair-trade,regionally sourced coffee roasted by Feel Good Coffee Roasters in Phnom Penh.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Try the "Street Latte", a latte with a sugar cane juice and orange, but all of their coffee is good. A must while you're in Battambang.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Kinyei Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 290 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

The cafe lattes here are excellent. Up on the second floor the decor is nice but it can be a little warm. Another fan or two would be nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank 199Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Tucked away in the corner of the street (makes it hard to park the bike), but worth searching for.
They put out white A frame signs at the end of the street - so look out for that.
Once there you'll find cute little cafe.
The coffee machine and grinder are well set up and produces a high quality product. The staff are well trained (although sometimes the results vary depending on who is making the coffee).
$1.25 for single espresso, $2 for coffee with milk, $2.25 for cafe late with a local cane sugar syrup.
They have a loyalty card, so the 6th coffee is free (I've been through a few loyalty cards already and have only been here three weeks).
Just check you get the correct change.

Eclectic mix of food options if you want to snack (nyum leng).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stuchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Came here for the coffee after all the great reviews. Ordered food first - beans on toast with cheese and fresh spring rolls. The toast was smaller than the palm of my hand an there were only about 20 beans! Very stingy portion. The cheese was good though. Spring rolls were tasteless and one of them came with extra protein in the form of a human hair. Nevermind, we thought, we only came for the coffee. Ordered our coffees only to be told that there was no coffee as the machine was out of use due to staff training! Unacceptable!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kwrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie H, Facilitator at Kinyei at Kinyei Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Kwrites,

Thank you for your honest review. We apologize that you did not have a good experience at our cafe, and appreciate your feedback so that we may make the changes to ensure the quality of our product offering and satisfaction of our customers in the future.

Indeed, as a vocational training cafe, we are continuously training staff in new skills while working to improve our espresso and cafe offerings; I'm sorry that you were unable to try out our espresso, as you are right, denying the customer our key product, espresso, is not OK!

We are working as a team to discuss what happened in your instance, and how we can prevent this happening in the future. We will continue to take steps to improve on our quality and service. If you have further concerns, we invite you to be in touch with us at info@kinyei.org. Thank you for visiting us on St. 1.5 and I hope the rest of your stay in Cambodia was enjoyable!,

Katie
Kinyei Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Coffee is excellent!! Better than most cafe's out there in the modern cities. Great friendly staff and reasonably priced. A must try if you're in Battambang!!

Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kinyei Cafe also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Kinyei Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing