We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, very good staff”
Review of Asia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asia Hotel
Ranked #7 of 49 Battambang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Asia Hotel gave us a large, spotless and well-appointed AC room with breakfast for just $17. Located right across from the bus drop off and just around the corner from a Vietnamese consulate so super convenient for those looking for a visa.

Staff was great. Arranged our $4 bus tickets to Phnom Penh and even gave us a parting gift of two Khmer scarves (though we had stayed just one night). How nice!

Veg restaurant across street btw is quite good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adaiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 278 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

We got a free pick up from the bus station after emailing them.

This is a hotel, rather than a hostel so you don't get the atmosphere or characters that you would potentially get in more 'backpacker' places however, it was a very pleasant place to stay with friendly and helpful reception staff. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. We had a twin, AC room and free breakfast was provided.

Tours could be booked through the hotel but can also be arranged direct with the tuc tuc driver who picks you up at the station. Our driver was called Dom (oudon_suong@yahoo.com) who was absolutely fantastic and well recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smeenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed here the past 3 nights and loved it! Booked the Superior Private single for $40 total which is an absolute bargain for what you get - quiet location, air con, cable, TV, clean, etc.
The hotel is right opposite the bus station so you can pass through the touts and head straight there. The town doesn't really have a centre. There is a nice new restaurant across the road. Both day and night staff were really friendly and helpful. There were really nice options for breakfast (not included in my room price). Nothing was too much trouble. When I checked out one of the reception ladies walked me to the bus terminal to make sure I got on the right bus! The only thing I noted was that the room wasn't serviced during my stay. It didn't bother me considering the price and I'm capable of making my own bed. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoegazer_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I only stayed here 2 days. It is quite a grand hotel and I thought the room was good value.
It is about 10 minutes walk to the centre. Alternatively you could get get a moto or tuk-tuk. The receptionist on night duty is friendly with the drivers and when you leave the hotel he asks if you want a tuk-tuk or moto. The price he quotes is always too high - just keep walking and someone will come along and offer you a better deal.
There is a limited breakfast on offer but no bar or restaurant. There are some restaurants nearby.
All in all this is a good value hotel. The highlight for me were the very pleasant daytime reception staff. They were very helpful and always a happy smile.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kcrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We had a 20 hour day behind us on foot, trains and buses. Finally got to Battambang for the first time ever at almost 10 PM. We were feeling a bit dodgy hitting a new city that late at night with everything we had on us. Bust stopped at a station and for our relief, there was a hotel right across the street from the bus depot - The Asia Hotel.

A young man hopped out of the hotel and came straight for us, offering a place to stay. The prices seemed very reasonable, but we still had our doubts as the hotel was dead quiet that late at night. After a very difficult day on the road we were happy to find a clean looking hotel (spotless, to be honest) and a tuktuk driver that drove us for dinner to the last open restaurant. Well, he scooted off mid-dinner and we wondered why. So naturally we had our doubts if it had something to do with our stuff the we left at the safe. The safe is basically a reception located safe in which you place your belongings in a see through plastic bag, which is then sealed with tape and your signature.

Well, a lovely lady from the White Rose (recommended for food) gave us a a ride (few hundred meters) back to the hotel as we didn't really know where we were on the map. And as we got to the hotel, the safety key was gone! BUT, there is an explanation. The receptionist had gone out for a bit and taken the key with him and he came back in a matter of minutes. And the tuk-tuk driver only left us for more gasoline, but didn't bother informing us.

So all was well and we've stayed here for 2 nights and are staying a third one as well. Room has a fan (8 USD) / aircon (13 USD) - option, TV, a fridge, a clean bathroom with hot shower. Location is perfect for anyone who wants to travel onwards and isn't too noisy in the morning if you want to sleep in. Breakfast is pancakes, omelette, or scrambled eggs with a few other options. Omelettes and scrambled eggs are really tasty with a baguette to go on the side. Coffee was tasty according to my GF and all in all we have no complaints. Free Wi-Fi in the room works 100% smooth and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

You can try to go negotiate better deals on tours on the streets, but at 15 USD for 2 people we got our own tuk-tuk (with the same driver Mr Yuan, BUT with full tank now). With his kind orientation we got to see experience the bamboo train (hit a cow head on, no casualties though) and from there went to see the killing cave and the temple above it. Also got to see 20.000.000 bats flying out of a huge cave from underneath the temple mountain.

Warning: 15 USD was the cost for us to get around. We paid 5 USD extra / person for the bamboo train and 2 USD each for admission to the killing caves and 4 USD each for motor bikes up the mountain. Sure, you can hike it up for free, but it will be a pain, especially if you wanna see the bats come out at about 5 PM and pressed for time. But as we are not on a tight budget, these costs did not bother us. Rather give a few extra dollars for these people who go to hell and back on a daily basis to make an honest living.

If you go to the bamboo train, be sure to buy some drinks from a very nice lady (forgot the name) at the village where the train takes you. She does amazing tricks with straws and leafs. She made me a grass hopper and my GF a star and I gave her 100 THB for those (more so as to help her day than a price for an artifact) and she gave me a Beer Leo in return :) "You tip me, I tip you" is what she said.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, try to get a room away from the bus station side. 219 worked ok for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabies_Rabbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights. Excellent location. about 10mins walk to the river to get to the restraunts.
The room was clean, spacious, odd layout of bathroom but caused no issues. No balcony but had windows.
The staff are very friendly and recommended our kang bey driver (which is part of a group of tuk tuk drivers) Mr pov whose english was great.
Breakfast was offered in the lobby (as i think there restraunt was shut) or in your room. We opted for the lobby on the first day to guarentee we got out of bed for 8am. We had a bang on the door at 7 the next day were given the wrong breakfast. We advised the staff and they were very sorry, next day was perfect, good choice of breakfast available. The hotel does offer visa services, bike rental, coach and boat bookings etc. Would definatly stay again if in Battambang.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We read a few good reviews and some mixed reviews about the Asia Hotel, most seemed to have a problem with customer service. I found the customer service to be very good, staff were always friendly and helpful, keen to offer advice and answer questions. They recommended two great tuk tuk drivers (Coco and Dong I think) who were reasonable for cost and great company. The hotel itself offered big rooms (we had a private double) with good AC, lots of storage space, TV, Fridge, large bed, overhead fan and good bathroom. The room was cleaned daily. Breakfast is included and whilst not a buffet is a reasonable snack until you find something else but not really enough to keep you going until lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peteacrosschina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Battambang hotels
0.8 mi away
Angkor Comfort Hotel
Angkor Comfort Hotel
#10 of 26 in Battambang
102 reviews
0 mi away
Star Hotel
Star Hotel
#9 of 26 in Battambang
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
King Fy Hotel
King Fy Hotel
#15 of 26 in Battambang
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jasmine Battambang Hotel
Jasmine Battambang Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 49 in Battambang
862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramchang Guesthouse
Ramchang Guesthouse
#6 of 49 in Battambang
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Hotel

Address: Street Lark A, Gr. 12 Preakmohatep Village | Sangkat Svay Por, Battambang, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Battambang
Price Range: $11 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asia Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing