We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't get out much you will probably love it”
Review of Bamboo Train

Bamboo Train
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$37.50*
and up
Half-Day Battambang City Tour and Bamboo Train Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Welcome to Bamboo train Battambang !
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you don't get out much you will probably love it”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Not worth a penny of what I paid. This is a total tourist trap. I was a little sceptical about it at first and my hunch was well and truly proven. The 'Local Village' is a sham, the train is a sham, perhaps once upon a time is wasn't but now it really is.

My fear of missing out drove me to this place, but to be honest I reckon the train ride that is due to replace it will be a lot more interesting. If you really want to see some locals get a bike and cycle 10 mins out of town. Go into any village - the locals are really friendly and do not mind you having a look at pretty much anything.

I got my tuk-tuk driver to randomly stop at places and had a great time.

Hats off to whoever is behind this 'experience' you're onto a real money spinner. With a restricted theatre and a great cast… The run down railway station at the start is worth a visit… go and take a look round that instead or just find the railway station in Battambang itself and wonder round the tracks - much much better!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MaximillionMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    752
    303
    106
    67
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

At $5 for the ride - it not much to pay for us tourist. If you are willing to try and do something different this is the way to do it. If someone come hassling just tell them that your not interested. How difficult can this be - If you can't handle some hassle then stay home. This is part of Cambodia and I really enjoyed it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deaftraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“AVOID AVOID AVOID”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The most glaring example of a tourist trap I have ever witnessed in my life. Ignore what the Lonely Planet or other glowing reviews have to say about this place - I suspect many have an agenda because they feel they are directing tourist money to "needy villagers".

$5 per head gets you a 20 minute ride on a cart before being forced off in a horrible "village" composed of five shacks selling the usual rubbish t-shirts, bracelets, etc. We were forced to wait in this place for half an hour: all the time being hassled by grown-ups and children begging you to buy their overpriced tat. You have no escape and nowhere to go.

When the bamboo "train" driver did finally take us back, the driver at first refused to go until we paid him and one of the women in the village a "tip". Not every driver did this to their passengers, but over 50% did. Stick to your guns and don't pay anything: $5 per head is already too much to be detained in a tourist trap. The driver and his cronies also tried to surround us when we got back to the station for "tips" - just push past them and get back on your tuk tuk.

A scam disguised as a tourist attraction.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lombardia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Was it worth it?”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We travelled by minibus from Siemreap to Battambang in a day mainly to go on the bamboo train. Okay, it's touristy and a bit expensive but the ride was great fun and one day it might not be there to do, so yes it was worth the trip. Of course we did other things too in Battambang.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pocopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So much fun! Must see!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved this trip. Cost $5 per person. We had a blast!
When you get there it is a bit of a trap to buy souvenirs but the people were amazing and friendly. 50c for a bracelet or a $1 krama isn't too much of a splurge. Speak to the people, ask their stories and they forget to sell you stuff!
Take a walk to the brick factory, we really enjoyed seeing that.

Helpful?
Thank Crystle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Train also viewed

Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 
Battambang, Battambang Province
Battambang, Battambang Province
 

Been to Bamboo Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing