We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to sleep with insects this is the place for you!”
Review of Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Hotel
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you want to sleep with insects this is the place for you!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

It is realy wierd how this hotel has such a high score! Our room was full of insects and relly noisy. We arrived after a long bus drive in 7:00am and our room was available so they immediately let us in. Today we came to check out and they asked us to pay for 2.5 nights because we chacked in early! Clearly we were very upset that they are saying it just now and the fact that they charge extra money for few more hours in the room is unexeptable. We had to catch the bus so we paid and left this Lousy hotel. When we were in the bus the hotel tuk tuk driver arrived and gave us back 2$ because we told them we are going to write a bad review-still we paid more then we should have!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lotem_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
16
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

There is nothing bad to report about Holiday. It was just a very average experience.

Rooms -

The rooms are very spacious and have all the amenities you need and expect: fridge, AC that works well, hot shower. However, the water pressure is a bit crazy. First time in SEA that I have to say the water pressure is to high (and you can't turn it down)

Cleanliness-

They keep the main entry very clean and all the common areas. The rooms are cleaned when you request it. They do a decent job cleaning the rooms. New towels, make the bed, mop. Unfortunately the last day the cleaned the room they used a dirty mop.

Staff -

The staff is really nice. They do their best to make sure you are happy. There is a language breakdown and sometimes they don't understand what your trying to communicate.

They didn't do anything bad or wrong. But it wasn't anything exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row, UK
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I got to like this hotel more each day.
I was a bit grudging and reluctant at first, as I prefer to stay in more homely accommodation where you have a chance to observe local life. This hotel is big, gleaming, and modern, and I expected it to be cold, sterile and impersonal. But I came to like it in spite of my prejudices!
The location is very central and convenient. The rooms (our twin room at least) are spacious, airy and light - and they were very good value at $15 a night with AC. The staff were very friendly and helpful - they arranged tickets and free transport to our pick-up point at departure.
So, sorry, but I can't think of anything to be grumpy about - and I have to recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiggerInIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you arrive after dark in a taxi (like we did) to this hotel, you might think you've picked an impersonal hotel in the middle of nowhere - like the strip you see running in and out of Siem Reap. But when you awake and go for a walk, you'll realize you're right around the corner from several backpacker hotels and cafes.

The lobby is grand and open and there's always someone cleaning it. Check in was very efficient and friendly. Daytime desk help was friendly and tho offered a couple of times to arrange bus tickets, etc, weren't pushy about it. Bus tickets can be had for less around the corner at the main backpacker hotel. But the car we booked to Phnom Penh was the same price, and the driver they hired for us was great.

Room was a good size. Bed was comfy enough. Bathroom had a good shower. Wifi in room worked well, as did the air con and tv.

All in all at $14 a night, a great choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twangypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had stayed at another hotel in Battambang first which was also nice but not 100 % satisfying which is why we looked at other hotels in town - the Holiday Hotel was by far the nicest one. It's a big, modern building with a spacious lobby and all rooms have big windows - nice views over the town from the upper levels. The ladies at the reception speak good English and are very friendly.

We payed $14 for a double room with air-conditioning - no breakfast included but there are several cafes & restaurants just around the corner (we liked the Sunrise Cafe) or you can walk to the town center (about 5 mins) where the Gecko Cafe, the Smokin' Pot and Cafe Eden have excellent breakfasts too.

Our room was big, there is a TV and you can lock the bedside table (however, it's not a proper safe), the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had an actual shower (not the Asian-style 'over the toilet' shower). The wi-fi worked perfectly during our stay - would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper levels so that you can enjoy the views over Battambang.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrottergirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

We came to Battambang by bus and the hotel arranged a free transfer to them, which is a good start. The hotel is very close to the center of the city, less than 5 minutes walk. It is a big hotel with a huge lobby with huge furniture.
The two ladies at the frontdesk speak good English and are very helpfull with arranging activities around Battambang. They also arranged the boat to Siem Reap for us with, again, free transfers to and from the boat. They even helped us finding a hotel in Siem Reap and phoned them to make sure if there was a room available. When arranging things with the hotel, make sure you do that before 5 pm because at that time the friendly ladies go home and make place for two men who don't speak English so well. Arranging things will be a lot more difficult.
The room we had, at the 6th floor, was spacious. Basic furniture but a good big bed with good pillows. As it is a quit town, and a quit hotel, it was a pleasure to have an airco with a silent mode so we could sleep very good here.
The breakfast is not big, but you can choose between several things like pancakes, or yoghurt with muesli and fruits, or eggs. It was enough for us.
After all a pleasant stay for three nights and we would come back to this hotel if we were to go to Battambang again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This hotel located close to the markets area is quite private, comfortable and has all the modern conveniences. . It also has a lift to travel the severn floors. Definitely not budget accomodation. The rooms are missing a modern Safety Deposit Box. Don't rely on the hotel restaurant. Step out of the Hotel, turn left and turn left again and on that street there are a few nice cafes serving cheap meals. Service from the Front Desk passable but the staff could do with more training and be more fluent in english. Altogether I had a pleasant and comfortable stay

Room Tip: You can pay more and get a luxury suite, but this is not necessary. The rooms are well appointed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjp4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.0 mi away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#11 of 26 in Battambang
347 reviews
0.0 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
338 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jasmine Battambang Hotel
Jasmine Battambang Hotel
#15 of 26 in Battambang
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reaksmey Battambang Hotel
Reaksmey Battambang Hotel
#19 of 26 in Battambang
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Hotel

Property: Holiday Hotel
Address: # 695 St4, Sankat Preak Mohatep | Khum Svay Por, Battambang 02000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Hotel provide traveller the best value, quality and service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing